View Poll Results: Which One?
1 bedroom flat in Bandra 12 44.44%
2 / 2.5 bedroom flat in Powai 15 55.56%
Voters: 27. You may not vote on this poll

Old 8th March 2006, 11:36   #16

if u want peace then powai if u dont mind hell then bandra. i like bandra personally.
Old 8th March 2006, 11:48   #17
RJK

Knowing your workplace & also the fact that you hate bandra & western suburbs , I'd recommend Powai to you. I don't think 'Westernisation' is a criteria for you to buy a house. If you like the west so much, go live in america !

Last edited by RJK : 8th March 2006 at 11:50.
Old 9th March 2006, 02:48   #18

Bandra undoubtebly. Its centrally located and easily accessible,and thats one of the main criteria's if you looking for a house.

X
Old 15th July 2009, 07:33   #19

1 bedroom in Bandra

can you get a 1 bedroom in bandra for 40 lacs .. if you do it is a really good deal
Old 15th July 2009, 16:16   #20

Originally Posted by california_dude View Post
can you get a 1 bedroom in bandra for 40 lacs .. if you do it is a really good deal
Fat chance with today's pricing. The Bandra-Worli sealink has only gotten this cute suburb closer to the city.

Bandra anyday!! Quality over quantity, remember? Bandra offers a fantastic lifestyle. Its pretty westernised, which may have a lot to do with the strong christian presence. You have the ocean, joggers park, clubs and the most interesting eateries.

3.5 years down and my love for Bandra has only grown! Bandra gives you the kind of lifestyle that no other part of Mumbai does. The place has an inherent charm to itself, fueled by the most vibrant culture, fantastic people, the ocean, eateries and what have you. If my work place was in the 'burbs, I'd pick Bandra W as my home. Over any other location in Mumbai.

Who knows? Could happen one day
Old 15th July 2009, 16:42   #21

Fat chance with today's pricing. The Bandra-Worli sealink has only gotten this cute suburb closer to the city.

3.5 years down and my love for Bandra has only grown! Bandra gives you the kind of lifestyle that no other part of Mumbai does. The place has an inherent charm to itself, fueled by the most vibrant culture, fantastic people, the ocean, eateries and what have you. If my work place was in the 'burbs, I'd pick Bandra W as my home. Over any other location in Mumbai.

Who knows? Could happen one day

just out of curiosity gto, how much would a good 2 or 3 bedroom flat cost in bandra? what would be the price diff between a sea facing and a non sea facing flat?

also in today's economy, if a person had a budget of 40 to 60L for a flat in mumbai, which parts of mumbai would be ideal and in that price range?

Last edited by aadix : 15th July 2009 at 16:45.
Old 15th July 2009, 18:14   #22

Originally Posted by X-Machine View Post
Bandra undoubtebly. Its centrally located and easily accessible,and thats one of the main criteria's if you looking for a house.

X
Originally Posted by california_dude View Post
The difference in the dates of the above 2 posts has witnessed the biggest recession and real estate downturn India has seen.

This thread needs a reality check now!
Old 15th July 2009, 18:27   #23

Heart says Bandra, Mind says Powai !
Old 15th July 2009, 18:34   #24

Originally Posted by aadix View Post
just out of curiosity gto, how much would a good 2 or 3 bedroom flat cost in bandra? what would be the price diff between a sea facing and a non sea facing flat?
Decent 1000 sq ft. 2 bedroom : 1.5 - 2 crores in a good locality (15,000 - 20,000 per sq. ft. average in the good parts of Bandra). Additional premium for areas like Pali Hill (the best IMO) and Carter Road. Even when the market is down, an attractive building or location always retains its value, primarily because availability is far less than demand.

also in today's economy, if a person had a budget of 40 to 60L for a flat in mumbai, which parts of mumbai would be ideal and in that price range?
Very difficult. 40 - 60L is chump change for a 2 bedroom in proper Mumbai. Effectively, you are looking at a sq. ft. rate of 6,000 rupees. Have to go far suburbs (Malad, Borivali etc.).

Last edited by GTO : 15th July 2009 at 18:36.
Old 15th July 2009, 21:32   #25

powai has mutunt mosquitoes (or so they seem) suck your blood dry
Old 15th July 2009, 21:50   #26

My vote goes for Bandra, Lived there for 11 years and its the best place to be compared to Powai.
Old 15th July 2009, 22:29   #27

Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post

Suppose u have a budget of 40 lacs - what would you choose of the 2 options given in the poll ?
<shakes his head in wonder> Did NC actually go out and buy a flat in Bandra based on the poll here?
Old 16th July 2009, 10:15   #28

Wow - this thread comes up after 3 years and what timing - just after I took charge of the flat.

Where you may ask ?
Old 16th July 2009, 10:30   #29

Wow - this thread comes up after 3 years and what timing - just after I took charge of the flat.

Where you may ask ?
Yes please tell us where , My personal preference is for Powai , I stayed in Powai for my 2 years in mumbai and liked it over crowded places such as Bandra :-) generates kind of claustrophobia.
Anyway I am in Bangalore so my vote does not count.

Last edited by amitk26 : 16th July 2009 at 10:32.
Old 19th July 2009, 15:40   #30

Where you may ask ?
I have a feeling you got yourself a pad in Bandra? C'mon, break the suspense. And while you're at it, let's have some pictures too!