Team-BHP > What Car? > Sedans
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 29th August 2010, 11:20   #1
Senior - BHPian

Advice reqd - Is it time to change my car?

I am currently using a Honda City ZX CVT (45000 kms) which is now four and a half years old. As a professional, I am entitled to claim depreciation.
After reading GTO's Vento review I am now tempted.
Would it now make sense to sell this car and go in for a VW Vento A/T (which I understand will have an on road tag of 10.45 lacs here)? I am guessing that my present car will fetch me between 4 and 5 lacs if sold now. Intend going in for a vehicle loan for the balance. Alternatively would it be more prudent (in financial terms as well) to use the City for another 3 years and then think of changing it?
My requirements as far as a car is concerned is – comfort/space, safety, reliability – not too fastidious about getting an extra km or two per litre of petrol.

Please do let me have your opinion.

*The heading should read 'change' instead of cange.

Last edited by wilful : 29th August 2010 at 11:24.
Old 29th August 2010, 15:55   #2
BHPian

why not city again?it is totally differant and much better car than NHC.aftar all honda is honda!
Old 29th August 2010, 18:37   #3
Senior - BHPian

Procircuit -- you have a point. The main reason I was thinking of VW and not Honda was because this is my second Honda (the first one being a 1.3 DX). I thought of giving German engineering a look. Also I understand that the ANHC A/T is at least 50 K more expensive.
But after having read a few threads/replies on Skoda and service probs I am shaken.
Also I am beginning to think that the cost of ownership will be substantially more.
Old 29th August 2010, 19:04   #4
Distinguished - BHPian

If the car is running fine, and you are happy with it, why not keep it for a few more years, and then upgrade by another segment?