Old 22nd February 2010, 19:08   #16

^^ Yeah man. Oodles of snob once you turn on the SBK and whip it. Guaranteed looks, aaahs and hopes and wishes. Either that or a Lambo.
Old 22nd February 2010, 19:16   #17

Altis G will cost you about 14 on road. J would come about 11.5. But you should look at the G trim. Its worth it and fits your requirements perfectly!
Old 22nd February 2010, 19:31   #18

If you want only NEW, are not yet biased against the Skoda - the Octavia fits the bill quite well.
Looks good, is Safe, is Diesel, has Snob Value and fits the budget too.

Add a Pete's box to the diesel and it'll whip out great performance as well.

The used market at 12 L -
you have a plethora of options, but somehow I feel you dont want a used car for the money you are willing to spend.

Last edited by jigbarai : 22nd February 2010 at 19:33.
Old 22nd February 2010, 19:59   #19

IMO buddy forget the word 'snob'. Its an overrated word anyways which makes people take wrong decisions mostly. Turn that word to 'Utility'.
Now if we considere utility and your criterias the only car would be 'Cruze'.
I don't know if you had driven it yet or not but drive it once and you will be a lover for sure!
Moreover its a diesel, gives a 10+ FE for sure, Chevy has a maintainance plan so piece of mind for A.S.S.
yes the budget is extended by 1,1.5 lac however it is worth it trust me!
Old 22nd February 2010, 20:21   #20

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
IMO buddy forget the word 'snob'. Its an overrated word anyways which makes people take wrong decisions mostly. Turn that word to 'Utility'.
Now if we considere utility and your criterias the only car would be 'Cruze'.
I don't know if you had driven it yet or not but drive it once and you will be a lover for sure!
Moreover its a diesel, gives a 10+ FE for sure, Chevy has a maintainance plan so piece of mind for A.S.S.
yes the budget is extended by 1,1.5 lac however it is worth it trust me!

+1 to that. In spite of what Harry suggests, I would still say Toyota would server for a much longer period. Though Cruze is no less anyway. Try both of them and choose.
Old 22nd February 2010, 20:35   #21

Since when is the Altis a car with snob value? Snob value is in the brand and Toyota just doesn't cut it.

At the budget the OP has, the Civic is probably the best option. Stretching for the Laura/Jetta is a good idea if the finances permit.
Old 22nd February 2010, 20:52   #22

Snob Value??

Snob value with Toyota, Honda, Skoda and VW? LOL! Oh brother that's rich! Since when did these workhorse brands become snobby that too in 10-12L range?

Simple fact folks, if you want just a little bit of snob go to D segment the Rs 20-25 lakh bracket and that's where the Honda Accord and Skoda Superb come into their own.

Old 22nd February 2010, 21:04   #23

Snob Value is what you and your budget is !

Many people here say since when is Toyota or VW a snob brand. I agree with them BUT then for the mega rich a BMW or a Merc is also not snob.

For me - Upgrading from a Verna to a Civic or a Altis will be my Snob Upgrade

I'd recommend the following cars with the criteria of you doing 100000 km's in 4 years and keeping the image of the car in mind -

Toyota Altis
Honda Civic

Both the above are good sedans BUT with your running of over 2000 kms a month I'd say go for a diesel as you can save over 4000 rs in Fuel Bills every month ( Do not ask how, I drive both segments and that is what you more or less save - 2 rs a km )

Go for the below Diesels ( In no order of importance / Segment )

Toyota Innova V model
Chevrolet Cruze - Fantastic Looker and brilliant to drive !

2nd Hand Options - Now that's a wide area where you can get almost anything from an Accord to a Laura to even a C Merc !

If I were you I'd go for an Altis ( Petrol ) or a Cruze / Innova ( Diesel ) and be satisfied for the next 4 years.

