Old 14th January 2010, 14:20   #16

With your price constraints, I can think of the following options:

1. Fiesta:
Positives:
Lots of discounts are available if you bargain hard.
It is a great driver's car; meaning you will love the way it handles.
Safety features like ABS and airbags present
Good fit and finish

Negatives:
A little less space at the rear.
Need to verify spare parts prices if these have really come down recently.
Diesel option may be out of budget
Doesnt have features like ACC and stereo controls on steering wheel

2. Manza
Positives:
Best VFM in class.
Lots of space, can seat 5 people in comfort
Diesel option in budget

Negatives:
Suspect quality - time will tell
Not a lot of fun to drive
Tata A** can get very frustrating to deal with

3. SX4 ZXi
Positives:
Discounts may get this within 8 lakhs (depending on road tax etc)
Spacious though the rear middle seat is still a pain for long journeys
Decent rear space
Nice stance and good for weekend getaways etc
Decent Maruti A** and MASS network
Relatively cheap Maruti spares
Good features like stereo controls on steering wheel, ACC, Ipod/USB connectivity etc

Negatives:
Rear center seat may be uncomfortable
Looks (some people dont like it)
Fuel economy - no diesel option available
Fit and finish (specially the plastics) could have been better
Old 14th January 2010, 19:20   #17

With your requirements and budget constraints, my recommendations as below:

1. Dzire ZDi: Great on features, Fantastic engine and performance, decent rear seat comfort, fantastic A**, fun to drive. I think Dzire is better looking than the Manza especially Zdi with wider tyres.
2. Indigo Manza: If space is a key criterion, I guess this is the best choice. I am not sure on the quality levels and personally the looks are a let down for me
3. Ford Fiesta: Good performance and looks. However low on rear seat space
Old 14th January 2010, 21:17   #18

Best vehicle to go for is indigo manza
Old 15th January 2010, 11:14   #19

The Indigo Manza Q'Jet fits your requirement to a T.

I own a Swift Petrol and been using my in-law's Manza Aura (non ABS/Air Bags) for a wk and I'm impressed with the space (huge), engine, gear box, fuel efficiency (17 KM per liter of Diesel), ride comfort (soaks up just everything), looks (proportionate), uniqueness (on road atleast now), music system with blue tooth and at a 6.5L is a true VFM car.

I have always suspected TATA's engine+tranny, but since this one is a FIAT it passess with flying colors. The usual suspects - poor plastic, fit and finish all negated due to the low cost.
Old 15th January 2010, 11:50   #20

Since your monthly usage is high, its better that you opt for a diesel sedan.

My choice would the the Swift Dzire ZDi. As the Fiesta with ABS and Airbags cross your budget of 8 lac.
Old 15th January 2010, 12:00   #21

Thanks a lot for all the replies guys. As I have mentioned earlier, I have set up a TD of Manza on Monday and based on the advice from you will also be TD'ing Fiesta as well as SX4 (though I will have to stretch my budget for these ones) before I decide. As for D'zire - have ruled out because of its looks.
Old 15th January 2010, 13:38   #22

With another 1-1.5L you can get a Honda City. Supreme confort, ergonomics are fantastic, great with female drivers, plenty of space at back, safety options available, Honda reliability. Think over it. Its expensive for sure, but its worth.
Old 18th January 2010, 19:14   #23

Linea is cheaper than the SX4 (in petrol) and superb looking VFM with size of a D segmenter. Why SX4 since diesel option is not there?
Old 18th January 2010, 20:45   #24

Originally Posted by chennai-indian View Post
Thanks a lot for all the replies guys. As I have mentioned earlier, I have set up a TD of Manza on Monday and based on the advice from you will also be TD'ing Fiesta as well as SX4 (though I will have to stretch my budget for these ones) before I decide. As for D'zire - have ruled out because of its looks.
Thats great news, will wait for your views of the car.