Team-BHP - Keen on buying a used Mondeo!!!!

-   Sedans (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans/)
-   -   Keen on buying a used Mondeo!!!! (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans/55252-keen-buying-used-mondeo-2.html)

Originally Posted by GTO (Post 982526)
Give me a break. Which well-maintained Mondeo have you seen selling for 2.5 lakhs?

Originally Posted by ab1xlr8 (Post 983152)
A mondeo for 2.5 lakhs,dude you must be dreaming ,and i wonder which car you drive to call a mondeo scrap.

Originally Posted by ashish22 (Post 983353)
i've personally test driven a 2002 mondeo last sunday being available at toyota used car showroom and the asking price was 2.9 lacs! and still negotiable.

Well I think the last quote answers GTO & Abx.
Mondeo second hand fetches so less because there are no takers for the car.
Compare it to Escort, it used to cost somewhere around 8-9 L ex showroom & in the used car market sell for around 1-1.5L. Now, Mondeo is double the price of Escort, so double the resale value, which comes to ~ 2.5L.

@abx, its not just about driving! keeping , maintaining & running are also important considerations. You might buy it for 4L , but later its going to cost you 8L for maintaining.

Originally Posted by novice (Post 982755)
You mean Accord V6 or the regular one? The one and only reason why I want to buy the Mondy is for its driving dynamics and it is the only true driver's car that one could get below 5lakhs.

The only Accord that will fit in this budget is the older gen. You are correct, Accord's are the best for driving pleasure.

Look, I can tell that you are sold on the Mondeo and it is a superb sedan indeed. I wouldn't say that Mondeos are unreliable, again they have some specific problem areas which aren't a big deal to sort out. The maintenance will be on the higher side (17 lakh car!), but you can source parts yourself from the UK and minimise damage. Focus most on the condition of the Mondys that you test (ownership history, maintenance, accident-free etc. etc.). Over the next 5 years, I'd expect you to spend a total of 2 lakhs in maintenance (pessimistically and if accident free).

I have PM'ed RPM who recently bought a fabulous dark grey Mondeo. The car drives like new. He could probably help you out with some tips on this thread.

Originally Posted by bhp1 (Post 983461)
Well I think the last quote answers GTO & Abx.

Sure, they may be an odd Mondeo for 3 lakhs but that is not indicative of the market. I have seen several Mondeos go for between 4.25 - 5.0 L in the recent past.

but later its going to cost you 8L for maintaining.
You couldn't be more off the mark here. Even a 5 year old Mercedes doesn't cost 8L to maintain. Let's keep the numbers realistic please.

Thanks GTO.

Yes...you are correct, I sort of made up my mind already to buy the Mondy provided I am satisfied with the condition of the car after the test drive. I would mostly be doing a TD tomorrow. The dealer has two Mondeo's for sale. Of the two, he said one car is not well maintained and the other is, in his own words, "immaculately well maintained".

well i agree with GTO, most of the mondeos available in the market are still available in price bracket of 3.5 lacs to 5.5 lacs depending upon the condition. However i forgot to mention that the car which i test drove had covered 80,000 Kms and dint have proper service records. Thats why i avoided that car.

Problems on the mondeo so far:

Electric seat motor (replaced under warranty)
Reverse lights working intermittently (small wiring issue -rs 250 to fix)
Power socket not working at 50k kms (Rs 15 to fix - was just a fuse)
Coolant tank leakage at 51k kms (Rs 1400 for replacement)
Suspension (complete refurbish at 30k kms for free during a ford service camp)

My car is serviced once in 6 months by the dealership. Tune up cost is Rs 850, and the rest is for consumables, oil filter etc etc. Car has now clocked 58k kms, and drives like a dream, feels like new.(GTO will vouch for it)

BTW its not too expensive to maintain the mondeo, 85% of the parts are available in chennai and take about 2-4 days to arrive.If you have a source in the uk parts are dirt cheap (infact cheaper than the accord).

