Old 3rd March 2007, 11:09   #61

Blood Diamond - Very gripping movie of recent time.....

Has anyone seen it?
Old 6th June 2007, 23:12   #62

watched CASABLANCA recently, was really awestuck by it. watched in thrice during the same weekend. brilliant dialogues and even better is the dialogue delivery by the protagonist... almost everything about the movie is good.

Here are a few dialogues that i liked

Captain Renault : What in heaven’s name brought you to Casablanca?
Rick : My health. I came to Casablanca for the waters.
Captain Renault : The waters? What waters? We’re in the desert.
Rick : I was misinformed.

Rick : Your cash is good at the bar.
Banker: What? Do you know who I am?
Rick : I do. You’re lucky the bar’s open to you.

Major Strasser : You give him credit for too much cleverness. My impression was that he’s just another blundering American.
Captain Renault : We musn’t underestimate American blundering. I was with them when they blundered into Berlin in 1918.
Old 7th June 2007, 00:05   #63

Hey, I'm a complete movie freak... watch at least 3-4 every week - almost always english and foreign (95% of Hindi movies are cr@p IMO, hollywood and other foreign languages boast of much better ratios... close to 70% ). Here's what I watched last week:-
Before Sunrise & Before Sunset - Loved them... awesome screenplay, impossibly long uninterrupted shots, great chemistry between the leads

300 - total timepass!!

Pan's labyrinth - heartwarming juxtaposition of grim reality and the allure of the imagined!!
Old 7th June 2007, 08:47   #64

"Before Sunrise" is one of my faves. Great locations, and like you said, great chemistry. I don't know how they do it, you know, show that thing that cannot be expressed in words or even actions, so well. Also a bit depressing at the end. Julie Delphy is a GODDESS. I just love her french accent (Well, I know she's French). Very very s3xeeeeeeeee.

And thanks for pointing me to "Before sunset". I didn't know it existed. Lemme see if I can find it

I got "Pan's Labyrinth" 2 weeks back. I'm saving it to brighten up a saturday night when I'm stuck home. Crazy mad movie, huh?
Old 7th June 2007, 13:42   #65

Originally Posted by w 12 View Post
has any one used | Seventymmâ„¢ | India's first online movie rental service.... to hire DVD s online ?

Any feedback on their service and movies collection ?
I have tried it. I didnt like it. Once you join it, you have to create a list of movies in order of preference. And you will seldom get the movies from the top part of your list. Most of the movies are VCDs which is a bummer really.

Some of the remarkable movies i saw in the recent past:
1. Girl, Interrupted - Saw it on Sony Pix. I never knew Angelina Jolie could act as well!! Totally impressed by all the characters in the movie.

2. Young Guns 1 and 2 - Nice set. Western ishtyle. Billy The Kid's character is of the kind that you love and hate at the same time.

3. Cheeni Kum - Nice movie, except for the last 15 mins where you feel like just walking out of the hall, thanks to Big B's overacting.
Old 7th June 2007, 14:00   #66

Movies i like:

Hindi : Dil Chahta Hai (Came bang during my college days, and can relate to it. I was like Saif then. ,and we also had a gang of three guys)

English : One of them being 'Notting Hill' (just love the park bench scene)

Tamil : 'Alaipayuthey' (Madhavan was awesome in this movie)

Will post more later, as i remember.
Old 7th June 2007, 14:07   #67

'Alaipayuthey' is the original Tamil of the Hindi Saathiya if I'm not wrong?
Old 7th June 2007, 14:14   #68

Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
3. Cheeni Kum - Nice movie, except for the last 15 mins where you feel like just walking out of the hall, thanks to Big B's overacting.
Well I felt like slapping Paresh Rawal's character actually. Damn which fool does like that in real life ? I could be wrong too here....

