Old 4th September 2009, 10:08   #31

Sedan or a smaller SUV ??

I am surely going to wait and take a TD of the cruze before I take a final decision. But on the other hand I need to know if it makes sense to spend a bit more and settle in to the New Grand Vitara. Not just because it is a SUV but other reasons being :
1) It is from a maruti stable, so no worry about the A.S.S
2) Good ground clearance, looking at floods and speed breakers in mumbai.
3) Looks like an elder brother to the Ford Fusion that I currently own and,
4) Have 2 workshops very close to where we stay.
Old 4th September 2009, 10:10   #32

If you are comfortable enough and these factors are important, then why not.
Old 4th September 2009, 10:34   #33

the only problem now is, I haven't taken a TD of the New Vitara because it isnt available with any dealer here in mumbai.
Old 4th September 2009, 10:58   #34

How about Mitsubishi Cedia? thats one sport car I admire a lot.
Old 4th September 2009, 11:55   #35

Originally Posted by rabnawaz_b View Post
How about Mitsubishi Cedia? thats one sport car I admire a lot.
bro have a cedia sports in our family. so not one more
Old 4th September 2009, 13:03   #36

Originally Posted by hvishwanathan View Post
Hi guys,

I need you people to help me center down on my new ride.

City:Mumbai
Budget:12-16 lacs
Current ride: For fusion+ (Petrol)
Drive aily around 30km, mainly city driving

Looking out for a Manual Transmission, Petrol variant above 1600cc.

Current options:Laura 1.8 TSI,Toyota Altis 1.8 GL, Sonata Transform 2.4VTVT.

Can someone also help me with the on road pricing of the new Grand vitara in Mumbai ?

Thanks guys
dude you have nice meaty budget and still you short listed Laura, Altis and Sonata?

Go for Civic 2009

OR

add 2 lakhs more and see the world of choice changing for you!
Old 4th September 2009, 15:20   #37

I have extended my budget not just by 2lacs. If I am considering the New Grand Vitara, then the on road mumbai pricing for a MT is 20,67,267/=

Now the problem is only Vitesse has a AT in stock scheduled to be delivered tomorrow and 2 MT's in Gurgaon plant.

Since I haven't seen or taken a TD, its a very difficult decision to take & the next lot is scheduled to arrive only by mid october.

Advice
Old 8th September 2009, 01:52   #38

I will also look for sonata.

A level above the corolla / civic. (afterall its a car of accord range)

Its a car with excellent built & interiors. And being a hyundai, you will not have nay problems with ***.
Old 8th September 2009, 03:48   #39

IMO, if you have reached the 20L mark then look no further and go for the Fortuner.
Old 8th September 2009, 10:42   #40

Originally Posted by abhayshanu View Post
IMO, if you have reached the 20L mark then look no further and go for the Fortuner.
As of now I am considering only the petrol option. Fortuner here in mumbai on road is 22lacs. Might just wait and see how the new Ford Endy is placed (pricing/looks & VFM)
Old 8th September 2009, 11:50   #41

If you want only petrol, cruze is not the car for you. Civic makes a better sense. Try getting a pre facelift for a one lakh rupee discount if available since the new model is not really new, just a refresh with a cruise control and USB port as added features.

Jetta petrol is a no no since it is a SOHC 2 valve per cylinder iron block unit with only 106 bhp.

Why not consider a diesel optra magnum LT 2.0 140 ps for a massive discount? Or wait for the cruze diesel, it promises to be a great all rounder.
Old 11th September 2009, 11:08   #42

Outlander

Tried convincing dad this morning for the Outlander. He really loved the looks only till he called the showroom while on our way to office and found it was a 24 lacs on road Mumbai :( don't think he will look at it now. Convincing him for the superb petrol variant now
Old 11th September 2009, 15:19   #43

Vish, as you are spending good money ( 20l?) it is important for you to note :

1. your driving requirements ( distance, road conditions, average speeds...)
2. your passenger /load requirements
3. your opinions on the car that you want to own and drive
4. fuel consumption
5. after sales service
6. resale value (if important) & lifetime in years
All of us here will provide you with our own views, which might or might not be relevant.
So go ahead and decide - its your decision. Just one thing though - the car should make you smile!
Old 11th September 2009, 15:34   #44

You can test drive the New Cedia Sports which come with lot of good stuff factory fitted to name a few it has OZ alloy wheels and MOMO steering.

Vivek
Old 11th September 2009, 18:04   #45

Originally Posted by issigonis View Post
Vish, as you are spending good money ( 20l?) it is important for you to note :

1. your driving requirements ( distance, road conditions, average speeds...)
2. your passenger /load requirements
3. your opinions on the car that you want to own and drive
4. fuel consumption
5. after sales service
6. resale value (if important) & lifetime in years
All of us here will provide you with our own views, which might or might not be relevant.
So go ahead and decide - its your decision. Just one thing though - the car should make you smile!

1) My driving is going to be 30km approx everyday inside city limits, weekends say around 70-80km mix of city and highway driving and every 3-4 months long distance drive 500km approx. Road conditions being average and average speed of 70-100 kmph.

2) weekdays mostly 2 people travelling , weekends and long distance trips not more than 5-6 people.

3) I have been discussing these options all along the thread and the most important thing being it should be a drivers car (good driving pleasure)

4) fuel consumption - expect it to give atleast 8-9 kmpl in city driving conditions and highways minimum 11 kmpl.

5)after sales should be decent and parts should be available.

6) Resale value not very important.