Old 12th February 2008, 18:55   #16

I found this ad on bharathautomobiles.com
I have sent a mail to the seller, i am awaiting his replies.
It seems to be overpriced though...any suggestions.

rallyversion gypsy with magwheels
Old 12th February 2008, 21:41   #17

Maruti 800.Easy parts availablity and everythin is basic and simple.
Old 12th February 2008, 22:20   #18

I suggest ZEN which is very good car from Maruti, soon I am planning to get one for my wife and myself to play around since she started learning driving and I am yet to start

Ravi.
Old 13th February 2008, 04:26   #19

well is the contessa not a good car for a novice to learn on?

i had a second thought because later on this chassis can be used to build a proper muscle car?
Old 13th February 2008, 08:27   #20

Originally Posted by RROD View Post
I found this ad on bharathautomobiles.com
I have sent a mail to the seller, i am awaiting his replies.
It seems to be overpriced though...any suggestions.

rallyversion gypsy with magwheels
i think that gypsy is at least 40k higher than it ought to be. 1.1 Lakh for a 22 year old gypsy just doesn't make sense.
Old 13th February 2008, 08:33   #21

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
i think that gypsy is at least 40k higher than it ought to be. 1.1 Lakh for a 22 year old gypsy just doesn't make sense.
30K max for such gypsies..!!
Old 13th February 2008, 08:42   #22

Originally Posted by headers View Post
30K max for such gypsies..!!
ok, chalo it is almost vintage, so 20k more, 50k at best.
Old 13th February 2008, 08:43   #23

Originally Posted by rider60 View Post
well is the contessa not a good car for a novice to learn on?

i had a second thought because later on this chassis can be used to build a proper muscle car?
Nope. wrong choice it would considering the budget constraints.
Old 13th February 2008, 08:44   #24

-----------OT-----------

Looks like I'm the only one who misunderstood "fiddling around"

-------------------------

Seriously, I'd suggest the Zen too.
Old 13th February 2008, 09:51   #25

Originally Posted by kkr2k2 View Post
do some search on the BS Motoring website. You will come across some interesting articles on racing in india in 60s and 70s. I think the author of those articles is in T-BHP. i am not sure though.

raj.
I think his name is Niaz Ali. His T-BHP id is hell_kuul.
Old 27th March 2008, 15:32   #26

An Old Model Gypsy would be good to Fiddle With.
Old 27th March 2008, 17:02   #27

Even I fiddle with this idea all the time. My mind is sort of set on a Padmini, though sometimes I do think of the 118 NE as well. I used to love the smooth gears of the 118 NE. Also liked that oddly boxy shape of the car, it grew on me.
Old 29th March 2008, 15:55   #28

I would suggest you to go for a M800.it's good and simple everything is almost basic and its superb to fiddle around with it. some model in the 90s' should be good because a bit of the new technology and the old technology is there so it should be fun any cheers. good luck...do post some pics in case you get a good old car,,,,
Old 30th March 2008, 16:58   #29

Honestly, I would ask you to make friends with a good mechanic and spend time in his garage. Why would you spend money just to know the mechanics?
Old 30th March 2008, 17:08   #30

Originally Posted by RROD View Post
@Mods : If you feel this needs to be moved to another forum, please lock this and let me know. I will create another thread.

Guyz, i am still thinking about this nothing is confirmed.
But your inputs would definitely help me.

I am planning to put aside around 1 Lakh to buy a car to fiddle around under the hood and learn more about cars.
Which car would you guyz suggest!!
If i can get something for around 50 K that would be even better.

I promise that i'll put a TBHP sticker on this car.

Thanks again guyz.
by "fiddle" - do u mean check the car to learn about car's mechanicals
or u want to buy a cheap car and modify it ?