Many non owners have the wrong impression of the mondeo spare parts. For eg. if the fuelpump fails they can be bought for Rs 8000 if have the right sourcing. If the stereo system does give a problem you can change it to any other stereo availabe in the market. A suspension job costs the same or less than a skoda RS. Body panels are expensive but are heavily discounted (should cost the same as the RS).

Bottom line: If you do find a well maintained car at the right price you should buy it. Amazing performace, unmatched driving dynamics, the steering is just perfect, very comfortable, a lot of gizmos. And all this for less than 6 lakhs used, its a steal.

You can always consider an RS incase you dont find a good condition mondeo. I was offered a 05 RS with less than 20k on the odo, maintained very well for 5 lakhs and he was ready to take an offer.
PM incase you need any help.

Thanks R.P.M

All, please accept my apologies for a lengthy post.

I took a TD of both Mondeos, 'the well maintained' Black Mondy and the other 'not so well maintained' Golden color Mondy. My first reaction: Wow, what a VFM at 4.5lakhs. But I am still confused though this time about which one to pick. Here is my take on both Mondeos,

Black Mondy
*) Car looks classy in Black color, Clocked 58000 kms, only third party insurance, all tires are fairly new
*) Looks clean both inside and outside except few very minor dents and scratches.
*) Suspension is bit firm, could hear some squeaks when going over humps
*) Clutch feels little hard, may be little worn out too
*) Engine feels good, car seem to be pretty quick.
*) Has Headers, FFE and K&N Conical air filter
*) Complete Underbody is protected with a aluminium sheet
*) Kenwood MP3 stereo with CD Changer and a small sub-woofer
*) West Bengal registered, registering it in Bangalore will cost 70K. So dealer said he could register it in Kerala and get a NOC.

The price quoted is 4.5 lakhs

Golden color Mondy
*) I don't like the color. Clocked 45000 kms, has full one year insurance, insurance renewed just few days back.
*) Two of the tires completely worn out.
*) AC seem to be little ineffective compared to the Black Mondy
*) Couple of small dents but nothing major, could be fixed easily
*) Suspension is little soft but I am not very sure about this, no noise whatsoever from the suspension.
*) Clutch and Gearbox feel smooth.
*) Engine feels bit sluggish when compared with the Black Mondy.
*) No mods done, just the stock car
*) It is registered in Bangalore

The price quoted is 4.5 lakhs if I take the car as it is. Additional 25k for re-furbishing. He also said he could transfer the FFE and Air filter from the
other Mondy. But I am not sure if he would charge extra for this.

There are couple things that I observed in both Mondeos,
The Engine gets lot noisier when pressed hard. I am bit shocked to hear so much noise from a 17lakh car. Also in both cars, Engine shakes a bit when cranked. But not sure if it is only the plastic cover on top of the Engine or the whole engine itself. Is it common in all Mondeos?

I am not able to come to a decision. I would prefer the Black Mondy but it doesn't have full insurance and also it is expensive to register in Bangalore.

I would like to take a second opinion from some one experienced with cars. Any Bangy BHPians willing to volunteer for a test drive. It would be a great help to me.

What would you guys suggest?

PS: Post Mondeo test drive, I must admit that I feel my Corolla is a terrific VFM with a superb engine at rougly 2/3 of Mondeo's price.

Originally Posted by R.P.M (Post 984159)
Problems on the mondeo so far:

Electric seat motor (replaced under warranty)
Reverse lights working intermittently (small wiring issue -rs 250 to fix)
Power socket not working at 50k kms (Rs 15 to fix - was just a fuse)
Coolant tank leakage at 51k kms (Rs 1400 for replacement)
Suspension (complete refurbish at 30k kms for free during a ford service camp)

My car is serviced once in 6 months by the dealership. Tune up cost is Rs 850, and the rest is for consumables, oil filter etc etc. Car has now clocked 58k kms, and drives like a dream, feels like new.(GTO will vouch for it)

BTW its not too expensive to maintain the mondeo, 85% of the parts are available in chennai and take about 2-4 days to arrive.If you have a source in the uk parts are dirt cheap (infact cheaper than the accord).

