Old 20th November 2005, 10:38   #1

used car within 3.5lakhs

hi everyone,recently there came an issue to buy an old car or a new one.as in one or two years i might be going abroad.and there would not be much travelling for my parents.so they thought it a dead investment to buy a new one.so they r looking for a used sedan as our family is a bit on longer side.so we r looking for cars like ikon,lancersetc.so guys do help me which car to buy with in the specified budget and which has a good service backup and the availability of spares,maintainence and also good mileage.so let me know please.
Old 20th November 2005, 10:59   #2

Look for a good lancer or ohc or accent = take your time and buy from a genuine owner
Old 20th November 2005, 11:10   #3

ajmat bhai wht do u think should the main points to checks when looking for a car.so do u think can i get a good maintained lancer in my budget.

Last edited by sankeerthreddy : 20th November 2005 at 11:11.
Old 20th November 2005, 12:52   #4
cnu

I doubt if a used Lancer or Ford will be good on the pocket. OHC will definitely be.

Checkout the thread http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2625
Old 20th November 2005, 12:59   #5

Check out a pre 2001 lancer. they should be easy on the poscket as it doesn't break down easily.
Other option is a 2000 city, an Ikon. Accent, siena would be too small as would be the corsa and esteem.
Old 20th November 2005, 16:02   #6

My piece of advice.. NEVER go to a used car dealer: save yourself a lot of grief, unless you know him REALLY well. You can't even begin to think of the ways they'll rip you off.
Old 20th November 2005, 16:31   #7

i feel an esteem would be best suited for you . the spares are easily available, not very exp , millage is good , a/c is also not bad , over all ride quality is good ,maintainence is not much , oil change , filter ,allignment thats it i guess and with the kind of budget you have , a nice late 2003 model with all the Jazz should be easily available .

However even i am malludude on the dealer bit . take ur time ask friends or neighbours , and then get ur car .

Well good kuck !!
Old 20th November 2005, 17:44   #8

You'd be able to get decent Accents and Balenos in that price. Those are the two i would have. Secondly, try to avoid the manufacturer's "true-value" offers. If you have the patience you'll find a better deal from an individual. Having said that, the true value cars are a lot better than the ones from the roadside dealers which should be avoided at all costs.
Old 20th November 2005, 19:13   #9

The OHC is a good buy . Look around for a 2-3 year old pre owned example. Should come to you at a good price plus look around for owner driven cars only and buy from the owner himself not from used car dealers. They might take you for a ride
Old 21st November 2005, 19:29   #10

dippy sir but what would be the mileage honda city delivers,and whih of these cars delivers better mileage like accent,lancer and ikon.and also in city we do have a different variants so which variants do u think will come in my price bracket.
Old 21st November 2005, 19:36   #11

You can get a Old Honda City 1.3 DX for around 1.5 - 2 lacs ( my neighbour got the same for 1 lac with that stupid greenish colour 2001 model - though very good condition ). A 1.5 Exi should come in the 2-3 lac price bracket. And Frankly, do look forward to the 1.5 litre version rather than the 1.3.

Last edited by Stratos : 21st November 2005 at 19:54.
Old 21st November 2005, 23:19   #12

hi reddy
check out the dc there are a few ikon 1.8 two to three of them doctor driven go for 1.8d its the best choice
else go for a lancer sfxi 2000 to 2002 model its the best one in petrol if u dont mind this would end up nearly to 3.5 l khs budget
there is also an ikon with aadix partner its a good piece if u are serious ikon is a good buy.though tthe model has stopped it wont be any problem at all
give a pm if you serious about ikon
but i dont suggest u to go for a petrol ikon(1.6)
there is black flair too (1 black one josh limited is there with my class mate interested tell me)
finally summing up what i want to say

petrol vehicle___ ikon1.3 flair 2004;2005 lancer(1999 to 2002 model)lancer is very cheap to maintain
advise u to put a gas kit onto it

diesel === go for indica first hand fits into the range u specified
else ford ikon 1.8 check out the ads in dc
else none in diesel
Old 21st November 2005, 23:22   #13

hey stratos in hyderabad honda city is pretty costly
in the second hand market god should only know why\??
mumbai is heaven for second hand cars
Old 22nd November 2005, 01:55   #14

OHC & lancer are the best cars to buy in used car between 3-6 lacs.

while both return similar FE figures city is more powerful but lancer handles much better and looks better too.

decide your priorities and u will be satisfied with your buy.

a bit light on the pocket would be

maruti baleno
maruti esteem( superb FE and performance but bad comfort levels)
opel corsa( good comfort and ride but small and cramped)

I would personally avoid

1. Hyundai accents coz I have seen used accents in real bad shape unless you are lucky to get a good car.
2. ford ikon is an excellent and good car but with the 1.6 there is a chance for the car to have been used a bit on the harder side.

I would suggest a mitsubishi lancer as I own one and am satisfied with the car.
Old 22nd November 2005, 17:16   #15

hi reddy i am sorry i donno any lancer owners but there is one at mahavir
its a good place to buy second hand from .
but i think its glxd not sure so check it out.