Old 26th December 2005, 15:49   #1

Best Allrounder

Mileage 12 for City road traffic conditions, Good service back up, should cost low on spare costs, maximum budget is Rs.5 Lakhs. It should be a sedan ( not bothered on performance front)

Which is the car that fits into this bracket. (it struck me on Esteem & Indigo immediately, least bother on the age of car design, may be a marginal addition to cost)

Last edited by Surprise : 26th December 2005 at 15:58.
Old 26th December 2005, 16:05   #2

if yout not bothered about performance then go for the indigo ..being a deisel it has the lowest running cost of all ... newer design and a decent service backup ...
Old 26th December 2005, 16:23   #3

Originally Posted by turbo_lover
being a deisel
requirement is on a petrol car. happy to add the performance front too, but felt not a reasonable demand after insisting on mileage front
Old 26th December 2005, 16:49   #4

If you're not bothered about the age of design, go for Esteem. I believe the maintenance is comparatively lower with Esteem.
Old 26th December 2005, 16:50   #5

Originally Posted by Surprise
Mileage 12 for City road traffic conditions, Good service back up, should cost low on spare costs, maximum budget is Rs.5 Lakhs. It should be a sedan ( not bothered on performance front)
Spells like M-A-R-U-T-I to me, the only guys who can offer you all the above in an Esteem.

Other options could be the Accent GLE and the Petrol Indigo, both of which lack only in the FE dept, but are good in the rest.

Wouldnt suggest the Ikon or the Petra as they fit none of the above.
Old 26th December 2005, 16:51   #6

Maybe base model Indigo will fit in the 5 lakh thing and does match your requirements apart from the mileage. I think Indigo mileage is nearer 10 in city.

For above requirments Esteem is the only viable choice unless the Fiesta 1.4 petrol also fits the budget? (I dont think so)
Old 26th December 2005, 17:06   #7

Diesel Indigo looks like a good bet, if you're willing to forget minor itches and niggles. It's got loads of space, something which is a not there in an Esteem.
The FE is OK too, so is the maintenance cost. As for Accent GLE, I get around 11 in city...But will cost you upwards of 5.6 on road.
Old 26th December 2005, 17:57   #8

What about the Ikon Flair? Wouldnt it fit into this budget too?

You may also want to check with user 'balashome' about the price he paid for his Corsa.

Last edited by Steeroid : 26th December 2005 at 18:06.
Old 26th December 2005, 18:22   #9

Originally Posted by Steeroid
What about the Ikon Flair? Wouldnt it fit into this budget too?

You may also want to check with user 'balashome' about the price he paid for his Corsa.
Two things, Ikon mileage will be not be 10+ and Ikon is heavy in maintenance after 2 yrs (after extended warranty period) ( not sure whether its a market perception). Checked with few users and they complain about costly maintenance.
Old 26th December 2005, 18:23   #10

Maximum budget is 5 lakhs, which I take should be the on road price. so you have just the indigo/esteem/flair/Corsa(After discounts).
Esteem is the best of the lot in FE front, though the new indigo petrol engine should push up the FE by a notch. But since its not coming before march, esteem is the only choice you have.
Old 26th December 2005, 18:33   #11

The Esteem is the pick of the litter when it comes to petrol cars under Rs. 5 lac.

Based on the limitations/preconditions, your only choice seems to be the Esteem.
Old 26th December 2005, 20:03   #12

i would suggest the ford ikon flair,its a superb car for the price.and if economy is your main buying point go in for esteem.
Old 26th December 2005, 20:21   #13
cnu

My suggestion would be Esteem.

Last edited by cnu : 26th December 2005 at 20:24.
Old 26th December 2005, 20:24   #14

hmm.. take a Swift and somehow attach a boot... Lol...

On a more serious note, i would recommend Esteem.
Old 26th December 2005, 21:15   #15

at that budget you will get the esteem.. go in for it.. good mileage and good power too..