Old 20th February 2005, 18:17   #1

maruti esteem: being discontinued ?

hello,
think of buying an esteem. but is maruti going to discontinue it soon ? or is it just that a euro 3 version is around the corner ? please help.
krishnakumar
Old 20th February 2005, 21:37   #2

Esteem ? discontinued ??? r u joking - the esteem will be around for atleast another decade !
Old 20th February 2005, 22:03   #3

maruti will go bankrupt if they discontinue models like esteem, zen, wagon r etc. So count on it....esteem is here for some more time.

Drifter
Old 20th February 2005, 22:14   #4

more

Thanks. some more comments ? would maruti need esteem's assembly line for swift ?
Old 21st February 2005, 10:51   #5

the esteem is here to stay whether we like it or not
i dont think maruti would need esteems assembly line for swift.
they didnt need the 800/zens for the alto
Old 21st February 2005, 17:57   #6

thanks

thanks a loy bhpians!
Old 22nd February 2005, 23:26   #7

Even our grand children are going to see the Esteem in the Indian markets. Most probably it will be the same body with new grille and lights!
Old 23rd February 2005, 08:19   #8

Originally Posted by skrishnakumar10
hello,
think of buying an esteem. but is maruti going to discontinue it soon ? or is it just that a euro 3 version is around the corner ? please help.
krishnakumar
Excuse me ; what car did you say is goin to get discontinued. The only car i have seen maruti discontinue from its evo is 800 old model and that crapy high dome van. correct me if I am wrong(I meant the shape though)
1 lakh esteem = one with old fashioned head lights first evo white clearance lens
2 lakh esteem = new small head lights with orange clerance lights
3+ lakh esteem = new grill and tail lights

till you get an esteem for 25 thosand they will be rollin from the factory

Last edited by Vulken Auto : 23rd February 2005 at 08:24.
Old 23rd February 2005, 09:47   #9

On the contrary, i've heard the Esteem will replace the Amby as official vehicle of our Netas' and other beureaucrats.. (I am not sure if i spelt that correctly).. So don't lose your sleep over it. By all means the Esteem is going to stay in the market for years to come..
Old 23rd February 2005, 10:36   #10

Originally Posted by man23ish
On the contrary, i've heard the Esteem will replace the Amby as official vehicle of our Netas' and other beureaucrats.. (I am not sure if i spelt that correctly).. So don't lose your sleep over it. By all means the Esteem is going to stay in the market for years to come..

haha - with the maharashtra netas demanding skoda's - u think our netas all over the country will travel in esteems ??

no way !!
Old 25th February 2005, 16:36   #11

ESTEEM wont be discontinued coz Maruti aint toyota or honda.. they will keep continuin it till it drops dead..
Old 25th February 2005, 18:16   #12

Originally Posted by maybach
ESTEEM wont be discontinued coz Maruti aint toyota or honda.. they will keep continuin it till it drops dead..
Not becuase they are stupid...maruti is the only car company which knows nerves of mass indian customer.....they will keep models till they know customers will buy them....
Old 25th February 2005, 22:46   #13

Originally Posted by pingme
Not becuase they are stupid...maruti is the only car company which knows nerves of mass indian customer.....they will keep models till they know customers will buy them....
No Maruti is stupid they not giving customers what they want.. i mean how can they keep selling the esteem wid tat 1000 chassy on board even qualis was selling hot cakes but Toyota did stop it to give class to customers in the form of Innova at a cost..
Old 25th February 2005, 23:23   #14

Originally Posted by man23ish
I believe it is true. They've offered a stripped down non-ac version of the esteem to the govt at the cost of about 3.08 lacs which turns out to be cheaper than the Amby.

See this article for more details

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/...ow/1012546.cms
Old 25th February 2005, 23:32   #15

hmm.....

yes maruti is a bit skeptical...
about releasing news.....
but the esteem....
maybe launching the swift...
thats why.....