Team-BHP > What Car? > Sedans

Search this Thread
Old 20th January 2009, 20:11   #1
BHPian

Old Honda City or Tata Indigo

Hello friends,
This is very urgent.
Saw an OHC 1.3, 2001 model, run genuinly 50k kms, 2nd owner, (2nd owner dint use the car much, lying idle in his building), for 2.6Lacs.
My othr option is 2nd hand Indigo, Diesel or Petrol(will fit CNG).
Have to choose betn the 2.
Have to give my reply to the City owner in a day, as theres another cust for it.
Now, the condition of the City is, the suspension bushes have to b replaced, slight touch-up and polish, slight noise frm the dashboard. Otherwise the engine n gearbox is butter smooth. Excellent pickup.
Pls guide me friends, i have very less time.
Regards,
Dr.Abhay Shah
Old 20th January 2009, 20:40   #2
abk
BHPian

Dr Abhay,

Although I am not an expert in this area, however, given the urgency you are in and that replies have not started to pour in yet here are my 2 paise:
- OHC is an excellent piece of engineering. As you vouch for the engine condition and maintenance, this could be your automatic choice.
- Get a fair estimate of the repairs and then compare the costs of both the cars
- Indigo fitted with CNG kit will reduce your running cost substantially, but if you want to keep the car for a long time, the engine may not last you as long
- Do mention your average daily run, your average quarterly budget for servicing and maintenance (Indigo wins over OHC but OHC will probably mean lesser trips to service centre)
- Do state your requirements of ground clearance if it is something that can worry you occasionally depending on how good are the roads where you want to drive (Indigo wins over OHC)
- OHC (even 1.3) is higher on fun to drive quotient whereas Indigo is, as Tata claimed for Indica, more car per car.
- OHC definitely has more snob value
Old 20th January 2009, 20:45   #3
Senior - BHPian

1) OHC, in powertrain department is any given day miles ahead of Indigo.