Old 24th November 2008, 16:01   #1

New Honda City or Fiat Linea

Hi! I'm looking for a car in 7-8 lacs. I've shortlisted the new Honda City 1.8S MT, Ford Fiesta 1.6S, Maruti SX4 Zxi. But now after hearing about the launch of Fiat Linea in dec, my decision has become even more difficult. Should i wait for the Linea? will it be better than the City?
Under corporate plans, I've been offered the new City 1.8S MT for Rs.7,90,000(ex-Mum) and also Rs.80,000 discount on Fiesta & SX4.
How much will the Linea cost?
Old 24th November 2008, 16:04   #2

As per the pdf file posted by Palio_2005, the Linea is speculated to be priced around 9 lakhs.
Old 24th November 2008, 16:25   #3

Go for Linea and you will never feel let down

Now with TATA into servicing i think Fiat will have good future in India market
Old 24th November 2008, 16:46   #4

I will be keeping a close eye on this thread. These two cars along with Fiesta TDCI could be my next buy sometime nxt year. Its tough to answer if Linea is better than City. Autocar has given overall good ratings to the Linea. Right now everything about Linea seems spot on. I think price should be around 7-9 lacs. Mostly the 1.3 MJD would be the main seller for Linea. If petrol is what you need go for the Honda. Also give a shot at the Fiesta S!! If its diesel i would suggest wait for the Linea.
Old 24th November 2008, 17:26   #5

Honda any day !!!!!!!!!!!
Old 24th November 2008, 17:31   #6

Wait for the Linea. Going by the Autocar review (rated 9/10) it will be worth it.
Old 24th November 2008, 17:32   #7

zimble formula:

Petrol - Honda City

Diesel - Linea
Old 24th November 2008, 17:33   #8

In my opinion, it is really difficult to suggest one over the other at this stage. There could be a lot of parameters that you would want to judge them on:

1. Maximum bang for the dough you will end up coughing.
2. Whether you are comfortable with any one of the brands over the other.
3. More importantly, whether you want a diesel car or a petrol sedan.
4. Driving pleasure of one wrt the other.
5. Interior quality of one over the other.
6. Pricing.

I guess we need to wait for Fiat to announce the pricing before deciding on which one of them is a better buy.
Old 25th November 2008, 19:36   #9
oss

Originally Posted by kutlee View Post
Honda any day !!!!!!!!!!!
I would have blindly agreed with you before the launch of ANHC, but not any longer. ANHC is neither VFM nor a premium product. It's a plain simple rip-off product trying to ride on some sleek exterior design, and nothing more.

Originally Posted by CtrlAltDel View Post
zimble formula:

Petrol - Honda City

Diesel - Linea
I'd look at Linea even for petrol; if not would go in for an used Corolla rather than ANHC.
Old 25th November 2008, 19:52   #10

I'd say it's too early to start deciding.

Since they're wholly manufacturing the car locally, there are bound to be quality niggles, for the first batch anyway. TATA is doing the service, so not much of a hope-raiser.

This is a problem Honda India has ironed out over the years. So until and unless the Linea has proven itself in the market, don't take a risk and start deciding on it.

Moreover, since the cars are evenly priced, as far as I can see, there is little separating these cars. Diesel it maybe, the Linea. But then of course there is the creamy Vtec on offer.

Old 25th November 2008, 20:15   #11

If you are looking for petrol i would say go for honda.If it is diesel your only option in between two cars is Linea.
Linea is a solid car with lot of features.Hope A S S will be better.

Last edited by jerish666 : 25th November 2008 at 20:29.
Old 25th November 2008, 20:32   #12

I think you need to wait till the Linea launches, I would do that for both Diesel & Petrol I would prefer to hang on till I drive the new Fiat, but looks very promising its a make or break situation for them, so I think they have a nice one coming out
Old 25th November 2008, 23:51   #13

thanks for the suggestions guys!
I guess i'll wait for the Linea as it seems to be a good buy if priced right.
People say that the All new Honda City does not have good interiors. Well,i think if Honda would have given some good plastics and better fabrics, then people would like it as the layout of the dash isn't bad! The problem is that we all have loved the previous Honda City so much that we expected Honda to surprise us with something even more better this time.And Honda has actually made a stunning looking car and only compromised in the interior quality.I agree it does not feel like a 9 lac car inside but it surely looks like one from outside!
On the other hand, Fiat Linea's interiors aren't too good either.I didn't like the layout of the dash, but Fiat has used very good materials inside which make the Linea feel like an expensive car.
Now,I can just hope Fiat prices it correctly.Rs7.5-8 lacs would be a good price to consider the Linea.The launch date is speculated to be 16th December which coincides with my birthday!
Old 26th November 2008, 01:14   #14

i want a diesel (or should i put it as my DAD wants a diesel...lol) in the same segment.
So, its between the fiesta and linea for me.

I am waiting for the launch of the linea.
I think i'll go for linea. On paper, its a better car,
also, i am a bit of a fiat fan-boy.

Production of linea has started at Pune.
And according to concord auto, prabhadevi, mumbai.
they expect the car to be launched 3rd week of dec. with a price tag of not more than 8 lakhs.
Now, thats good news
Old 26th November 2008, 01:34   #15

I think ANHC scores more over Linea in Space(Boot,Rear) and *** other than that Linea will definitely goin to rock as per the info is out at the moment.
So it would be worth to wait for Linea launch & real TD reports to come.