Team-BHP > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th September 2016, 21:31   #121
Senior - BHPian
 
maddy42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, Coorg
Posts: 1,915
Thanked: 640 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

My Dad had to visit bangalore recently to get his passports from shivajinagar. He travelled by bus to mysore satellite bus station from where he hired a auto(he is not tech savy so no uber or ola). Cost to shivajinagar was 100. From there he came to MG road and i always forced him to try the metro and he finally decided on taking it back to the mysore road station.

Here are his comments:
Pollution free mode of transport
Cheap at 25 rs and with ac.
Did the distance in lesser time than regular mode of transport
Announcements are loud and clear
Stations were good and the employees were helpful

I was glad he did try it as i am a fan of trains and i think metro can change the dynamics of the city.

The Nov1 deadline is no more existent. The contractors are expecting a Early 2017 date as there is still a TBM digging, which hopefully will have a breakthrough in the next 30 days. I hope bmrcl pulls its sock up and improves for phase 2. If elec city and whitefield get connected that will change the game.

Maddy
maddy42 is offline  
Old 11th November 2016, 14:30   #122
NPV
Distinguished - BHPian
 
NPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 6,135
Thanked: 6,662 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

The detailed project report (DPR) for the Silk Board-KR Puram metro line is ready and has been made public. Expected to cost Rs.4,202 Crore and take about 3 years to build.

Source:Silk Board-KR Puram Metro Corridor to cost Rs.4,202 Crore - Indian Express, Bangalore
NPV is offline  
Old 2nd December 2016, 09:52   #123
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: @ Driver's Seat @
Posts: 701
Thanked: 101 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

Brace Yourself for Metro Work : Phase 2 : To Whitefield : Tender Released


Minimum Two Years Pain

Source : http://www.bmrc.co.in/pdf/tenders/NI...01.12.2016.pdf

TENDER NO: BMRCL/ Phase-2/Reach-1B/VIA-***/Via & Stn/2016/15 Dated 01-12-2016

Name of the Work: “Construction of elevated structures (viaduct & stations) of 7.218 Km (Approx.) length from Visvesvaraya Industrial Area Station (excl) to Whitefield Station (Incl.) (Chainage 26643.032m to 33861.465m) including Viaduct Line Entry to Whitefield Depot, road widening & allied works and 7 numbers of Elevated Metro Stations viz, Kundanahalli, Vydehi Hospital, Sri Satya Sai Hospital , ITPL , Kadugodi , Ujwala Vidyalaya and Whitefield in the extension of East side of E-W Corridor of Bangalore Metro Rail Project, Phase-2.”

Last edited by lambuhere1 : 2nd December 2016 at 09:57.
lambuhere1 is offline  
Old 2nd December 2016, 10:41   #124
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 4,070
Thanked: 1,362 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lambuhere1 View Post
Brace Yourself for Metro Work : Phase 2 : To Whitefield : Tender Released


Minimum Two Years Pain

Source : http://www.bmrc.co.in/pdf/tenders/NI...01.12.2016.pdf

TENDER NO: BMRCL/ Phase-2/Reach-1B/VIA-***/Via & Stn/2016/15 Dated 01-12-2016

Name of the Work: “Construction of elevated structures (viaduct & stations) of 7.218 Km (Approx.) length from Visvesvaraya Industrial Area Station (excl) to Whitefield Station (Incl.) (Chainage 26643.032m to 33861.465m) including Viaduct Line Entry to Whitefield Depot, road widening & allied works and 7 numbers of Elevated Metro Stations viz, Kundanahalli, Vydehi Hospital, Sri Satya Sai Hospital , ITPL , Kadugodi , Ujwala Vidyalaya and Whitefield in the extension of East side of E-W Corridor of Bangalore Metro Rail Project, Phase-2.”
I saw some soil tests being done near Bellandur for the ORR part. Mostly they could use the space between the service road and the ring road (the drain area). This should be fine except near the flyovers where it will be a mess :(
srishiva is offline  
Old 1st February 2017, 23:20   #125
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 12,583
Thanked: 7,632 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