Last edited by vkochar : 22nd February 2010 at 21:05.
Old 22nd February 2010, 21:55   #24

Originally Posted by SoulGarage View Post
1. Great Looks (elegant?)
2. Great Performance
3. Safety

a. Fuel Costs (diesel?)
b. Total Cost of Ownership
I strongly feel you should give the ANHC a serious consideration before final selection. The car does look stunning and scores high on all the parametres, you mentioned.

See all its sides from a distance, even its top. The bonnet-aligned windshield and the slant of the rear-windows add to the form-factor. I never tire myself looking at it.

Originally Posted by SoulGarage View Post
But damn the socialist in me! And I do agree with a lot of people in here, that Honda is skimming Indian market big time!
A lot was spent on RnD for the ANHC.

There are several cost-intensive features built in the car, like customising iVTEC for the ANHC.
I believe even the clutch and throtte use fly-by-wire technologies.

Just my thoughts.

Last edited by Saptadeep : 22nd February 2010 at 22:07.
Old 22nd February 2010, 22:17   #25

If you want a new car - no snob value in used cars except if u looooove seeing the 3-pointed star on your bonnet when driving.

New Cars
Civic for the style
Cruze for sheer rarity (few on roads) and cheap fuel

Used Cars
A Merc. Nothing else will do.
Old 22nd February 2010, 22:59   #26

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
+1 to that. In spite of what Harry suggests, I would still say Toyota would server for a much longer period. Though Cruze is no less anyway. Try both of them and choose.
I never said Toyota is a bad car. however his requirements imo met cruze the best.
I love civic however ANHC and civic are overpriced for me and if i am spending so much dough i want a very damn good deal.
Old 22nd February 2010, 23:49   #27

Originally Posted by Saptadeep View Post
I believe even the clutch and throtte use fly-by-wire technologies.

Just my thoughts.
Uhm... Did you just row into the harbor from Guatemala? Most cars use fly-by-wire tech now. Palio (Diesel) was the first one which came with this.

Apologies to people who actually live in Guatemala.
Old 23rd February 2010, 05:54   #28

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
I never said Toyota is a bad car. however his requirements imo met cruze the best.
I love civic however ANHC and civic are overpriced for me and if i am spending so much dough i want a very damn good deal.
I never meant that as well ! . Some how in this whole discussing we should keep the snob part of it outside. Every one is here to drive a good car, which is VFM for him/her. You also said it rightly ANHC/Civic are real over priced. In fact for a Bangalore kind of roads/speed breakers, I would not prefer them. Too low a seating. From that point of view Cruze/Altis are the ideal choice.
Old 23rd February 2010, 14:22   #29

Just test drive all the cars you are considering or you get suggested with in 10 lac bracket and then test drive a cedia. You will get the answer!
After sales here in Delhi is excellent. Talk to some one in Mumbai about the services!

Originally Posted by akshaymahajan View Post
And seriously with almost every third car on the road being 10lakh+ i doubt there is any snob value in this price bracket.
I would seriously agree to this fact. There no snob value in 10 lac car segment, atleast not in metropolitan cities. just buy a car that caters to all your requirements.

Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
^^ Yeah man. Oodles of snob once you turn on the SBK and whip it. Guaranteed looks, aaahs and hopes and wishes. Either that or a Lambo.
Old 23rd February 2010, 20:39   #30

A used Merc will get you the "snob value" you desire; however, it will also give you a whole lot of headaches. Especially, the 2001 - 2005 cars which are easily available in 12 lakhs. Want a really good Merc? Get the W124. Of course, the examples you find will be 13 years old and require sprucing. But once you refurbish her, she will run forever.

A sensible (and more practical) used option : An Accord. Look up Akshay1234's thread where he bought a near brand new Accord V6 for 10.xx lakhs (run some 7,000 - 8,000 kms only). That car is quick out of the box, super reliable, spacious and will serve you well.

New : Highly recommend the Civic. The Honda is very satisfying to drive and to own. The facelift version has a tighter rear suspension and, with that revv happy engine + quick steering + slick gearshift, will deliver a driving experience that the Altis or Cruze simply cannot match.