Many non owners have the wrong impression of the mondeo spare parts. For eg. if the fuelpump fails they can be bought for Rs 8000 if have the right sourcing. If the stereo system does give a problem you can change it to any other stereo availabe in the market. A suspension job costs the same or less than a skoda RS. Body panels are expensive but are heavily discounted (should cost the same as the RS).

Bottom line: If you do find a well maintained car at the right price you should buy it. Amazing performace, unmatched driving dynamics, the steering is just perfect, very comfortable, a lot of gizmos. And all this for less than 6 lakhs used, its a steal.

You can always consider an RS incase you dont find a good condition mondeo. I was offered a 05 RS with less than 20k on the odo, maintained very well for 5 lakhs and he was ready to take an offer.
PM incase you need any help.

As an ex Mondeo owner i agree with R.P.M 100%.

I would be wary of the WB registered car in regards to Paperwork as it will very difficult and a lengthy process getting it renumberd to KA.

Also getting it registerd to KL and then re registering to KA will be equally costly and time consuming.

If you do end up buying the Black one you can do a deal with the dealer saying you will pay 75% of the price and balance after he does the re registering. Do NOT take up the re registration work yourself.

Frankly the gold one sounds more genuine. Without the FFE etc, it will feel less sluggish. May I caution you about paying life time tax, the RTO will charge 16% of 60% (approx) of rs 17 L ...nearly Rs 1 lakhs plus

PM me if you want me to TD the cars

Originally Posted by ajmat (Post 985249)
PM me if you want me to TD the cars

Thanks. Yes, I would be grateful. Just PM'ed the details

Just an update..

I have finalized the deal for the Gold Mondeo subject to verification with the Ford ***. I would take delivery of the vehicle on Saturday if there are no last minute glitches.

I owe a lot to Ajmat. He, despite his busy schedule, came over to the dealer's garage for the test drives and helped me to make my decision. Thanks a lot Ajmat.

Also special thanks to R.P.M, GTO and everyone else for advicing me over this. Will post some pics once I take delivery of the car.

PS: Please do let me know if there is anyhing important that I should check before the delivery.

- Novice.

I drove both cars.

The black one reflected its miles, engine did not pull and the rear full bore exhaust was a waste of time (no ffe, just a rear box). Shifted well. Suspension was quiet but damping was a bit shot. Drivers seat height and an electric window did not work. considering the work required and the complicted registration - walk away. Also front wing had been removed at some point

The gold one, pulled well. Suspension was tighter although it was a little noisier. Owner or now ex owner's cousin had a Ferrari till two months ago so I guess no skimping on maintenance.

It was a no brainer

again, the Mondeo - easy to drive but it does not urge you like the original Focus. I never thrashed the cars except for accelerating hard. Brakes lack feel although they stop well. Remember, I walked in from an RS

I owned a Mondeo Petrol for almost 6 years.

Was virtually trouble free, except for one of the motors in the driver's seat for the height adjustment.

My car was sold at 28k kms, about 1.5 years ago. I recently met the Gentleman who bought my car and he was raving about the reliability and comfort of the car.

He has clocked close to 80k kms now and only the fuel pump, tyres ( 2 sets ) and A/C. compressor needed replacement.

All other mechanicals and electrical parts are functioning well.

This is pretty good for a 7 year old car.

Have fun with your car; its one of the better handling cars out in the market.

Congrats on the new ride. Do post pics and driving impressions once you get a chance.

Congrats - how much did you settle on?

UK is your best source for parts. Worth picking up a spare fuel pump. You can go to a chain of store called Halfords for the routine service parts.

The engine might develop a rattle later on in life. Look out and more here

Resources for your Mondy

Mondeo enthusiasts funsite: www.MondeoMania.Com

Enthusiasts and problem solving website: Main Index - Main Page of Mondeo Enthusiasts Group - Powered by FusionBB

Remember, as with Skoda, Ford dealers are hopeless in diagnosing faults and sourcing parts. Stock up and be safe on routine items and things that might fail based on what those forums tell.

Good luck

congrats novice you have bought something which i never had the courage to buy but always wanted to have. Its a great drivers car no doubt and i'm sure ajmat would have picked up a good piece for you. Good luck pimping it.