Old 12th March 2009, 15:42   #1

Need An Automatic to drive in city-Which car

I'm looking out for 1st hand automatic sedan car.
What are my options other that ANHC AT.

Requirements:
1. 90% City driving
2. Easy to drive & maneuver.
3. Budget upto 10Lac maybe stretch to 11L OTR Mumbai

I cannot think of any other car other than ANHC. Are there any other options for me

Suggestions please

MKP
Old 12th March 2009, 17:30   #2

Verna AT

I can't think of any other car other than those two.
Old 12th March 2009, 17:36   #3

Verna AT would be a good option if you are looking for a Diesel heart.

Else, stick to ANHC AT.

I do not think there are any other options in your budget unless you want to look at hatches as well where i10 AT would be a great bet.
Old 12th March 2009, 18:52   #4

If you are ok with buying second hand, then this is a really good time to buy a slightly used Honda Accord 2.4. For your budget of 10 - 11 lakhs, you should be able to get a 2006/2007 model in good condition. excellent value for money according to me. You could check on carwale.com for the prices.
Old 12th March 2009, 19:19   #5

Originally Posted by kurmist View Post
buy a slightly used Honda Accord 2.4. For your budget of 10 - 11 lakhs,
Actually you can try and get the 3.0 V6 auto !

You should find one for 8-8.5 Lakh.excellent VMF !
Old 12th March 2009, 19:34   #6

Santro AT or the i10 AT
Tailor-made for city driving and satisfy all your three conditions.
Santro AT would be about 4.5L on-road.
i10 AT would be about 6L OTR, fully-loaded.
Old 12th March 2009, 19:53   #7

Thanks Guys for your inputs..

@vidhu_f430:
I need to go for 1st hand only due to personal reasons.

Regarding the i10 I found the ride to be on stiffer side so not so comfortable according to me.

With respect to Verna I've not tried it seems to be a good bet with CRDI@100 horses and auto too.Will check it out

Sadly Ford does not have a Fiesta/Ikon automatic or Fiat Linea in automatic which would have been my choices to try out.
Old 12th March 2009, 20:40   #8

My first suggestion i10 AT top end with sunroof with Michellin tyres in stock size with Alloys. Best for City driving.

Else

ANHC AT is best option in 10 lacs budget. Go for it which is much better than Verna AT. There is no match to ANHC according to me.

Ravi.
Old 12th March 2009, 20:42   #9

I would pick the Verna diesel A/T.
Well an almost new Civic would cost you below 10. There are many for sale by people who get too tired of a car or find out later that its too low etc. But since you will not buy a pre owned car, the Verna is the way to go man.
Old 12th March 2009, 20:43   #10

I'd recommend the ANHC A/T.
Having driven that , it feels nice.
Somehow , i aint a big fan of Hyundai's Auto Box after driving the Sonata Embera ( Not transform)
Old 12th March 2009, 21:54   #11

ANHC & Verna both are a good cars take a TD and stick with one.

Other important thing to be noted is on the Service side.
Old 12th March 2009, 23:31   #12

Only the ANHC and verna, but if you don't care much about the sedan v/s hatch thingie, go for the i10. It has the AT, good car, decent interiors, and satisfies your points of 1 and 2, hatch + AT+ city driving = what you are looking for right?
Old 13th March 2009, 09:19   #13

I would take the Honda City any day. This transmission comes with a torque converter lock up. The Verna transmission by the looks of it is the same as that in the Santro. This is a 4-speed transmission, with no lock up. Originally it appears to have been a 3-speed unit which was upped to 4-speed somewhere down the line. The selector has D 2 L while the 4-th gear (quaintly called Overdrive) is enabled by a button on the selector knob.

I should know having owned a Santro AT for 3-1/2 years. I must agree that it not a bad transmission esp.w hen compared to the Maruti 3-speed which I had previously.
Old 13th March 2009, 09:27   #14

ANHC of course would be a good choice. But why not NHC AT? With the CVT, it is smoother then ANHC AT and ideal for city driving. It has better cabin and sound insulation. It is an outgoing car but you also get it for lesser price.
Old 13th March 2009, 09:42   #15

City Mk.II AT is a generation behind and does not have Torque Lock Up. The ANHC has a better driev train - both engine and AT. So I will not got for the obsolescent model.