But yeah - nice movie.
Old 7th June 2007, 14:33   #69

Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Well I felt like slapping Paresh Rawal's character actually. Damn which fool does like that in real life ? I could be wrong too here....
arre yaar thoda to jhelna padta hai

By the way, i also saw Shrek 3. It was ok but i somehow felt a bit letdown. Didnt have the same punch as the first two.
Old 7th June 2007, 14:57   #70

Originally Posted by Dippy View Post
'Alaipayuthey' is the original Tamil of the Hindi Saathiya if I'm not wrong?
Yes. And i felt it was much better too.
Old 7th June 2007, 15:04   #71

Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
Yes. And i felt it was much better too.
the tamil version was better....
Old 7th June 2007, 15:19   #72

Genre-Wise- Fav Movies

I am also a big movie buff and buy DVD's regularly and have a collection of 150+ of them and i make sure i cover all the genres as i love them equally. I am listing some of my favorite movies below based on genres

Action/Thriller

Pulp Fiction ( Quentin Tarantino Movie)
Reservoir Dogs ( Quentin Tarantino Movie)
Lock Stock & 2 Smoking Barrels ( Guy Ritchie Movie)

The above 3 are the " Greatest" movies I ever saw in my life and must have seen each movie more than 20 times and I keep watching them whenever i get the time, each and every dialogue and everything else about these movies is a masterpiece.

1 Terminator 2
2 Black Hawk Dawn ( War movie based on true story of US Army goof up in Somalia)
3 Beverly Hills Cop 1,2,3 ( Awesome theme music with a great combination of wit and action)
4 Shooter ( Recently seen this movie, real slick and one of the best action movies)
5 Predator
6 Point Break
7 Ronin

Horror/Scary Movies

1 Texas Chainsaw Massacre ( Top of the list, true story based on real incident in 1976 near Dallas, Tx)
2 Jeepers Creepers 1,2 ( 1st part was much better than second)
3 Wrong Turn ( Real creepy thriller)
4 Scream ( Original scary movie)
5 Hills of no Eyes ( Errrrrrrr)

Drama

1 Jerry Mcguire
2 Shawkshank Redemption
3 Get Shorty

Comedy

1 The Dinner Game ( French movie and the greatest comedy ever made, feeble attempt to copy as "Bheja Fry", the original in french with english subtitles is miles apart

2 Odd Couple 2 ( One of the most hilarious movies, can be compared to our own Hera Pheri)

3 Analyze This

4 Meet the Parents

5 Bringing Down the House

6 The Lady Killers

I have almost all the above DVD's and bought mostly from the US. And, i bieleve in callin' over friends, open a few bottles of lager and dim the lights and let my ONKYO HT take over
Old 12th June 2007, 01:01   #73
elf

Snatch. Truly a brilliantly funny movie. Wifey & me have been watching it at least once a fortnight since the past 2 years, & it's yet to grow old. Dennis Farina, Lennie James, Alan Ford, Brad Pitt, Benicio Del Toro & all the others - and the dog - every one of the priceless star cast has done a superb job. And the humour is to die for.

A few others I tripped out on (5 star rating to all) were:
  • Go
  • Dogma
  • Reservoir Dogs
  • Kill Bill 1 & 2
  • Pulp Fiction
  • The Usual Suspects
  • 21 Grams
  • Traffic
  • Lock, Stock & 2 Smoking Barrels.
  • Star Wars - the original Trilogy.
    That's part's IV, V & VI.
    The three new prequels completely suck as standalone movies, & should've collectively been compressed & used as a 1 hour DVD filler. Queen Amidala my @$$.
Am a huuge Benicio Del Toro fan. And Tarantino.
Old 12th June 2007, 01:13   #74

Originally Posted by elf View Post
[*]Kill Bill 1 & 2
My fav movies kill bill..

I will recommend "Be Cool" for those who get angry fast and one of my fav movie from 2007 a true story Freedom Writers. Freedom Writers (2007)
Old 12th June 2007, 09:17   #75

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
Blood Diamond - Very gripping movie of recent time.....

Has anyone seen it?

Yup. Loved it. Way better than Babel which was totally pathetic IMO and a sheer waste of time.