https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-
Sedans
(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans/)
Originally Posted by Edsel Rulez!
(Post 691799)
What about us six-footers who can't afford to spend more than 5 lakhs? Besides I'd find the Safari and Innova too big to drive comfortably in Bombay. Back pain's not such a big problem but sitting in the old Zen is a cramped experience for me. :( It's the low seating that's a problem more than anything else. Maybe the Wagon R is worth a look? |
Try Ikon, i am 6'1" and i find it comfortable to drive and will cost about 5.3laks OTR.
@Gentlegaint: i would suggest you to also look at Ford Fusion and Mahindra Bolero.
Fusion has very good seating position for tall persons and is very agile and fun to drive. It wont occupy much space when compared to Safari or scorpio. Petrol version will cost about 6.5laks OTR and diesel costs about 7.5laks.
Bolero has lots of leg room and also comes with creature comforts of a sedan (PS, Power windows, AC) etc. Its bit big in terms of size...however it is driveable even in the city traffic.
Give them a try and let us know which one you finalized.
Good luck!
-Vaspro
Thanks a lot for all the great information that was shared. Avinash, thanks for your clarification too.
Based on the information gathered from the responses:
1. I am going to TD a NHC this weekend.
Which variant would you suggest?
2. I am getting inclined towards Innova also. My initial trepidation was not necessarily because of its size (as size is something I am used to :-)). However:
- My daily driving will be limited to gym and work, both of which is within 5 KM of my residence. Does it make economic sense to drive such a large vehicle around? Somehow, I feel this would be a waste of natural resources.
- I figured that the highway drives will mostly be limited to once a quarter perhaps. From Hyderabad, where I stay, I have to travel quite a bit to get to something of a destination of pleasure (Bangalore/Vishakapatnam etc about 600 KM). Would I really be putting the thing to optimal use then?
Now that my choice seems to get restricted to either Innova (Sorry. I dont like Safari for obvious reasons) and the NHC, I want to keep an open mind for both. I surely dont want to end up with a car that doesnt suit my back. That would be a disaster. So if I were to go for Innova, I will be erring on the safer side and will unfortunately have to disregard the two considerations above. They will remain still my concern.
Your comments.
for your info - the innova is barely a few cms longer and wider than the nhc. so its not really that big. take a td then youll see its just like a car to drive.
Innova is easier to drive compared few Sedans, the reason Innova handles like dream and best seating position help the person to drive it easily with better road vision except for couple of blind spots but once you are used to it you won't notice any blind spots :)
With respect to size its hardly bigger than most of the Sedans.
In 2005 year end after TD many cars my driver's was Innova but I settled for Swift which I didn't like and I sold it within a year and baught Innova!
According to me Innova is peace mind for the person who drive and occupants.
In Sedans you can definately choose NHC its very good car after Innova.
When I checked out all cars in 12 lacs range only I liked are Innova, Safari, NHC thats it because space was one of the main deciding point.
I do agree it appears Innova and NHC both looks overpriced by at least 50,000/- rs but thats how Honda/toyota do the business.
If you don't like Innova definately choose NHC and don't listen to people's comment saying its overpriced because quality it offers you will be very happy with it!
Ravi.
Originally Posted by akshay1234
(Post 692149)
for your info - the innova is barely a few cms longer and wider than the nhc. so its not really that big. take a td then youll see its just like a car to drive. |
I dont think I said that its the size that bothered me. I clarified that it actually DOES'NT :-)
Thanks Ravi!!
I too am the type that will put quality ahead of money. Quality always commands value. If that were not so, we would also have been talking about the Tavera here.
The more opinions I am reading, the more I am getting inclined towards Innova. I am told its maintenance is cheaper compared to NHC. The fact that its Diesel also helps.
Sanjeev
After having driven WagonR, I don't think I am too inclined towards Ford Fusion. They look like sisters to me :-).
I read somewhere here that Bolero's engine sucks.
Sanjeev, looks like your tilting towards Innova. Good going, If i were in your shoes, i would have picked a NHC with my eyes closed:p
TD both cars and pick what you like. Good luck!
1. I am going to TD a NHC this weekend. Which variant would you suggest? |
In your budget, you will get the EXi, test drive the Vtec and see whether its worth the extra dough.
I feel you should go for a test drive of Safari and Scorpio, Innova. And decide what shell you want to be in by yourself. Once you come up with your choice ppl here can share the pros and cons. Then you may decide to compromise on what :)
There is no point in discussing until and unless you try it and find yourself...
Originally Posted by GentleGiant
(Post 692201)
I dont think I said that its the size that bothered me. I clarified that it actually DOES'NT :-) |
i misread. you asked whether it made economic sense to drive a large vehicle around. it does. my innova with the ac on 100% of the time also being pushed quite a bit thanks to the petes box give 9-10kmpl in Mumbai and 14-16kmpl on the highway. then its a toyota so nithing goes wrong with it. take a td then decide. cheers.
> 1. I am going to TD a NHC this weekend.
When you do the TD, consider the easy of entry. Due to the curved door, entry requires a little contortion. I am just under six feet.
But the CVT is great.
For your needs the DICOR fits the boot. The seat has excellent lumbar support, and great legroom in the rear.
I also have a slightly problematic back and don't like crouchy cars. I found the seating position of the safari very comfortable for my back, and I do not have to push the seat fully back(I am 6'2")
TSK, Gentle giant is a close friend and he does not like Safari. I have recommended him a NHC and he wants to test drive that and if he does not like that, probably he will settle for an Innova.
Originally Posted by mobike008
(Post 692923)
TSK, Gentle giant is a close friend and he does not like Safari. I have recommended him a NHC and he wants to test drive that and if he does not like that, probably he will settle for an Innova. |
The Innova is a great vehicle for this usage if he is okay with the looks. The egronomics are definitely better than the NHC, esp for tall people(have driven both).