Old 16th August 2009, 21:17   #1

Diesel 10-12 lacs.

A friend needs a new car.It HAS to be a diesel.Its gonna be chauffeur driven.Will be driven on horribilly bad sections and highway,about 80km daily. More inclined towards a sedan.
Comfort and cost the criteria.
Budget is about 13 lacs for a company owned car (higher taxes)
ty
Old 16th August 2009, 21:37   #2

There are not very wide range of diesel vehicles available in Rs. 10-12 lakh.
The cars I would recommend are :

1) Chevrolet Optra Magnum diesel.
2) Toyota Innova diesel.
3) Hyundai Verna diesel.

Out of all three, Verna is not known for good handling. Optra Magnum reviews are available all over TBHP along with Verna diesel.

I would recommend him Innova as he is going to travel a lot on bad roads and this car is very comfortable.
In sedans I will recommend Optra. Optra has good ride quality + stability as compared to Verna. Any given day a better car than Verna.

I am not bringing in Skoda Octavia for the following reasons :
4) Rear seat space not as comfortable as Optra and/or Innova.
5) The main reason is threads on TBHP about Skoda's A.S & S. and its attitude.
Old 16th August 2009, 21:40   #3

Paras, Innova should be high on your list. Its like a sofa on wheels. A very comfortable one at that.

Last edited by mclaren1885 : 16th August 2009 at 21:42.
Old 16th August 2009, 22:08   #4

Innova should be the best bet. But since he needs a sedan- Why not wait for a more powerful Linea- 1.6 MJD expected latest by early 2010. It would be well into the budget and suspension is brilliant along with good highway manners. With present sedans - Only Optra Magnum seems to be the option .
Old 16th August 2009, 22:16   #5

The best diesel sedan available for this price is Chevy Optra Magnum,but i would suggest you to wait for Chevy Cruze, they will surely price it in this range.
Old 16th August 2009, 22:18   #6

Best would be innova. But if its "sedan" only, then good choices as of now:
1) Chevy Optra magnum
2) Fiat Linea Diesel

Although Optra is much more powerful than Linea, since it's gonna be chauffeur-driven, it doesn't matter.

Or he can wait for Chevy Cruze or the more powerful Fiat Linea 1.6 next year too.

Last edited by neotraveller : 16th August 2009 at 22:19.
Old 16th August 2009, 22:18   #7

Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Out of all three, Verna is not known for good handling.
Even the ride is horrible,rear seat ride actually reminds me of a pogostick.
Old 16th August 2009, 22:34   #8

If the car is going to be driven on bad roads, then you need a MUV/SUV. Sedans will not face very well if its going to be driven on bad roads on a continuous basis.

I would suggest the Innova. Even Safari & Scorpio can also be considered.

Old 16th August 2009, 23:07   #9

You can also consider the Mistubishi Lancer 2.0 lxdV. But its very outdated.
Old 16th August 2009, 23:20   #10

Definately the innova.... good at handling bad roads, ride quality is good and the seat as every one said are like sofa.. moreovet.. it fits in the budget

If it has to be a sedan then..it can be an optra magnum or the verna.. but I dont think that they can handle bad roads every day for about 80kms..the lancer diesel is the only sedan which can handle bad roads but again its a very old model.. will be discontinued soon and it not at all value for money as it lacks most of the features including safety which most of its competitors do provide..

Last edited by gaurav_chopra04 : 16th August 2009 at 23:24.
Old 16th August 2009, 23:35   #11

Originally Posted by karanraheja View Post
Why not wait for a more powerful Linea- 1.6 MJD expected latest by early 2010. It would be well into the budget and suspension is brilliant along with good highway manners.
Originally Posted by neotraveller View Post
But if its "sedan"
2) Fiat Linea Diesel
Although Optra is much more powerful than Linea, since it's gonna be chauffeur-driven, it doesn't matter.

Self driven would open option of Linea 1.6 when it comes, but right now IMHO its between Optra magnum diesel and Innova.
Linea 1.6 would be a good option only if the car is going to be self driven. The rear seat of Linea is not as good as Optra which is very spacious and comfortable.
In this thread, paras211 is clearly indicating that comfort is necessary and the car will be chauffeur driven and not self driven. See quote below :

Originally Posted by paras211 View Post
A friend needs a new car.It HAS to be a diesel.Its gonna be chauffeur driven.Will be driven on horribilly bad sections and highway,about 80km daily. More inclined towards a sedan.
Comfort and cost the criteria.

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
but i would suggest you to wait for Chevy Cruze, they will surely price it in this range.
Originally Posted by neotraveller View Post
Or he can wait for Chevy Cruze or the more powerful Fiat Linea 1.6 next year too.
IIRC, Chevy Cruze is expected to fight with Laura and Jetta. In the Chevrolet Cruze spy shots thread, the price mentioned is around Rs. 18 lakh. The source I dont remember, but its in that thread. This is way above Rs. 13 lakh max mentioned by paras211.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 16th August 2009 at 23:36.
Old 16th August 2009, 23:45   #12

Well a Scorpio would also do as well as an Innova on bad roads.
Old 16th August 2009, 23:48   #13

I saw a Chevy Cruze on friday at ITPL parking lot. Looked quite nice and had lots of space. I'm sure if its being put out in the open like that by GM, its gonna get launched pretty soon.

Worth a wait I guess. I'm sure its not big enough to be launched at 18lacs.
Old 17th August 2009, 00:03   #14

What makes you think Linea's rear seat is not comfortable?
The low head-room? There's enough headroom for average Indians (lower than 6ft).

IMO, with the better suspension of Fiat I would expect the back seat to be better than Optra (I haven't sat in an Optra BTW).

And isn't Cruze the next-gen optra? It will be in that 11-13lac bracket only.

Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
The rear seat of Linea is not as good as Optra which is very spacious and comfortable.
IIRC, Chevy Cruze is expected to fight with Laura and Jetta. In the Chevrolet Cruze spy shots thread, the price mentioned is around Rs. 18 lakh.
Old 17th August 2009, 00:15   #15

Hi, can you increase your budget a bit?

By adding another 3 lacs or so, you will get lots of good choices, Octavia, Laura, Sonata transform, Jetta etc.

All of above are much better than all those magnums, Lineas and Vernas.