Old 19th August 2008, 12:38   #31
evo

I hate the Magnum`s front end styling, but I hate Skoda`s rip off service people even more!

However, I have a feeling that Honda will launch a cheaper Accord,like they did with the CIVIC E.
Old 19th August 2008, 14:33   #32

Originally Posted by evo View Post
I hate the Magnum`s front end styling, but I hate Skoda`s rip off service people even more!

However, I have a feeling that Honda will launch a cheaper Accord,like they did with the CIVIC E.
I think Karthik has mentioned mostly Diesel. So lets just stick to those options. So far i think Magnum and Laura going neck to neck.
Old 19th August 2008, 16:37   #33
evo

Aha, Sorry.

Then head over heart, my bet will be with the Optra.

Skoda is just too much of a cheat,so there is no point in seeing them do bad work on your car and then having to pay through your nose for it.
Old 19th August 2008, 16:56   #34

Originally Posted by karanraheja View Post
I think Karthik has mentioned mostly Diesel. So lets just stick to those options. So far i think Magnum and Laura going neck to neck.
It won't be wise to start another thread for petrol model in 15. Discussing both will help many.
Old 20th August 2008, 11:17   #35

Go for Magnum. It is a great VFM car with excellent ride, comfort and power. The high end LT gives you all the luxury (leather seats, auto climate control, ABS, Dualm Air Bags .....) at a very competitive price. GM's cashless maintenance offer is the icing on the cake.
Old 21st August 2008, 12:32   #36

Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Just wondering. Do you have to return the car your company after a couple of years or is it yours for ever.

If you must return it then dont care about the biggest cost of ownership aka resale value.

If you can do a buy back after say three years buy the car that would suffer max depreciation. This way you will be able to keep it by paying lesser.

After 4 years the car is mine cheers:
Old 21st August 2008, 15:11   #37

@Karthik - Wait for the Linea should be a matter of couple of months, someone was mentioning in the Linea thread that a 1.9MJD might be released. This would be a killer on the road. The new car releases are just about to begin, Altis (though a petrol) and Linea should be worth the wait before you take the plunge.

From the current lot i rate Optra Magnum top of the list. I did a test drive of the Top end Magnum. The interiors are well built, seating comfort is extremely good, feature packed + the torque is extremely good. I did a 40 kmph speed on 4th gear without any engine stoppage etc.

The cashless service offer is also very tempting. The only decision factor which made me go for a used Corolla - no discounts offered and 12+L on road was out of my reach.

Happy buying !!

Old 14th March 2013, 14:01   #38

Re: Need a car within 15Lakhs On Road price

Same query as OP, i am looking for a car that is under 15lacs OTR in 2013.
Old 14th March 2013, 14:14   #39

Petrol or Diesel?
Can you consider 1-3 year old Preowned options? Accord, Superb, Laura, Jetta, Cruz - obviously not if you are considering a loan are you?
Does it have to be a Sedan? - Duster, EcoSport. Storm, XUV?
Old 14th March 2013, 14:24   #40

Originally Posted by di1in View Post
Same query as OP, i am looking for a car that is under 15lacs OTR in 2013.
I have to ask the inevitable question. What are your requirements.

Sorry for being blunt, but there is choice in the market and sub 15L OTR has quite a few options.

If you answer the following questions we will have a better idea of what to recommend for you.

How much space do you need.
How many people will be using the car on a regular basis.
Do you want back seat comfort.
Do you want a good drivers car.
Will the far be used in the city, highway or surface of the moon roads.
Do you travel a lot and hence will a wide A$$ network be a necessity.
Do you want a practical city hatchback and is parking space an issue.

These are just some of the questions that would help us narrow down the choice for you.
Old 14th March 2013, 21:34   #41

Originally Posted by pganapathy View Post
I have to ask the inevitable question. What are your requirements.

Sorry for being blunt, but there is choice in the market and sub 15L OTR has quite a few options.

If you answer the following questions we will have a better idea of what to recommend for you.

How much space do you need.
How many people will be using the car on a regular basis.
Do you want back seat comfort.
Do you want a good drivers car.
Will the far be used in the city, highway or surface of the moon roads.
Do you travel a lot and hence will a wide A$$ network be a necessity.
Do you want a practical city hatchback and is parking space an issue.

