Old 9th December 2009, 16:10   #1

PLEASE HELP - Deciding entry level sedan for parents

I need some help in deciding an entry level sedan for parents. They are upgrading from a 2006 Santro Xing to a sedan and are looking for a sedan which has :
1. decent mileage
2. low maintenance
3. decent space and luggage space
4. price range within 5-5.5 lacs

I am bending towards the new Accent Executive offer which is 4.99 lacs for a petrol version.
My dad favors Ford Ikon 1.4 Diesel

Any other cars that fit this category. We would prefer new car rather than an old one.

Any advice for/against Accent? I know Accent is dated, but still prefer its looks as compared to an Ikon. I dont know if I have other choices available.

I would not like to raise our budgent to over 6 lacs.

Also, I need to sell our Santro xing ASAP, so looking for advice. Its a Nov 2006 XL Euro 3 model, with 21000 kms on board, interior and exterior in excellent condition. CArwale gives around 2.5 lacs valuation.
Where should i sell it to make te process fast.

The car is a single owner Chandigarh registered one.

-Ashwin.
Old 9th December 2009, 16:16   #2

TATA Indigo Manza sir, Tata Indigo Manza.
Your parents will love the Backseat (its even better than Corolla actually ). Fits all your requirements to the T.

Don't even bother considering outdated Accent/iKon etc.
If not Manza consider DZire DDiS.
Old 9th December 2009, 16:22   #3

Of all the choice that you may have for an entry level sedan, I would also recommend the Accent Executive over Ikon, Dezire, Indigo, Indigo Manza, Logan which fit in your budget. Accent is well built, has a rich interior and has a backing of easy access to service centers like a Maruti.

Unless your parents are insisting on Diesel, I would suggest not looking beyond. But if diesel is something that your parent insist, then the options would be Ikon or Dezire. The only issue with Ikon 1.4 Diesel is the noise level and Dezire is a little more rich in its interiors.

Good luck in your desicion making.

Old 9th December 2009, 16:30   #4

As DCEite told just go for TATA MANZA and it is VFM car also. There are 3-4 therads where people were confused like you. Just have a look at it.All the best. Just go through this thread. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans...sel-sedan.html.

Last edited by shishir_bn : 9th December 2009 at 16:33.
Old 9th December 2009, 16:33   #5

Accent, though dated, would be a good choice considering that it has a good build, and Hyundai service backing.
However, since you say that it is for your parents, please also be informed that it has low rear seats, and they may find it tough getting in/out.
Old 9th December 2009, 16:40   #6

1) Swift Dzire ( decent was the word you used so putting this car up ).
2) Indigo Manza.

Rear seat space = Manza. TD both and then decide. Manza has interior space that can rival Rs. 10-11 lakh sedans.

Accent and Ikon are too old.
Old 9th December 2009, 16:41   #7

1) Manza
2) Manza
3) Manza
Old 9th December 2009, 19:47   #8

Moderator's Note: Please continue in one of the existing threads. Some of them are mentioned at the bottom of this page. Thanks