Old 14th October 2009, 09:29   #1

One month Fiesta 1.6 SXi + moving abroad :( :)

Hello !

Man proposes, God disposes.

Just when I was getting ready for a longish innings at a metro, duly ensconcing myself comfortably with a brand new Fiesta 1.6 SXi and also getting a dog et al ( perfect family scene !) comes the news that I might be moving abroad for three years !
So what should I do with the Fiesta ?
Sell it, or hold it ???
It looks like a no-brainer, but kindly help me out o this one !
ps. EMIs are on , as I took a five- lakh loan.
ps. I tried posting this in the 'everything else' section, but the system didnot allow me.
Old 14th October 2009, 10:49   #2

Big disappointment for you on the car front, otherwise you are definitely happy that you got a overseas posting. In this situation you are not able to take a decision on your new purchase.?
Do there anyone in your family who can take care of the car (the one who can drive car decently, I mean not a rash driver) who can maintain the car till you come back.

Selling the car at this point will be loss (on money front) for you i.e
1-even if a new car, you may lose 10/15% if you are going to sell her
2-You have to pre-close the loan, if you have to sell the car. Then there will be
penalty/exta charges for pre-closure.

I know it is very difficult to take a decision at this point of time.

Wait for more advise/comments from other TBHPians !.
Old 15th October 2009, 16:47   #3

Archer inspite of the loss you would have to sell off the car, you can only try for the best deal, retaining the car will make lesser financial sense. Money in the bank will get your returns enabling you to buy an equivalent or better car when you get back to India.
Old 15th October 2009, 17:48   #4

@Archer: It depends on the following

1. How attached you are to the car.
2. Most importantly, is there someone who can take care of the car during your absence ? In my case, I had my inlaw's driver who took very good care of my car for two years.

If you are not emotionally inclined towards the car, the best bet would be to sell it off and get a new one (you will get a better/latest version too) when you come back to motherland.

You may also want to check out this thread:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...-car-okay.html

Last edited by rr_zen : 15th October 2009 at 17:50.
Old 15th October 2009, 19:20   #5

Well, thanks for or inputs, fellows !
Looks like the 'might go abroad' bit has been tweaked by the stars as 'won't go abroad' !
So back I am behind the wheel, and back come the plans of hitting the roads, painting the town red, and long distance driving !
As they say, o never know what the tide brings you ...

Cheers and thanks for the inputs.

ps. Mods - You may like to close this thread.
Old 16th October 2009, 13:50   #6

Originally Posted by Archer2005 View Post
Well, thanks for or inputs, fellows !
Looks like the 'might go abroad' bit has been tweaked by the stars as 'won't go abroad' !
So back I am behind the wheel, and back come the plans of hitting the roads, painting the town red, and long distance driving !
As they say, o never know what the tide brings you ...

Cheers and thanks for the inputs.

ps. Mods - You may like to close this thread.
+
So your car STARS are stronger than yours.
And the car won and want you be with her.

Get going