budget is 5lac max..

Any suggestions!! Any sources!!

Thanks..

Gaurav
Old 21st June 2008, 21:50   #2

Hey bro,

between these two, it depends on your needs. My family owned both, a 2001 Accord and a 2003 Sonata, both of which had done 70Kkm.
The FE and reliability of both the cars were the same and we never faced any issues. Both returned 6-6.5kmpl in heavy city driving.

I would recommend the Accord because -
Better performance - I found the Sonata's engine to be very unresponsive)
Better handling
Better ride
More Space
It looks understated and I love that!
More stable at high speeds. (I ended up doing 120kmph one night without realizing it whereas in the Sonata one is easily aware of what speeds they were doing)

However, I would recommend the Sonata if -
Looks were important and you wanted a car for image
Lower resale value = cheaper to buy for you
The Gold has a lot more features such as leather seats. However, if you can find an Accord VTi-L, then I would choose the accord
Better looking interiors.

It depends on what you want. If it is about image and looks, then Sonata.
For everything else, an Accord.
I would pick an Accord.

Look at various websites like New Cars, Used Cars, Buy Cars, Sell Cars, New Car Prices, Used Car Prices - CarWale.com India and even the classifieds section on T-BHP for cars that are on sale.
Old 22nd June 2008, 18:19   #3

How about a Vectra ? It is still a stunner though expensive to mantain.

However I would highly recommend a Elantra to you. A Diesel one can be found for 4 Lacs or so and a Petrol one for 3 Lacs. Easier to mantain and lovely to drive.
Old 22nd June 2008, 21:22   #4

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
How about a Vectra ? It is still a stunner though expensive to mantain.

However I would highly recommend a Elantra to you. A Diesel one can be found for 4 Lacs or so and a Petrol one for 3 Lacs. Easier to mantain and lovely to drive.
An accord will be available for a much higher price unless you get the last gen (the frist accord introduced here). A sonata will be available for nothing above 3.4 max.
The newer accord could cost you upwards of 6 lakhs even 50K more
The Elantra Crdi is a great car and is total Paisa Vasool for the money you can get it for. If you want a petrol car then go for the Sonata to get the max bang out of your buck.
Old 22nd June 2008, 21:35   #5

Accord is surely the better car to have than Sonata. Sonata wins if you are considering looks. Otherwise Accord wins almost each and every battle and eventually wins the war.

If you want max VFM ( Value For Money ) then go for Sonata.
Old 22nd June 2008, 21:58   #6

Look at the Accord. Gem of a car!!
Old 22nd June 2008, 23:57   #7
aZa

u can even get a corrolla under 5L! Why not look for a Sonata V6 ? Check Auto Terrace for Accords.
Old 23rd June 2008, 10:28   #8

thats 50-50

i am majorly looking for looks (ext+int). Will be keeping this car for 1-1.5 years only

So as most of you suggested, sonata will be a better bet..

3.4 lacs!! are you sure its that cheap!!

Which version/year of sonata should i look for!!

Thanks to all for your responses..

Gaurav
Old 23rd June 2008, 15:39   #9

@gaurav - you ought to get a 2003-2004 Sonata for that price. The resale value was really low and Hyundai was selling it at big disounts just before they brought in the new one. Infact, it was selling for less than 10L.
Just got to a website like carwale.com and do some research out there and you will find everything you need.
Old 23rd June 2008, 16:19   #10

Hi Gaurav, when buying a second hand luxury car on a low budget, a very important factor is "How much are you planning to spend on repairs/maintance".
for example, a person who can afford a M800 for 2 lakhs can easily afford a 150,000 miles done BMW imported into India.
But even a small part failure will destroy his monthly budget.
So depending upon how much you are willing to spend on service/spares, choose the car.
A good option would be to get in touch with owners and find out routine service costs and cost of commonly used spare parts(Oil filters, air filters etc., etc.,)
Old 23rd June 2008, 16:46   #11

^ I second that view.

Compare the spare parts availability as well as price for Accord and Sonata.
Major ones being suspension, steering etc. These would surely burn a hole in your pocket once you get them serviced.

Heck, even repairing the power windows is a costly deal.
Old 25th June 2008, 13:45   #12

forgot to mention that I will be installing the CNG kit / or LPG kit to the car (Sonata)
I hope there will be no problems with that!!

I do have high maintenance/repair cost in mind. Will be keeping the car depending on the maintenance cost only..
Old 25th June 2008, 18:37   #13

if you are considering the car for CNG than accord engine is more efficicent for CNG in comparison to sonata. Basically speaking hondas are one of the best cars to run on CNG, have seen lot of failed hyundai cars on CNG including my Xing.

Last edited by ashish22 : 25th June 2008 at 18:38.
Old 25th June 2008, 18:50   #14

IMHO-Buy a 2nd hand car that is common,so that the spares and all can be easily sourced at decent price.Most HIGH end cars being run as taxi's in delhi run on CNG,a WELL branded /govt authorized kit will do the job do also get the LAMDA installed along with cng kit.
Old 25th June 2008, 18:58   #15

cng not successful on hyundai cars!! never heard of anything like this before..
any case of cng failing on sonata!!
anyone in the forum having cng kit installed on sonata!! pls share your experience.

Thanks..