Old 24th October 2013, 20:38   #1

Maestro Manna Dey no more

A very, very sad loss indeed for all music lovers who love everything musical from the Golden Era - the last Titan (male voice) from this Golden Era is now no more.
I had met him in Dec 2008, when he was about 89. He had come for a concert here at Nagpur. An extremely warm personality, he was kind enough to spare some time with me and pose for pictures in his hotel lobby.I had taken some of the CD's, cassettes and an EP record of his songs for autographs. He politely told me that he would rather wish me on a notepad.
He did and I treasure this as a gem now.

The concert that evening (9/12/2008) lasted for about 3 hours. I was thrilled and it was quite an experience of my lifetime to hear my idol LIVE. Must say his voice was the same as it sounded 40-50 years ago.The secret he had revealed to me earlier in the morning, was his fondness for "riyaaz" every morning!
"Ek Kalakaar kabhi nahi marta- unka deh shant ho jaata hain, parantu unki kala amar rehti hain!" (an artiste never dies- his body rests in peace but his art is immortal)

Maestro Manna Dey no more-sonycamv-2037.jpg

at his then local abode

Maestro Manna Dey no more-sonycamv-2039.jpg

with "Yours Truly"

Maestro Manna Dey no more-sonycamv-2045.jpg

arriving at the concert venue with Mrs Sulochana Dey his wife

Maestro Manna Dey no more-sonycamv-2055.jpg

on stage

Long Live Manna Dey!

Last edited by GTO : 25th October 2013 at 14:53. Reason: Correcting year to 2008
Old 24th October 2013, 21:23   #2

re: Maestro Manna Dey no more

In his autobiography, "Memories Come Alive- An Autobiography - Manna Dey" he has praised Shankar Jaikishan as the then best new talents. Indeed, he was in awe of Shankarji for his treasure house of talent. Paying tributes to them, he said that he was known as the voice for comedians and sidekicks, when SJ gave him his first break was the voice for the film hero. Thereafter, he never had to look back.

It will be amusing to know that Manna Da a a child and schoolboy was notorious and a body builder cum wrestler. He used to beat some "dada's" black and blue and his parents would share the wrath of the victim's parents.
Old 24th October 2013, 21:43   #3

Thanks for posting this Anjan, we have lost another Legend of Indian music indeed.

He had an amazing voice & his songs will keep him alive in our hearts forever.
Old 24th October 2013, 22:42   #4

Thanks Technocrat.
The concert and photographs are dated 06/12/2008 and not Dec 2009, as mentioned in the previous posts.
The note he wrote for me the same day at his local abode.

Maestro Manna Dey no more-page3-099.jpg
Old 24th October 2013, 23:03   #5

I loved his singing. Just finished listening to my favourites on gaana.com.

Rest in peace !
Old 24th October 2013, 23:08   #6

Really saddened to hear this news. He is one of my all time favourite singers. I loved listening to his songs. May his soul rest in peace.
Old 24th October 2013, 23:18   #7

His song in the 1967 (?) national award winning Malayalam super hit movie 'Chemmeen' still lingers on in many Malayali minds.
Hear it in this link
May his soul rest in peace.

Last edited by rajeev k : 24th October 2013 at 23:23.
Old 24th October 2013, 23:25   #8

One of my favourite Manna Dey songs from the Bengali film "Tin Bhuvaner Paare", starring Soumitra Chatterjee and Tanuja:

Old 24th October 2013, 23:59   #9

Thank you so much for posting this thread. I had the fortune of attending two of his live shows and can never forget that experience. Unfortunately, I don't have the pics of both those shows as in one I was too young and another one I was too far to get a good click. While I love most of his songs, some of my favourites are:

Not in any order:
  • Aao twist karein
  • Zindagi, kaisi hain paheli
  • Ae bhai zara dekh ke chalo
  • Tu pyaar ka sagar hain
  • His duets with Kishore Kumar - Yeh dosti and Ek chatur naar

RIP Manna Dey! You will be missed.
Old 25th October 2013, 00:11   #10

I had the good fortune of attending one of his live shows, barely 24 hrs after attending a live performance from Asha Bhosle. Where Ashaji sang a handful of songs in a few hours' time, Manna da went on singing one after the other and within two hours he presented around thirty songs.

Jinhone sajaye yahan mele
Sukh dukh sang sang zele
Vahi chun kar khamoshi
Door chale jaye akele kahan
Old 25th October 2013, 00:11   #11

This is a great loss. There was a time when I used to sing and pretty much 80% of my song selections were from Mannaday's collection.

My favourites are:
Puchho na kaise maine
Janak Janak tore baaje
Laaga chunari pe daag
Sur na saaje
Old 25th October 2013, 07:46   #12

Manna was such a talented & versatile singer with soul touching voice.
R.I.P dada

Some of my favorites:
  • Ye Bhai Zara Dekh Ke Chalo
  • Ae Mere Pyare Watan
  • Kasme Vaade Pyar Waffa
  • Tum Bin Jeevan
  • Zindagi Kaisi Hai Paheli Haye
  • Nadiya Chale Chale Re Dhara
  • Yeh Raat Bhigi Bheegi
  • Poochho Na Kaise Maine

Last edited by HammerHead : 25th October 2013 at 07:48.
Old 25th October 2013, 13:05   #13

A very sad day indeed. RIP Mannada

I've almost his entire hits with me - Can never stop listening to these absolute gems - Yeh raat bheeghi bheeghi, Poocho na kaise, Sur na saje, Laga Chunari me daag, Manasa maine (Malayalam) and more. He was the last of the Golden era singers
Old 25th October 2013, 13:18   #14

This is a big big loss to the fans of Manna Da. His distinct voice and his vocal capabilities, esp. of classical music were beyond comparison. With his departure, we have lost all male voices of the golden era of Hindi music. My interest in classical music got aroused by his songs only. Few personal favourites are: Sur Naa Saje, Kaun aaya mere man ke dware, tu pyar ka sagar hai, Kasmein wade pyar wafa; just to name a few.

Rest in Peace Manna Da!
Old 25th October 2013, 13:39   #15

Irreparable loss!
We can always go on and on about who is the best playback singer in bollywood. However all maestros always agreed on Manna Dey being the best when it comes to classical.
Poocho na kaise and Laga Chunari me daag are one of the highest played tracks on my ipod and I get goosebumps each time I listen these.