Team-BHP > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th February 2018, 16:13   #271
BANNED
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,186
Thanked: 1,334 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Just a heads up.

Those on Vodafone network in Delhi-NCR can now enjoy VoLTE services. It was soft launched recently and i can see VoLTE symbol on my phone and make HD calls.
DCEite is offline  
Old 24th February 2018, 12:59   #272
BHPian
 
Brumby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: City of Lakes
Posts: 95
Thanked: 196 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Though very late to subscribe, started using Jio in Mumbai circle for the past month, and so far very happy with the service. I was charged 99 for prime membership and as per the customer service exec this will be valid for one year from the date of registration (don't know how true is it, will have to wait till 31 March 2018). The 149 rupees plan gives 1.5GB of 4G data per day and unlimited calls and SMSes across all circles for 28 days. The call quality is very good and internet is very fast.

I was in rural Punjab in November 2017, where Vodafone and Airtel were struggling to even connect calls, I observed that the Jio network was working full throttle (voice and data).

I am a Vodafone postpaid user for many years now and for the past 2 years or so, we face difficulties with the network at our home in Thane.

For a change Jio seems to be very good and complete value for money option. I fail to understand how similar plans are so expensive for postpaid users (even for Jio).

Cheers
Brumby is offline  
Old 24th February 2018, 16:23   #273
BHPian
 
skumare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 103
Thanked: 54 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

May be OT:

I am on Airtel 4G (@ Hyd) and as my mobile battery is draining fast if internet is switched on, I do tend to switch off mobile internet while in office as I have wifi hotspots in the office. However, many people mentioned that my number is not reachable while I am in office. Then I switched to 3G and deactivated mobile internet, there is no such issue. Is activating mobile internet mandatory to receive calls if one is on 4G?
skumare is offline  
Old 24th February 2018, 18:27   #274
NPX
BHPian
 
NPX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: HR 05, GJ 06
Posts: 97
Thanked: 181 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by skumare View Post
Is activating mobile internet mandatory to receive calls if one is on 4G?
yes, only if your mobile doesn't support VoLTE.
NPX is offline  
Old 24th February 2018, 19:52   #275
BHPian
 
skumare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 103
Thanked: 54 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NPX View Post
yes, only if your mobile doesn't support VoLTE.
I use Nexus 5X, I can see LTE in the status bar when switched to 4G internet. But if I make a call, it switches to H while on the call and back to LTE once done with call. Does this mean it doesn't support VoLTE?
skumare is offline  
Old 24th February 2018, 20:20   #276
NPX
BHPian
 
NPX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: HR 05, GJ 06
Posts: 97
Thanked: 181 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by skumare View Post
Does this mean it doesn't support VoLTE?
The Mobile phone and the network operator, both, should support VoLTE.

You can cross-check by inserting a Jio sim in your phone on Sim slot 1.

Also contact your network operator, they can help effectively.

Last edited by NPX : 24th February 2018 at 20:21.
NPX is offline  
Old 24th February 2018, 21:30   #277
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 295
Thanked: 619 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skumare View Post
I use Nexus 5X, I can see LTE in the status bar when switched to 4G internet. But if I make a call, it switches to H while on the call and back to LTE once done with call. Does this mean it doesn't support VoLTE?

Airtel has not rolled out VoLTE as far as I am aware. Have seen this behaviour on my iPhone 7 plus too. As soon as you make a call, the 4G switches to 3G. While your phone may support VoLTE, the network does not at the moment I think.
akhil994 is offline  
Old 28th February 2018, 21:43   #278
BHPian
 
para_7k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 468
Thanked: 66 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

There seems to be a VOLTE outage in Jio since 9 PM this evening. Many folks at home and office are reporting the same problem. I am not sure if this is for selected circles.

The VOLTE display on the status bar is gone and I am unable to make any voice calls from my Jio. Other networks to Jio does not connect as well.

Mobile data works without any issues.

