Old 9th August 2005, 11:14   #16
vRS

16. Larger Disks for the brakes
17. Full under-body cover

I too was faced with the same question a few months back and chose the RS. You may come close by adding your own accessories....but it cannot be the same finish etc...
Old 9th August 2005, 14:17   #17

Originally Posted by karthik247
10.A nice 8speaker Alpine music sys
It is a 4 speaker system. A tweeter and woofer count as one speaker not 2.
Old 9th August 2005, 15:01   #18

If you want to have all the goodies which RS comes with then its better to buy an RS rather than buying Rider and modifying it.
Old 9th August 2005, 18:32   #19

I own a Rider and would certainly not go for the RS if I was given the opportunity...its "almost" the same package....and for a lesser price. I would rather modify the Rider than buy an RS and mod it..It would also be cost effective.
Old 9th August 2005, 19:50   #20

The music sys is a 4speaker, 4tweeter one. But Skoda call it 8speaker
Old 9th August 2005, 21:20   #21
F50

This is what i used to feel its better to buy RS coz it looks hot and all. But on thinking again ... if i buy Rider Turbo which has same engine as RS ... and engine is the heart ... i dont care what seats im sitting on or what wipers i have on my car ... the rest of the money i can use it on my Rider for performance upgrade .. at the end of the day my car will be faster ... and thats what i want
Old 9th August 2005, 22:10   #22

Well, if the cosmetics aren't that important to you, the Rider 1.8TPi shuldn't be a prob, its got the same heart u want
Old 10th August 2005, 00:12   #23

if i were you..
i'd buy the 1.8T rider and blow 70 k's on wheels..
and a lakh on boosting power .. no visual mods not audio mods no nothing ...
just nice rims and loads of muscle ..
Old 11th August 2005, 03:02   #24

Originally Posted by turbo_lover
if i were you..
i'd buy the 1.8T rider and blow 70 k's on wheels..
and a lakh on boosting power .. no visual mods not audio mods no nothing ...
just nice rims and loads of muscle ..
Perfect recipe to spank the RS.

X
Old 11th August 2005, 16:31   #25

If i were to have to make this decision, it would rest on two questions -

1. Do the Rider & the vRS have the same suspension setup?
2. Do the Rider & the vRS have the same braking system?

Sadly i havent managed to get verified answers on this from a trustworthy source as yet.

cya
R
Old 11th August 2005, 17:48   #26

Rehaan,

1. The RS has exactly the same suspension as the rider.
2. I do remember reading somewhere that it has bigger discs? Not sure about that...but it does have ABS!

Old 11th August 2005, 19:55   #27

The Vrs susspension is different from the Normal 1.9tdi ..
its a bit stiffer .....

The front disc brakes are the same as the normal tdi
whereas the the Vrs has discs on the rear and the tdi does not

now i would come to think the rider and the Vrs will have the same brakes and the same suspension ....

only difference will be the gizmo's

but the gizmo's are quite helpful ..... like the rain senstive wipers and the xenons ....

after market xenons are no match for the OEM ones ...

they cost 44,000 for a single headlight + 11,000 for a single xenon bulb

so that is almost a lac for the headlights alone ...

if you like the bells and whistles .... the Vrs is a steal when compared to the Rider .....