Old 8th December 2005, 11:34   #1

Which car for 8 lakhs?

Hello to all the Bhpians out there!

This is obviously my first post and i am so excited to be a part of the Bhpian family.

I am also in the same dilemma as most of the forum members are.

WHICH FREAKIN CAR TO BUY!!

I am so confused cause my budget is such that i fall somewhere in between two segments. its about 8 lacs...So my choices being The city ZX (not the Vtec) cause its out of budget), The fiesta,The Fusion,The AScent..

Also i wanted to know from all you experienced people about the after sales service and the maintainence costs of the above mentioned cars.
The car i intend to drive is especially gonna be used for city driving as i do not travel that much.

KINDLY SUGGEST !

regards Mike
Old 8th December 2005, 14:11   #2

Welcome,mike.
These days , too many cars, too many confusions...ambiguity!
Old 8th December 2005, 14:21   #3

Originally Posted by nitrous
These days , too many cars, too many confusions...ambiguity!
:

But if you ask my personal opinion, i would go for Fiesta or City ZX. Fiesta would be a more fun to drive(1.6) whereas City will be good for CITY and the most reliable of the lot.

Last edited by DCEite : 8th December 2005 at 14:23.
Old 8th December 2005, 14:38   #4

Honda it is

Since you will do a lot of in-city runs your primary criteria will be a good fuel economy in the stop and go kind of traffic, good ASS and good brand value. Honda gets you all those and more.

Also, since you will run it within the city whenever you will decide to sell it off the chances are your car will be in a much better condition than one which has been run down to the ground with too many long runs and laborious duties. So you would also expect a decent resale value. Trust me, nothing holds its value as nicely as a Honda does
Old 8th December 2005, 14:40   #5

Ok. Lets break this down.
Your Criteria:
- City car, rarely used on highways
- I presume boot space is not a priority?
- Need decent low end torque for city use

Between the cars mentioned, I would say...
- If resale value is not a priority: Fusion
- If driving satisfaction is not a priority: City
- If an old design which is about to be replaced is not a priority: Accent

But, the best all-rounder here would be the Fiesta IMO. For city use, the 1.4 petrol should be ideal.
Old 8th December 2005, 14:50   #6

1. You can remove the Accent and the Fusion from your choices. The former is old and will soon be replaced, while the latter is a Hatch at Sedan prices.

2. There's some more confusion, apparently - the guys at Bangalore say the petrol Elantra is available for Rs.6.88 lakhs ex-showroom, which will fit nicely into your budget. Much bigger car too!

3. Then there's the Petrol Innova - I'm not sure of the pricing, but they should have a G version of that too...
Old 8th December 2005, 14:54   #7

My Choice...

Why not a Turbo CRDi Fiesta.

BUT wait for some drive report. If waiting is an issue; take a test drive from the dealer.
Should be a right fit to your budget.
Old 8th December 2005, 14:55   #8

Originally Posted by Steeroid
1. You can remove the Accent and the Fusion from your choices. The former is old and will soon be replaced, while the latter is a Hatch at Sedan prices.

2. There's some more confusion, apparently - the guys at Bangalore say the petrol Elantra is available for Rs.6.88 lakhs ex-showroom, which will fit nicely into your budget. Much bigger car too!

3. Then there's the Petrol Innova - I'm not sure of the pricing, but they should have a G version of that too...
Hey steeroid... would not Elantra or Innova be a little too big for clogged city traffic? I think Honda is much more nimble in that aspect.
Old 8th December 2005, 15:06   #9

Originally Posted by Zappo
Hey steeroid... would not Elantra or Innova be a little too big for clogged city traffic? I think Honda is much more nimble in that aspect.
I dunno dude. I'm quite okay with the Safari in city traffic I've heard the Innova can be a handful, but the Elantra is not a big car - its in the same league as your Corolla or Optra.
Old 8th December 2005, 15:08   #10

while the latter is a Hatch at Sedan prices.
Ahh..the age old Indian psyche of trying to get max size for the price. But at times people prefer smaller vehicles as well if it suits their requirements. Personally, I love hatches, so I would not dicard a car simply because its a hatchback priced along with sedans.

Edit: I forgot you also drive a SMART, so the first line may not apply to you in that case!

Last edited by Rtech : 8th December 2005 at 15:14.
Old 8th December 2005, 15:13   #11

City for the City

Originally Posted by mike3d
The car i intend to drive is especially gonna be used for city driving as i do not travel that much.

KINDLY SUGGEST !

regards Mike
Hello Mike,

I guess based on the fact you are going to drive mainly within the city... the Honda City suits the best. It is very easy to drive in the city, very fuel efficient and you can take it out to the highway once in a while. Also, it has a good re-sale value. The interiors are also roomy and comfortable!

Good Luck!
Old 8th December 2005, 15:28   #12

Elantra. On road 8 lac (After discounts of course !)
Old 8th December 2005, 15:40   #13

Originally Posted by Rtech
Ok. Lets break this down.
Your Criteria:
- City car, rarely used on highways
- I presume boot space is not a priority?
- Need decent low end torque for city use

Between the cars mentioned, I would say...
- If resale value is not a priority: Fusion
- If driving satisfaction is not a priority: City
- If an old design which is about to be replaced is not a priority: Accent

But, the best all-rounder here would be the Fiesta IMO. For city use, the 1.4 petrol should be ideal.
Fusion would be my choice too, but since he is concerned about maintenance costs, it may not be the ideal choice. Spare parts are costly, according to ACI ...
Old 8th December 2005, 15:56   #14

i'm surprised .. no one suggesting the Baleno ??!
Old 8th December 2005, 15:57   #15

8 lakhs, baleno is lower segment