Does anyone know how will the set up be at Majestic where the two lines will intersect ?
condor is online now  
Old 1st February 2017, 23:23   #126
Team-BHP Support
 
Chetan_Rao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,102
Thanked: 9,080 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
Does anyone know how will the set up be at Majestic where the two lines will intersect ?
Multilevel platforms apparently, similar to the setup at Rajiv Chowk and Kasmere Gate exchange stations on Delhi Metro. Recently got down at Majestic on the Mysore Road-Byappanahalli line, work is ongoing at the second level concourse.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 1st February 2017 at 23:30.
Chetan_Rao is online now  
Old 2nd February 2017, 12:14   #127
Distinguished - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 4,004
Thanked: 8,517 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
Does anyone know how will the set up be at Majestic where the two lines will intersect ?
There are two levels. The Purple East West line will be 12m below ground level, while the Green North south line will be 18m below ground level.
audioholic is online now  
Old 15th June 2017, 19:19   #128
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 12,583
Thanked: 7,632 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

Has anyone taken the Smart Card for the metro ? Are you able to recharge without problems ? Does the card work with out problems ?
condor is online now  
Old 15th June 2017, 19:23   #129
NPV
Distinguished - BHPian
 
NPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 6,135
Thanked: 6,662 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
Has anyone taken the Smart Card for the metro ? Are you able to recharge without problems ? Does the card work with out problems ?
Bought the card back in 2011 when the Baiyappanahalli-MG Road line began operations, still use it and so far haven't had problems. Recharge at the metro station and also there is a card reader (self service) that one can use to check the balance.
NPV is offline  
Old 15th June 2017, 19:33   #130
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 12,583
Thanked: 7,632 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

@NPV, is on-line recharge working ?
condor is online now  
Old 15th June 2017, 20:33   #131
NPV
Distinguished - BHPian
 
NPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 6,135
Thanked: 6,662 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
@NPV, is on-line recharge working ?
Haven't tried that yet. Just checked the metro site and it says quick top up without registration is possible in 3 steps.
NPV is offline  
Old 15th June 2017, 20:40   #132
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 12,583
Thanked: 7,632 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

can do top-up Online too, with registration & without. But the help-desk guy said some problem in on-line recharges. Hence asked.

anyway, will know for sure next week
condor is online now  
Old 15th June 2017, 22:44   #133
BHPian
 
dkamath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 573
Thanked: 134 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NPV View Post
Recharge at the metro station and also there is a card reader (self service) that one can use to check the balance.
The self-service card reader does not always display the current balance in the card. The Staff normally direct to swiping at the gate itself, for inquiring the same (card balance ie.).
To elaborate further, the reader didn't display the expected balance even 2 days after my online card loading, and upon mentioning the same, was told to check at the gate, and it reflect the correct balance. Wonder why this disparity, as all devices are expected to fetch data from a common source.
Just as fyi, if the above situation occurs to any of you after an online card loading
dkamath is offline  
Old 15th June 2017, 22:50   #134
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 12,583
Thanked: 7,632 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkamath View Post
. Wonder why this disparity, as all devices are expected to fetch data from a common source.
The system lacks maturity in this aspect. To purchase the cards, it's a different id. It allows to purchase at least 3 cards with one id ( a six digit number). But to top-up, a new id must be created. This id will allow only 1 card.
condor is online now  
Old 16th June 2017, 21:34   #135
NPV
Distinguished - BHPian
 
NPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 6,135
Thanked: 6,662 Times
Default re: The Bangalore Metro rail thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkamath View Post
Wonder why this disparity, as all devices are expected to fetch data from a common source.
We have 3 "Varshik" cards purchased in 2011 and topped up several times over the last 6 years (always at the metro stations) and has never failed at the gates (some people have had such issues) and always displays the correct & current balance when used at the card reader machines at the stations
NPV is offline  
Reply

Most Viewed
Mustang crashes into truck driver - shows no remorse
The 10 worst Indian cars of the last decade
Polo GTI falls off a flyover captured on video
WFH? Show us your home office
Miscreants assault me & my car - justice prevails
Don't be naive, all of this happens before your PDI
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2020, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks