Old 18th February 2005, 09:52   #1

Guide me BHP'ans: Confused-Wait or Pick up

Currently I do not own a car & my dream car is HONDA CITY. I was looking for USED HONDA CITY in the market for quiet some time & was not able to struck any deal. My specifications are

Make: Honda 1.3 or 1.5
Model: 2000 and above
Mileage: Below 40K
Ownership: One
Color: No preference (Siver & Heather mist are my favorite colors)
Budget: 4 Lakhs

I got an offer from the employer for a Hyndai Accent GVS. The car is registered in the Company's name. Hence there will not be additional ownership transfer, if I opt for that. The details of the car

Make: Hyundai Accent GVS (Fully loaded)
Model: 2003 (Registered 2004)
Mileage: 7000 KMS done
Color: Silver
Insurance: Till Jan 2006
Tax: Life Time paid
Ownership: I Owner
Price offered: 4 Lakhs

Iam really confused whether to wait for Honda or go for this Accent. I heard that Accent performance & life of the parts will be only half of the HONDA.

I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE YOUR VALUABLE FEEDBACKS
Old 18th February 2005, 10:20   #2

honda....honda.....honda....honda
Old 18th February 2005, 10:55   #3

Go for a Honda. Japanese reliability is bullet proof. And I'm sure you will get a dently used car in your specified budget

Dippy
Old 18th February 2005, 11:20   #4

I would like to be more clear on my question

Iam sure that Accent cannot be compared to HONDA.

The question is which one is a good deal/ will be a good deal in future. Also I would like to condiser the resale part after using it for 3-4 years.
Old 18th February 2005, 11:25   #5

Honda for me and you.
Old 18th February 2005, 11:28   #6
bhp

i think the above accent deal is a steal bcoz it is available at a nice price with life time tax insurance till 2006 company registered and most importantly only 7k on the odometer and afterall hyundai also has a nice service network ....
Old 18th February 2005, 12:36   #7

in this case im gonna say a accent. its a steal at that price frankly. think it over what u want better. i own a accent right now 2001 35000 kms nothing has gone wrong with it at all and maintaince has been way too low.
Old 18th February 2005, 12:43   #8

The question is which one is a good deal/ will be a good deal in future. Also I would like to condiser the resale part after using it for 3-4 years.
What are you looking for in a car?

Tell me what you except from the City and i'll tell you whether you should buy it or not.

Shan2nu

Last edited by Shan2nu : 18th February 2005 at 12:45.
Old 18th February 2005, 13:56   #9

The Accent is hardly a year old, and its a petrol vehicle. Probably the owner wants to move to CRDI or some other models.

If you like petrol vehicles, the deal is a steal for the price offered.
Old 18th February 2005, 14:21   #10

Shanu,

First, I love the looks of the HONDA.

Secondly I heard that smoothness in driving HONDA will not be there in any other car & it is a very low maintenance car which can run upto 2L kilometre without a reboring.
Old 18th February 2005, 14:27   #11

Also I would like to have my dream car as my first car. But at the same time, not at the cost of missing a stealer deal. Hence want to negotiate between these two and compromise for one.
Old 18th February 2005, 14:50   #12

just one word over and over

honda honda

honda honda
Old 18th February 2005, 15:26   #13
RJK

If you want a better deal, go for the Accent. If you want a better car to drive wait for the Honda. About the resale, Accent would fetch you a decent price since its only about 2yrs old & the Honda that you would get now would be already 3-4yrs old atleast. But still the pleasure of driving that you get in a Honda is far superior to that of an Accent.
Old 18th February 2005, 15:30   #14

Excellent Comment. You Had Unfolded And Kept It Open For Review On The Zeroed Two Items.

More Comments Expected.
Old 18th February 2005, 15:31   #15

Go for the accent..as you are sure of the history, no transfer and you are getting it at a good price... it will require lot more patience & efforts to get a used Honda City in good condition which is also a good deal..as for resale..if there is no transfer then Accent will fetch a better price on account of being single-owned....

~maniac