Old 22nd February 2010, 15:57   #1

Turning the 'Snob' Button On: 10-12lakhs?

It's been a long time, me watching from sidelines all the inputs and outputs of BHPians! So here I am, throwing in my bit, considering its time for me to buy a new car.

Cometh the Time, cometh the car.

Getting down to the business.

Looks matter to me now. As functional as i want to be (Manza/Vista), its time for me to turn on the snob button in me.

So what am I looking for?

1. Great Looks (elegant?)
2. Great Performance
3. Safety

I have not reached, yet, the levels of Audi/Jaguar et al. So within 12 Lakhs INR what can turn on the Snobbery?

Details that matter to me secondary to the above three criteria:

a. Fuel Costs (diesel?)
b. Total Cost of Ownership

Let me get my biases out in the opinion, but let not them stop you from giving your inputs, please.

I LOVE the Honda line. They are so beautiful to look at.

But damn the socialist in me! And I do agree with a lot of people in here, that Honda is skimming Indian market big time! And they don't have Diesel!

I am open to SUVs too!!!!!!!

For a guy coming from humble beginnings, Snobbery was a vice; but as Dylan puts it: times, they are a-changing.

I have prowled almost all of the forum looking for some satisfactory answer for me, but *sigh*.

So Help

The current car I have is Indica Xeta GLS, a great drive, for lack of any other experience.

I love driving, 1Lakh plus on my tripmeter over 4 years is testimony.

So key words- Plush, luxurious, yet economical (blame my guilt of turning a capitalist!)

I can stretch my budget to double, but don't want to, for many reasons that I can't share here!

Waiting for the BHP universe to conspire and give me an Omen!

Richard
Old 22nd February 2010, 16:34   #2

In your case, the Altis fits the bill. I think the J version or maybe the G variant.

Toyota reliability + decent features + good engine + snob value.

I would have suggested the Civic as it is way better to drive, but you have already ruled it out.

Cedia is ruled out because of the "snob button".
Old 22nd February 2010, 16:45   #3

hmm since you mention snob value you can get some very good used cars in that bracket. you can get used honda accords, or skoda lauras or even the older skoda superbs in that price.

of course if its a new car then the civic or the altis it is.
Old 22nd February 2010, 16:46   #4

Best of luck.

In 12 lac Budget , you may cosider many SUV,MUV,Cars. Most of them fall on this catagory.

SUV :-
-------------------------------------
1) Safari
2) Scorpio
3) Sumo Grande (May consider as MUV)

MUV:-
------------------------------------
1) ARIA (if you want to wait for a couple of months )
2) Innova
3) Xylo

Cars:-
1) Civic
2) ANHC
3) SX4
4) Verna
5) Linea
6) Manza

Hatch Back
1) Jaaz
2) i20 1.4 Auto with 6 Airbags,ABS,Sunroof (A great buy)
3) Punto (if you want to wait for 1.6 )
4) VW Polo (if you want to wait for couple of months)
5) Skoda Fabia (Buy at your risk, A*S*S will not take any responsible for this car . Otherwise a great car with great build quality.)

In that budget your list is very very long my friend.
Take test ride,compare your requirment,research the A*S*S review then put your hard earned money on a perticular product.

Best of luck.
Old 22nd February 2010, 17:06   #5

Get a used Merc. Simple.
Old 22nd February 2010, 17:20   #6

Originally Posted by SoulGarage View Post
its time for me to turn on the snob button in me.

So what am I looking for?

1. Great Looks (elegant?)
2. Great Performance
3. Safety

I have not reached, yet, the levels of Audi/Jaguar et al. So within 12 Lakhs INR what can turn on the Snobbery?

And I do agree with a lot of people in here, that Honda is skimming Indian market big time!

For a guy coming from humble beginnings, Snobbery was a vice; but as Dylan puts it: times, they are a-changing.
Frankly, I see the Civic as the best option, satisfying most of the criteria.

Snob value - does have some value ie does not come free - and this is the extra that Honda is charging I guess

Pay that extra bit and bring her home.

OR

Raise the budget a bit and consider a VW Jetta TDi. The diesel advantage could potentially negate the higher price given the amount you drive. But then regular maintenance is an unknown factor. The general perception is that the Japs are cheaper to maintain.

Last edited by shuvc : 22nd February 2010 at 17:22.
Old 22nd February 2010, 17:43   #7

My vote goes out for the Toyota Altis G Trim.
Its got everything you've mentioned above, and a lot more. Especially since you're coming on above from the Tata low (read cheap) maintenance ownership pattern, and there is pretty much nothing that comes close to the low rate of breakdowns, maintenance & upkeep costs than the Toyota clan.

manson.
Old 22nd February 2010, 18:04   #8

Used car - Accord/Merc/BMW

New car - Corolla or stretch your budget and get the Cruz(real VFM and meets your requirements very very well)
Old 22nd February 2010, 18:05   #9

10-12 cars -
Toyota Altis
Linea
Verna
ANHC
Optra Magnum
Octavia TPI
Octavia TDI
(Laura TSI is 12 + and the Civic and Cruze are 13+ )

10-12 SUV -
Tata Safari
Scorpio
Yeti (you have to wait).

Since looks and performance matter most to you and cost of ownership ranks way down.....go for the Laura TSI or Octy TPI, keep it for 4 years and after that, when you are grey and older (and the maintenance costs tend to sink in !), sell it and buy a Toyota.
Old 22nd February 2010, 18:09   #10

Cruze doesnt have snob value to be honest. The Chevy badge isnt as prized as Toyota/Honda and the Germans.

How about a used Laura? (the previous generation one).
Old 22nd February 2010, 18:13   #11

When you say : Cost of Ownership. I'd say The Altis.
When you say: Pure snob value. The Civic.
Honestly, if I were you and had that amount with me,
I'd buy a used Cedia for around 5.5 L and buy
an SBK with the rest as down payment.
But then thats me.
Old 22nd February 2010, 18:19   #12

if you are open to the used car market then why not the BMW and merc??
Old 22nd February 2010, 18:24   #13

IMHO a second hand car does not have that much of a snob value. However branded it might be. A new car is a new car.
Old 22nd February 2010, 18:38   #14

Altis is the way to go. And seriously with almost every third car on the road being 10lakh+ i doubt there is any snob value in this price bracket.
Old 22nd February 2010, 18:59   #15

I find it very hard to believe nobody's suggested the Cruze yet. Sure, its a small tiny little stretch...but god that car looks awesome!

Edit: Seen a lot of suggestions towards the Cruze. But seriously, I liked Prince Pervez's suggestion

Last edited by Red Liner : 22nd February 2010 at 19:00.