These are just some of the questions that would help us narrow down the choice for you.
Originally Posted by ACM View Post
Petrol or Diesel?
Can you consider 1-3 year old Preowned options? Accord, Superb, Laura, Jetta, Cruz - obviously not if you are considering a loan are you?
Does it have to be a Sedan? - Duster, EcoSport. Storm, XUV?
Apologies about the lack of details, posted it earlier form office and had hurried through it.
  • Looking for a new petrol vehicle, can be sedan or SUV but not hatchback.
  • Four people will be using the car on a regular basis.
  • Do you want back seat comfort? Yes
  • Do you want a good drivers car? No
  • Mostly used for city driving, but not the Bangalore kind.
  • Do you travel a lot and hence will a wide A$$ network be a necessity? No, it will be used only in Thrissur, Kerala.
  • Duster interiors were too lacking.
  • Liked the Elantra, but felt that there is'nt much space inside.
  • Do not like Honda Civic looks, and already own a City.
  • Loved the Corolla Altis, but Dad's afraid if the design will be outdated soon (since Toyota is launching too many 'editions')
  • Max OTR is 15 lac.

Last edited by di1in : 14th March 2013 at 21:38.
di1in is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th March 2013, 09:47   #42

^^ basis this suggest:

1) Check out the Ecosport - height will help in traffic and the features and interiors should be a step up from the Duster - Though space is something you will have to decide for yourself.

2) Don't suggest a New Civic or Corolla at this stage of their lifecycle. Though the new octavia may be coming in less than a year, possibly the Laura or Cruz can can also be considered.

3) Check out the Jetta as as well.

4) Keep the Elantra on the list as also the Fluence (Good Discounts should be available.)

5) Preowned Accord, Superb, Passat would fit into the price band and they are all good vehicles.

6) If going in for a civic or a corolla go for a per owned one as they are reliable and you would not loose too much with a vewer version coming in over time.

7) Check out the XUV & Storm - Features and space would be decent. High seating position makes driving in the city easier for some and harder for others.

Petrols will have poor resale in this segment so would suggest you go for a petrol vehicle only if the price differential between Diesel and Petrol is 2L+
ACM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th March 2013, 10:48   #43

Originally Posted by di1in View Post
Apologies about the lack of details, posted it earlier form office and had hurried through it.
  • Looking for a new petrol vehicle, can be sedan or SUV but not hatchback.
  • Four people will be using the car on a regular basis.
  • Do you want back seat comfort? Yes
  • Do you want a good drivers car? No
  • Mostly used for city driving, but not the Bangalore kind.
  • Do you travel a lot and hence will a wide A$$ network be a necessity? No, it will be used only in Thrissur, Kerala.
  • Duster interiors were too lacking.
  • Liked the Elantra, but felt that there is'nt much space inside.
  • Do not like Honda Civic looks, and already own a City.
  • Loved the Corolla Altis, but Dad's afraid if the design will be outdated soon (since Toyota is launching too many 'editions')
  • Max OTR is 15 lac.

Given your list of requirements the Corolla Altis is the perfect car. When the answer to this question "Do you want a good drivers car?" is "No", the Corolla Altis is a difficult car to say no to. It does almost everything right.

Other than the Corolla, the Jetta TSI is worth considering. Though I've not sat in one or driven one, the general opinion is that its got the best ride and the most comfortable back seat. Since you already own a Jap car (the City), the Euro Jetta will be give you a fresh experience.

Last edited by Santoshbhat : 15th March 2013 at 10:50.
Santoshbhat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th March 2013, 12:58   #44

There are various good suggestions above. Don't know the A$$ situation in or near thrissur, but will add two more suggestions to the list. The Nissan sunny or it's Renault variant and the Suzuki kizashi. If a bit more space and/or seating is needed, consider the ertiga as well.
Old 17th March 2013, 23:57   #45

Originally Posted by Santoshbhat View Post
Other than the Corolla, the Jetta TSI is worth considering. Though I've not sat in one or driven one, the general opinion is that its got the best ride and the most comfortable back seat. Since you already own a Jap car (the City), the Euro Jetta will be give you a fresh experience.
Heard the VW service and parts are very expensive, any truth in this?