Old 19th January 2005, 17:17   #16

I would advice u to go in for the Baleno, its a great all rounder, has very good service network and cheaper spares. But quality wise it may not beat the lancer.
Old 7th February 2005, 16:08   #17

Originally Posted by Jaggu
lancer good looks and handling
baleno power n ride
parts am not very sure but it used to costlier, check out with dealer on reg service parts like oil/air/fuel filters, tail lights, cost of bumpers which will give a rough idea.

hell ill also go mad making this choice with the price quoted.. what color r the cars last hope
The Lancer is a sfxi in black , will post some pics soon
Old 7th February 2005, 16:42   #18

I'd pick the baleno, even though the lancer sfxi in black looks delicious.
Reasons being
1. Its a maruti...can be serviced anywhere in india.
2. Its got a great engine, handling is impressive (provided you have fatter rubber), ride is also excellent but that is due to high profile tyres...even with the upsize of wheels, the ride should not detriorate too much.

Heart says take the lancer...but mind says go for the baleno.

Drifter
Old 7th February 2005, 16:46   #19

Baleno is a better overall car here, no doubts about that.

Powerful, reliable engine, light chassis and very good backing from Maruti.

Shan2nu
Old 7th February 2005, 23:18   #20

Originally Posted by steam25
The Lancer is a sfxi in black , will post some pics soon
black lancers are lookers man ! go for the sfxi .. baleno is more like an uncle ji car ..u'll get bored of the looks .. lancers more like our age ..
you know how it works in delhi ! ..
performance can always be tweaked ..
even then the lancer is the car to build ...
for 3 lakhs the sfxi is a steal !!

gud luck
Old 7th February 2005, 23:25   #21

black lancers are lookers man ! go for the sfxi .. baleno is more like an uncle ji car ..u'll get bored of the looks .. lancers more like our age ..
Yup, true. U just gotta make one choice though. "Uncle Ji" looks or "Uncle Ji" performance, and you'll never go wrong.

Shan2nu
Old 8th February 2005, 00:08   #22
RJK

Originally Posted by Shan2nu
Yup, true. U just gotta make one choice though. "Uncle Ji" looks or "Uncle Ji" performance, and you'll never go wrong.

Shan2nu
I agree with you shan. Baleno may look like uncle ji car but lancer really drives like an uncle ji car. Floor it & nothing really happens. Plus looks of the car are easier to modify than the mechanicals. I'd definitely go for Baleno. Lancer is really underpowered man.

Last edited by RJK : 8th February 2005 at 00:10.
Old 9th February 2005, 20:06   #23

Well,even performance can be worked upon.
Tweak the engine a bit,and the Lancer is rearing to go in for that kill.Trust me.It a superb handler and has the best of the looks.Arguably!

X
Old 9th February 2005, 21:32   #24

Originally Posted by rjkulkarni
I agree with you shan. Baleno may look like uncle ji car but lancer really drives like an uncle ji car. Floor it & nothing really happens. Plus looks of the car are easier to modify than the mechanicals. I'd definitely go for Baleno. Lancer is really underpowered man.
The performance is not something to brag about here but in comparison to baleno which is also a decent performer its not bad at all.
be it the initial acceleration or the top speeds it is at par with almost all c+ segment cars but its the way it handles that puts it in a different league altogether.no car in the c or the d segment handles like a lancer.

and its not always about the accleration and higher top speeds but the way the car handles and steers at those speeds.

drive a baleno at 130-140kmph and do the same in a lancer you will understand what i am saying.

i suggest you drive both the cars back to back and feel the difference yourself.

Last edited by Stratos : 9th February 2005 at 22:35.
Old 9th February 2005, 22:07   #25
RJK

but in comparison to baleno which is also a decent performer its not bad at all.
You're kidding me right? Lancer as good Baleno is acceleration times ..good joke
be it the initial acceleration or the top speeds it is at par with almost all c+ segment cars but its the way it handles that puts it in a different league altogether.no car in the c or the d segment handles like a lancer.
You indeed have a very good sense of humor when you say this. I like it..you're a funny guy.

and its not always about the accleration and higher top speeds but the way the car handles and steers at those speeds.
I agree with this but I was talking performance & acceleration.

drive a baleno at 130-140kmph and do the same in a lancer you will understand what i am saying.
Again I agree with this & I maintain that lancer has a very good ride.
I was under a similar kind of dilemma when I was choosing between Lancer & Honda City in '02. One drive in city & i was hooked. No prizes for guessing which car I have.

Last edited by Stratos : 9th February 2005 at 22:40.
Old 9th February 2005, 22:28   #26

Originally Posted by rjkulkarni
You're kidding me right? Lancer as good Baleno is acceleration times ..good joke

You indeed have a very good sense of humor when you say this. I like it..you're a funny guy.

I agree with this but I was talking performance & acceleration.

Again I agree with this & I maintain that lancer has a very good ride.
I was under a similar kind of dilemma when I was choosing between Lancer & Honda City in '02. One drive in city & i was hooked. No prizes for guessing which car I have.
chill dude!

we are here to discuss about cars and not to show how big our egos are.
so lets stick to the basics- cars

learn to take things in the right spirit.

i made my point earlier and i am making it here again.

so, if you have anything against me or a lancer -its your problem

Last edited by Stratos : 9th February 2005 at 22:42.
Old 9th February 2005, 23:40   #27

Baleno vs Lancer at 3L. hmm, tough decision. All the reasoning has been mentioned already. Same as drifter's heart says Lancer but head says baleno. but in my case, its the heart that is more dominating. So, go for the lancer!! And please post the pics of the Lancer....Black lancer....can't wait to see it!!
Old 10th February 2005, 03:20   #28

for 3 lacs, the lancer u're getting is quite a steal....

try comparing the common parts with a dealer or spares vendor.