Old 16th May 2012, 13:57   #2866

Re: The BEST & the WORST Advertisements on TV

Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post
Hopefully action will follow the words.

Vulgar advertisements raise stink in House : North News - India Today

The gross indecency makes me think that surrogate marketing (Kingfisher water, Imperial Blue CDs, etc) were not so bad! There are some really bad ads doing the rounds and the whip needs to be cracked before some even worse ones appear and we start thinking these deo ads were better.
Talking about deo, I remember during our college festival there was a show called Mad-Ads. One group was given the task to present the advert for a deo.

So, we are shown on the stage one guy sitting - as in Indian toilet and humming a tune. The other guy frantically pacing around the stage muttering something and knocking the door.

After a couple of knocks the sitting guy washes, gets up, takes a big angrai and comes out of the 'door'. Now this frantic guy (who has an urgency to download ) goes in and is hit by the stink. Coolly, he takes out a bottle of deo, sprays and goes inside smiling.

There was a catch phrase and a poster too, which I dont remember now.

I mean, all deo ads are more or less same, its time for a change - like how Imperial Blue (Men will be Men) and 5 star (ek bilaang chhoti) have done.
Old 16th May 2012, 14:16   #2867

I find the new Havell's fan ad to be pathetic. I don't know if its an insult to the great Rajesh Khanna or an insult to his "fans" .

He seems to be suffering from delusions looking at those fans, when he says "merey fans mujhse koi nahi chheen sakta". Makes a great actor like him look like third grade .

Those new Vodafone ads, the less said the better.

Last edited by skanchan95 : 16th May 2012 at 14:19.
Old 17th May 2012, 23:16   #2868

I think the Flipkart.com ads are great - especially considering these are kids. The expressions are great.
Also like the Tata Docomo ones with Ranbir as the restaurant manager.

Rgds,
SS
Old 18th May 2012, 12:17   #2869

whats with the Vodafone ads?
was that some community get together program which was made into an ad!!
Old 18th May 2012, 14:58   #2870

Originally Posted by ariendj View Post
whats with the Vodafone ads?
was that some community get together program which was made into an ad!!
ariendj, those ads are taken from Telematches, a game show that used to be aired on tv in the 80's I had few tapes of those games.

Telematch - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

-Sajan
Old 25th May 2012, 16:54   #2871

I find these two ads irritating:

- Frooti: the entire premise seems a bit silly and the product is seen only in the last 5% of ad screentime. The catchline is also quite poor. The older jingle was much better.
- IP ads: why do those painted people scream at us or at each other when the match lne up is shown? I dont get it!
Old 6th June 2012, 23:22   #2872

This advertisement currently shown on TV is the first Indian advt. ever that has made me laugh like never before.
Old 6th June 2012, 23:35   #2873

Docomo Ads featuring Ranbir Kapoor are great.
The recent vodafone ads aren't good
Old 7th June 2012, 12:19   #2874

Originally Posted by richie4u View Post
This advertisement currently shown on TV is the first Indian advt. ever that has made me laugh like never before.
I came to this thread to feature this video but you beat me.!. Superb ad.

BTW this concept was famous in dhabas around Bangalore outskirts named as bow bow chicken

Last edited by bblost : 7th June 2012 at 12:21. Reason: Removed embedded video.
Old 15th June 2012, 11:54   #2875

I feel in the Havell's ad, the advertising agency and the client intended to take mileage out of the Rajesh Khanna and Big B rivalry when the actor says "Mere fans mujhse koi nahin cheen sakta Babu Moshai". If that was the intention then I feel that they have insulted Rajesh Khanna. Even if he is does not have the limelight today but indeed he is a very good actor.
Old 15th June 2012, 13:32   #2876

1) One irritating ad:
Reliance netconnect ad feat. that MTV guy and Anushka Sharma

2) Carlsburg !!! after seeing so many different version like music CD, water, soda and some people making their life large. This is something different, here comes Carlsburg club glasses :-))
Old 15th June 2012, 14:08   #2877

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
1) One irritating ad:
Reliance netconnect ad feat. that MTV guy and Anushka Sharma

2) Carlsburg !!! after seeing so many different version like music CD, water, soda and some people making their life large. This is something different, here comes Carlsburg club glasses :-))
Anushka looks very irritating with her wide grin in anything she does whether its ads, movies, etc.
As regards Carlsberg (not Carlsburg) its called surrogate advertising. I though it is regulated but after IPL its back with a bang.
Old 15th June 2012, 14:10   #2878

The irritating ones:

1.Adv of some snacks where the soldier is willing to die for the snacks
2.The one for Chips where the girl points to her stomach and says he is responsible, only later does she show the pack of crisps!!
3. Induleka Hair oil where each of the users state its their right to grow the hair and try and challenge the surroundings!!
4. Any ads where children are used to promote message for the larger crowd in a negative way. Eg. the handwash ad

None of them are in good taste.

I like the Oreo . sunrise and Bru ads
Old 15th June 2012, 16:13   #2879

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
that MTV guy and Anushka Sharma
Originally Posted by carwatcher View Post
Anushka looks very irritating with her wide grin in anything she does whether its ads, movies, etc.
jealous is what you guys are

the OLX ad is really stupid. i mean, people throw the tennis ball up and by the time it's back, they've sold whatever they put up on OLX? ridiculous!
Old 17th June 2012, 02:53   #2880

another nice ad from VW Jetta currently being aired here