Old 3rd July 2006, 01:15   #1

tyre up, tyre down?

this thread's about off roading- articulation actually. its an old scanned picture of the 'king' descending a track down to the beas. It was loaded with almost 300 Kgs supplies in the back.

Went down in 4H, though needed 4L to crawl up. the rounded boulders and MRF Zigma road treads didnt make the work easy! Inspite of these - She came up without a hitch!

[IMG][/IMG]
'look at the articulation the wheels of the gypsy are capable of'

[IMG][/IMG]
' on the way up' - being cheered by the village kids playing nearby!!

would like to see some more pictures of members and their off roading antics!

as the yanks very sanely say ' tread lightly'
Old 3rd July 2006, 08:06   #2

That is excellent wheel articulation, would have been even extreme-er with the smaller, normal wheels-n-tyre set.
Old 3rd July 2006, 12:12   #3
aZa

Awesome pictures yaar !! Is this vehicle stock except for the rims/tyres ?
Old 3rd July 2006, 15:27   #4

true blue maruti suzuki

she's pure maruti suzuki.....all original mechanicals.
some add on's like a hi-speed cooling fan ( off the opel corsa! the original fan is with a mech. clutch and the Eng. tends to heat up on idling rpm - viz. traffic!) and those Hella's are needed - the headlamps arent good enough for highways / off-roading at night!
Old 3rd July 2006, 15:44   #5

Nice pix there Capt'n..
One question though.. whose driving.. you or the Mrs??
Old 3rd July 2006, 15:55   #6

..... that's the captain in command! the Mrs. loves driving the King, but the wheel can get pretty darn hard to control whilst off roading - esp with those tires! they're not the best choice to be trying stunts!!

...The Mrs. was walking along in front and guiding me along. need to get the wheels over the boulders to clear them! certainly dont want to hit a differential or sump on one of those boulders! ( most common casualty is the rear number plate!!)

thanks guys, unfortunately, i didnt own a digital camera in those days and these pictures are poor reproductions!
Old 3rd July 2006, 16:55   #7

Aah.. the captain was at the helm but the PILOT was actually in charge.. lol!
Old 3rd July 2006, 17:34   #8

Some seriously impressive offroading i say- that too with minder

Cappy & Pilot- Good one 2L8
Old 3rd July 2006, 20:25   #9

u could'nt have put in any better 2L8uLoose ! ! ! The captains like to think they're in control, but then again.......
Old 3rd July 2006, 22:22   #10

Haha.. thank you gent's.. but methinks we are going a lil off course here.. think we should heave to back to the ole topic... arrrrrrr.
I drive the company Scorpio on quite a few rough stretches of road.. will try and get some pictures of that some time and post em here.
Old 7th July 2006, 17:47   #11

samurai at work

something's up with imageshack, been trying to post these pictures up for a while! all i get in the preview is the link - lets hope it works when i post the reply.

here's some from google images - a modified suzuki samurai ( the gypsy as sold abroad) displaying some serious capabilities!

Note from Mod - Captain Pings, i think its time you study this threadcarefully

Last edited by Rehaan : 7th July 2006 at 17:58.
Old 7th July 2006, 19:29   #12

not a big as the above car but a little from my side......

here is the up

and here is the down.....

Old 7th July 2006, 19:53   #13

thank you kindly

Thank you Mods, for sorting it out!

I did read the thread carefully (embarassingly enough - more than once! and I did follow the instructions - copying the link as marked and pasting it ...dunno what happened!)

Hey low_bass_makker, thats a cool ride..... and pretty decent articulation for a Swift!!!