Anyone else facing this problem ?
para_7k is offline  
Old 28th February 2018, 22:06   #279
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Traveller
Posts: 143
Thanked: 280 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by para_7k View Post
VOLTE outage ?
Hi, I do have a Jio Sim. Any time I face any issue with any Sim or phone or laptop. My simple remedy is to remove Sim and reinsert, reboot in phone, laptop and router. Make sure there is a gap of at least 10 second from total off to on.

The case mentioned may happen in GSM, but not in CDMA/LTE/VoLTE.
Are you trying an Aircel no? they filed for bankruptcy.
ritz3645 is offline  
Old 1st March 2018, 10:38   #280
BHPian
 
GeneralJazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KL58/TN38
Posts: 402
Thanked: 1,563 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by skumare View Post
I use Nexus 5X, I can see LTE in the status bar when switched to 4G internet. But if I make a call, it switches to H while on the call and back to LTE once done with call. Does this mean it doesn't support VoLTE?
I believe Nexus 5X supports VoLTE. Its the network that doesn't. I have the same issue with Airtel and Vodafone in my phones. While on calls, the network switches to 3G (H/H+). I verified this by forcing LTE only on my Lenovo P2 and tried to make a call. Call didn't connect.
GeneralJazz is offline  
Old 1st March 2018, 10:41   #281
BHPian
 
para_7k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 468
Thanked: 66 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ritz3645 View Post
Hi, I do have a Jio Sim. Any time I face any issue with any Sim or phone or laptop. My simple remedy is to remove Sim and reinsert, reboot in phone, laptop and router. Make sure there is a gap of at least 10 second from total off to on.

The case mentioned may happen in GSM, but not in CDMA/LTE/VoLTE.
Are you trying an Aircel no? they filed for bankruptcy.
None of the quick fixes worked. It does seem there was an outage last evening. Many folks from Friends and Family reported voice call issues with Jio.

It was restored when I woke up in the morning.
para_7k is offline  
Old 4th March 2018, 22:39   #282
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RJ 14
Posts: 586
Thanked: 130 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Connectivity JOKE

Friends,
I am facing a very strange jokey situation with JIO & Airtel. I am trying to explain here-

We have the SIM in this pattern-
No 1: Airtel
No 2: Airtel
No 3: JIO
No 4: JIO
No.5: Airtel/ Vodafone (not sure. He is out of family member)


Now the situations are as follows-
No.1 is able to make & receive call to all others.
No.2 can call to rest all 3 but can only receive call from No.1 & 4 (if No.3 call him it says ‘BUSY’)
No. 4 can call 1,2 & 3 but No.5 is ‘BUSY’ for him. Whereas No.5 can call No.4

First, I suspected on airtel and contacted the Customer care but they say there is no such restriction from their side. I did not contact JIO CC as of now.

Has anyone facing similar situations?
(Alok) is offline  
Old 5th March 2018, 07:51   #283
Team-BHP Support
 
Sheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Purnea (Bihar)
Posts: 7,353
Thanked: 9,833 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by (Alok) View Post
Has anyone facing similar situations?
Yes, though it doesn't say busy, but sometimes on few numbers, calls from my Jio sim doesn't go through. At other times, it does go, but in evening, at around 7-8, the calls don't go to either Airtel and sometimes to BSNL.
Sheel is offline  
Old 28th March 2018, 14:41   #284
Team-BHP Support
 
Sheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Purnea (Bihar)
Posts: 7,353
Thanked: 9,833 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Calls to AirTel still donít go through sometimes, its the same, congestion in network reported.

Btw, what is this? Random numbers instead of network. I am on a Jio connection and at that point calls werenít going through.
Attached Thumbnails
Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!-fa712ab4a70a4c809e3262fe77ad5ab5.png  

Sheel is offline  
Old 28th March 2018, 14:57   #285
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: EU - Nordic
Posts: 1,867
Thanked: 2,020 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheel View Post
Btw, what is this? Random numbers instead of network. I am on a Jio connection and at that point calls werenít going through.
The number 405-48 probably indicates the MCC/MNC of the mobile network you were on at that time. According to this site, this network is Indian Railways GSM-R.
StarrySky is offline  
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks