Old 14th December 2005, 17:54   #46

Originally Posted by finneyp
NHC no doubt a superb car, but I feel even Optra is a great car! I suggest you test drive these 3 cars - NHC, Optra and Fiesta and then take the final call. Choose between Optra & NHC! Good luck!
Just in the process of booking the Fiesta 1.6 sxi (ABS/EBD option) after a test drive. IMHO, the best VFM in this price range. Only minus I could see is if the driver is tall then the passenger in the rear right seat suffers (in case front seat is pushed back). On road prices in Delhi (with addl 2 year unlimited mileage warranty of 9.2k and mats & mud flaps 1.9k) 7.88k and in Haryana 7.66k (with same).

I just cannot understand what the raves about the NHC are apart from its mileage and that Honda name. The base Optra 1.6 does not offer ABS/EBD options

Old 15th December 2005, 00:40   #47

Elantra petrol at the new price beats all the deals you see around.

NHC is just plain expensive.

Other than Elantra the optra 1.8/1,6 both are good cars.
Old 15th December 2005, 16:12   #48

Originally Posted by devarshi84
Elantra petrol at the new price beats all the deals you see around.

NHC is just plain expensive.

Other than Elantra the optra 1.8/1,6 both are good cars.
Hmm.

How about optras as well as the elantras resale value and the mileage.?
Old 15th December 2005, 17:42   #49

Our car gives approx 9.5 in the city rush hour driving, with A/c. Not too good, but not too bad either, and the Optra makes up for it in size and feel. City/Fiesta are damn small looking. No road presence.
Old 16th December 2005, 01:56   #50

optra resale value will be more.

Elantra resale value will be less

but buy the car not based on the discounts or resale but on the basis of what suits you.

My vote still goes for the elantra. Its just a tad more expensive than the baleno with discounts.

Forget NHC as honda is just robbing money.
Old 16th December 2005, 10:58   #51

Forget NHC as honda is just robbing money. Devarshi, can you please justify your statement?
Old 16th December 2005, 11:02   #52

Devarshi, can you pls justify your statement?
Old 16th December 2005, 12:53   #53

How much does base petrol Elantra cost on road?
Old 16th December 2005, 12:59   #54

About 8-8.5 Lakhs all inclusive(After discounts of course)
Old 16th December 2005, 13:20   #55

Originally Posted by tsk1979
About 8-8.5 Lakhs all inclusive(After discounts of course)
Huh???? Didnt someone from B'lore say 6.88 ex-showroom and 7.8 OTR after discounts? It must be cheaper in Bombay, too.

Will someone please clarify on the price bit?
Old 16th December 2005, 14:40   #56

Yes it was me. If you add road tax/insurance it comes to 8 lakhs approx (BLR) and 8.5 if your RTOs like heavy taxes, aka mumbai. Ex showroom price is 6.88 lakhs, but I guess you will insure for the market value(8.5L) and also register it for the same. Dealer discount is separate.

Last edited by tsk1979 : 16th December 2005 at 14:44.
Old 17th December 2005, 05:29   #57

Originally Posted by finneyp
Devarshi, can you pls justify your statement?

justification:-

city vtec costs 8.5 odd lacs ex showroom mumbai(www.hondacarindia.com)

check out the prices of

Optra 1.6 NY Grey Interior BS3 Rs. 8,00,120
Optra 1.6 NY Beige Interior BS3 Rs. 8,05,324
Optra 1.6 LS NY BS2 Rs. 8,67,189
Optra 1.6 LS NY BS3 Rs. 8,73,813
Optra 1.8 LS NY BS2 Rs. 9,37,752
Optra 1.6 LT Royale - BS3 Rs. 9,39,933
Optra 1.8 LS NY BS3 Rs. 9,44,021

fiat petra 1.6 costs around 5lacs
hyundai elantra petrol costs around 7lacs
hyundai accent costs around 5.5 and above
maruti baleno costs around 5.5 and above
mitsubishi lancer costs 6.0 and above and
toyota corolla costs 9 and above

tsk1979 : Can you please confirm the final on-road price after all additions,subtractions and discoutns?

Last edited by devarshi84 : 17th December 2005 at 05:35.
Old 19th December 2005, 14:40   #58

have you ever considered the fact that some people do not mind being "ROBBED" as long as they get

- Peace of mind
- Lower maintainence costs
- Better Build quality and reliability
- Latest technology
- More FE
- Better resale value
- Class-transcending interiors
- and the fact that they are buying a vehicle that the BEST in class, rather than a vehicle which has been beaten in its class by other superior models and is lowering price just to get rid of those stocks in the factory.
Old 19th December 2005, 18:28   #59

All the above NHC advantages you can get by paying Rs 1 lac less in fiesta
Old 19th December 2005, 18:56   #60

Originally Posted by kashd
All the above NHC advantages you can get by paying Rs 1 lac less in fiesta
Can you ? I doubt it.

Fiesta needs some time to prove itself on these counts. Lets give it a year.