Old 20th December 2005, 13:01   #76

Originally Posted by imjimmy
There are other cars there that offer better ASS, lesser maintenance cost and higher peace of mind than the NHC.
Agreed that cars from Maruti and Hyundai stable both provide unmatchable ASS and low maintenance, but they suffer from lower FE and lower class interiors, besides being loaded with outdated technology.
Old 20th December 2005, 13:12   #77

From a technology perspective there is not much difference. Honda gives detuned versions of its car in india like all manufacturers. Maruti and Hyundai have started offering the latest techs in India. As for FE, there is not much difference. Honda is a great package overall, but its hard to find one major strength. honda is best in nothing but good in everything
1. Power - Its not the best, but good
2. FE - diesels are more frugal, but honda gives good FE
3. Ride - Not the best but acceptable
4, Handling, same as above.

this is what customers want, a car which meets expectations in all their parameters. It may be worse than competition in performance or ride or handling, but if you look at the total score its the best.
Old 20th December 2005, 13:20   #78

@imjimmy, I dont really trust ford. They are selling a 68bhp crdi engine at 6.99 lakh ex showroom in delhi. Why, because there is "no competion". Accent crdi is old now and the design gives a cramped feel inside. Nowdays everybody wants the "New style spacious cars" like honda/indigo etc., The other one i.e. Indigo is 2 levels below in interior quality and running on antiquated technology.

this leaves the fiesta to rule the roost. What happens when hyundai comes up with the 2006 with 6.99 lakh price tag. RIP fiesta. The current crdi lacks the most in interior space and build which new accent will solve. Add to the party an DICOR indigo with 5.5 price tag, a getz crdi with 5L tag and swift JTD with 5L and swift JTD sedan with 5.5-6 lac tag. you suddenly have competition. You know when fusion was launched, the dealers were not ready to part with even 10K discount. hyundai was making noises about increasing getz prices right after launch, Swift spoilt the party for getz and both of them sabotaged the fusion. Ford has the advantage of "no competion" so they have waiting lists.

Remember the escort. It sold just because of "no competition". Fiesta is much better, but all it will take is Maruti/Hyundai/Tata to spoil the party.
Old 20th December 2005, 13:37   #79

Originally Posted by suman
Mike, which version did you test, was it the base 1.4?
yup i tested the petrol base, i agree it is indeed a nice car but the feeling just does nt sink in, i hope u know wat i am talkin about. The sheer satisfaction of being in a nice roomy cabin comes definately from the NHC.
Old 20th December 2005, 13:45   #80

Originally Posted by tsk1979
this is what customers want, a car which meets expectations in all their parameters. It may be worse than competition in performance or ride or handling, but if you look at the total score its the best.

totally agree with you - very nicely put here.
Old 20th December 2005, 13:50   #81

Originally Posted by Sumed
Well Devarshi... Not sure what you have against Honda but some of the facts you have provided above may be questionable. For one, Baleno DOES NOT outsell City. City has been the best selling car in its segment since the day it was launched. Only in Oct-Nov this year the sale is down as they had stopped manufacturing the current version.
Also, personaly I would rate a manufacture very high on my list, if they stop the best selling car and come up with a newer, better and later version. Look at Honda or Toyota... they stopped best sellers like OHC (VTEC and non VTEC) and Qualis, to come up with better and improved cars. I was a Maruti fan once upon a time but now with them still running 800, zen and Alto together (three generations of Alto), and also changing the grill of Esteem and keeping it alive, I have given up on them. The only reason Baleno is still selling is because of its price. But what is the use of buying a good car, when you know the next year it will be still cheaper by a lakh.

Regarding FE, I am sure NHC gives better figure than Baleno and also with Honda, you can be sure that the company will not ditch you with lowering their price etc.

Cheers friend!

BANG ON!!!

Dude you ve said it...thats my concern i would not want to be ditched by companies like ford in just a years time when they drop their prices..Thats insane man..i guess the times are gone when people used to pay a premium on new cars. Ford is still i guess in the same mindset.You guys would not believe Toyota is giving a 1.5 lac rs discount on their discontinued version of the corolla,while honda did not do such a thing, i had asked them for a discount on their discontinued version but they had nuthin to offer.
Old 20th December 2005, 14:16   #82
cnu

Originally Posted by tsk1979
Honda is a great package overall, but its hard to find one major strength. honda is best in nothing but good in everything
1. Power - Its not the best, but good
2. FE - diesels are more frugal, but honda gives good FE
3. Ride - Not the best but acceptable
4, Handling, same as above.

Well said TSK. While power, ride and handling are not the best, Honda has the best interiors and comfort. Infact the ride and handling are made better in the ZX. Many people look for a package as a whole rather than a specific feature and thats why the NHC sells.
Old 20th December 2005, 15:14   #83

Originally Posted by cnu
Well said TSK. While power, ride and handling are not the best, Honda has the best interiors and comfort. Infact the ride and handling are made better in the ZX. Many people look for a package as a whole rather than a specific feature and thats why the NHC sells.
Ah! it seems i am getting convinced now for the NHC
Old 20th December 2005, 15:45   #84

Originally Posted by goldie_malhotra
Factors like ASS, maintenance costs, overall FE, build-quality & reliability (over a long term) & overall satisfaction & peace of mind etc.

We cannot pre-judge a new car on these factors. The car has to be out there on the roads for some amount of time - typically 6 months or a year, before we can make out how it figures on the above counts.

The manufacturers claims - however optimistic, do not hold true until car proves itself in the market.
Well, I'm not so sure how Honda offers better ASS, I've heard a lot of uncomplimentary things about them when a frined's 3 month old Accord developed a problem with the ICE; I can say for a fact that till the warranty was valid in my Ikon, I didn't have to worry about running to third party manufacturers for any defects in the car.

As far as satisfaction and peace of mind, again, I'd reserve my comments and just say that having the Honda badge on the car does not automatically guarantee this.

Agree that a new car cannot be pre-judged, its the same with the NHC ZX Vtec wouldn't you say - too early to comment?
Old 20th December 2005, 18:06   #85

City ZX owners. Do you know if the ground clearance has been increased from the 'City'? Thanks

Siva