Old 12th November 2005, 01:11   #1

Best used car within 8 lakhs ... wish to modify

BHPians my friend wants to buy a car within 8 lakhs ! He duznt mind going in for a old import like a 3000gt or a old generation celica or any other 2nd hand indian car like a mondeo or a vectra or summin else . And he even wants to soupe up the car ! so could you guys please help me with this and give me information about any such cars being sold any where in india .

P.s - Thanx MPower and Heavy_foot !

Last edited by varun_patra : 12th November 2005 at 01:16.
Old 12th November 2005, 02:04   #2

I wouldnt go in for an imported used car, rather go in for a used mondeo or accord which will be available in the 8lac bracket.
Old 12th November 2005, 12:20   #3

Mondeos are easily available for 6.50, so U have enough cash left to soupe it up.
Even I wountdnt recommend a imported one , unless It is in a amazing condition at a good price.
Old 12th November 2005, 15:51   #4

Stay away from mondeo as old batched had severe quality issues. You could go in for a used accord, Skoda etc.,
Old 12th November 2005, 16:41   #5

jus like tsk 1979 said! used Accord & Skoda make a great choice, also the old Sonata! around 8Lk, he might get his hands on a secondhand Optra 1.8 fully loaded.(which costs around 9ish onroad i think) Another option would be to search around for a Corolla... now thats a meek chance as ther arnt many Corollas for sale ...
Old 12th November 2005, 17:28   #6

Used Sonata Gold would come with 8 Lacs for sure
A Skoda TDI would also come in that range
Old 12th November 2005, 17:56   #7
Awaiting Email Confirmation

try the skoda its your best bet! rest imported vehicles 3000GT? Ive owned one not worth the effort plus if still you want one we could source it theres a black 3000gt 96 bi turbo going for about 14 lakhs....I'd still go with everyone elses thought!
Old 12th November 2005, 20:10   #8

I would suggest u get a Lancer or an OHC, and work it up with the left over cash.
Old 13th November 2005, 03:23   #9

Originally Posted by Insane Devil
jus like tsk 1979 said! used Accord & Skoda make a great choice, also the old Sonata! around 8Lk, he might get his hands on a secondhand Optra 1.8 fully loaded.(which costs around 9ish onroad i think)
But Opra isn't a car meant to be souped up. I guess if the person searched hard enough, he may even get his hands on a used Octavia RS. Otherwise a used Accord would be very good too...provided that you can get a decent one in the budget.
Old 13th November 2005, 06:28   #10

Originally Posted by karthik247
I would suggest u get a Lancer or an OHC, and work it up with the left over cash.

Ask your friend to get an old lancer and change the engine to the MIVEC and modify the car's interior and exterior.

will be in the budget and will beat the hell outa other cars easily.
Old 13th November 2005, 10:19   #11

if the thread Title was modified it would be gr8.
so confusing.
i thought you wanted a new acr for 8 lac
Old 13th November 2005, 13:14   #12

I would go in for a used Accord. Havent really heard of many modded Mondeos. A Mondeo is a great drivers car but the spare parts costs will kill you. Accords are more easy on the pocket and would be easy to mod as well

Last edited by Dippy : 13th November 2005 at 13:15.
Old 13th November 2005, 14:51   #13

Instead of spending 8 lakhs for a used car + couple of lakhs on mods, just get a used Skoda RS or Turbo Petrol.

Then you can have it reprogrammed to 200 hp + freeflow+ air filters etc.
Old 13th November 2005, 23:19   #14

Option 1: Lancer for 2 lakhs + imported Evo kit for close to 6 lakhs (??).

Option 2: Baleno for 3 lakhs + anything Suzuki can throw up!!!

Both will be rockets. Baleno option easier to maintain.
Old 14th November 2005, 01:54   #15

Originally Posted by v1p3r
Option 1: Lancer for 2 lakhs + imported Evo kit for close to 6 lakhs (??).

Option 2: Baleno for 3 lakhs + anything Suzuki can throw up!!!

Both will be rockets. Baleno option easier to maintain.

what about an esteem with a baleno engine..a good body kit..with the works...it will be wll under 8 lakhs and will be fast.

rev