Old 15th May 2008, 15:51   #1

Need Opinion on buying used Old Shape Honda City 2001 1.5 ExiS Model

Hello Everyone

Here are the details:

Honda City Old Shape 1.5 ExiS (with crystal lights, front and back)
2001 Model
Golden-Silverish Color
ExiS Ver. I think it stands for Sports/Supreme. Comes with leather upholstery, leather seats, CD Changer, Alpine stereo and speakers, Electronically controlled rear view mirrors. All items are stock.
49000 Kms on ODO
Single Hand Driven
Comprehensive Insurance
Front two doors painted
All servicing, repairs and paint job done at Honda showroom. Complete service record with bills.

My Uncle is selling this car. He lives just across the road, so I know that there was no major repair or accident and ODO is actual 49k.

Is it a good buy? Should I go for it. I plan to keep it for couple of years.

If yes.
How much should I offer to him? I don't want him to feel cheated. Neither do i want to pay extra. Just want it to be a fair deal.
He has left it upto me to decide the price.

What do you guys think?

Thanks in anticipation.
Old 15th May 2008, 17:16   #2

IIRC, there wasn't an ExiS version in the type 2 OHC. Sounds like a clean car otherwise, and helps that you know the owner / how the car was kept. 2.6 - 3.0 lakhs should be a decent price to pay for this car.
Old 15th May 2008, 18:13   #3

sounds like a fair deal you should pay him~3L
even i think that there was no EXIS version in type 2 OHC

well in case you donot purchase it PM me I have been looking around for such an example
Old 15th May 2008, 18:28   #4

the exis had a bodykit on it.
Old 15th May 2008, 18:58   #5

There was never a ExiS version in '01, they were only available in the pre-face lift model till late '00. So confirm the cource of the bodykit, it could be dealer fitted or after market.

Otherwise, the car should be around 3L, nothing more.
Old 15th May 2008, 19:34   #6

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
There was never a ExiS version in '01, they were only available in the pre-face lift model till late '00. So confirm the cource of the bodykit, it could be dealer fitted or after market.

Otherwise, the car should be around 3L, nothing more.

Yes correct.

EXiS was avaliable only in the model with which honda debuted, i.e. the very first Honda City that had three piece bumpers and standard i.e. non crystal headlights.

3lakh is the fair deal.
Old 16th May 2008, 00:00   #7

I will confirm the model tomorrow.
My Uncle is very particular about these things. He wont even go in for a aftermarket footmats.
Anyways, I have a fair idea of the price. I will update this thread with the progress.

Thanks for all the help guys.
Old 16th May 2008, 08:30   #8

There was a special edition on the Type2 OHC for a very limited period.

I dont remember the specifications but it did exist.
Old 16th May 2008, 10:11   #9

Originally Posted by girishg View Post

I confirmed the model. It is indeed 2001 ExiS. Leather upholstery, leather seats, front fog lamps, electronically controlled RVM, 3 piece bumper, door trims and IEC were standard fitments.

You are right girishg, it was a limited edition.
Old 16th May 2008, 11:19   #10

Originally Posted by girishg View Post

Girish, there was a "limited Edition" OHC Type 2. It came out in 2001-2002. But the car he has mentioned here is clearly NOT the limited edition as, the features of the type 2 ltd edition were:

Nighthawk Black Paint.(It was not available on the regular OHC at that time)
Gold coloured badges.
Beige interiors.(not sure about this) (Again, came out in the regular OHC much later)
Wooden gearknob.
Limited Edition sticker on the LHS of the bootlid.
Different Upholstery.

No version of the Type 2 came with front foglamps from the factory. So it definitely is not original. And i don't think even the ExiS had leather upholstery.
Need Opinion on buying used Old Shape Honda City 2001 1.5 ExiS Model-2247.jpg  

Old 16th May 2008, 12:08   #11

2.5 Lacs should be a good price to pay for this model. And since it is your Uncle you would know that the car is well mantained or not. 49k is very less in 7 years !!
Old 16th May 2008, 12:29   #12

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
2.5 Lacs should be a good price to pay for this model. And since it is your Uncle you would know that the car is well mantained or not. 49k is very less in 7 years !!
Even I thought that it to be in that range.
I have decided that we will go together to the Honda Showroom and get the car evaluated. I will pay him 10-15k on top of what they offer.
That should be fair I guess!!!!
Old 16th May 2008, 12:41   #13

Sumit - That will be fine I think and very fair.
Old 16th May 2008, 12:44   #14

Bro!

are you sure about the Nighthawk Black colour!! Because, I have a Nighthawk Black Vtec! and it is not a limited edition!

Shrey

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Girish, there was a "limited Edition" OHC Type 2. It came out in 2001-2002. But the car he has mentioned here is clearly NOT the limited edition as, the features of the type 2 ltd edition were:

Nighthawk Black Paint.(It was not available on the regular OHC at that time)
Gold coloured badges.
Beige interiors.(not sure about this) (Again, came out in the regular OHC much later)
Wooden gearknob.
Limited Edition sticker on the LHS of the bootlid.
Different Upholstery.

No version of the Type 2 came with front foglamps from the factory. So it definitely is not original. And i don't think even the ExiS had leather upholstery.
Old 16th May 2008, 13:27   #15

Snaps of front fogs....please !!!

Yes! Even I have a 'Night-hawk black Vtec' - there was nothing called a 'limited edition night-hawk colour'!

Even today Honda sells all its black cars as 'night-hawk black'...

BTW, I would love to see the snaps of these factory-fitted front fog lamps...What shape are these fogs !?! Are these available anywhere in the market?