Team-BHP > Shifting gears

Search this Thread
Old 1st October 2018, 15:59   #1
GTO
Team-BHP Support

The Oil Thread (cooking, not engine)

Guys, simple question = what oil to use for cooking at home?

It seems, after sugar, refined oil is the next bad thing for your health. But haven't been able to get a clear answer, so thought of asking on my favourite community .

Which is the best / most healthy / least evil oil to use for cooking at home? Cooking consists of typical Indian meals. Which should be my kitchen's Mobil 1 ?

Someone told me olive oil is good, but this post and some other ones say otherwise.

Thanks!

Last edited by GTO : 1st October 2018 at 16:44.
GTO is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st October 2018, 16:29   #2
Senior - BHPian

Re: The Oil Thread (cooking, not engine)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
As a subject matter expert, I can tell you there is no clear answer to your question, Rush.

Plenty of factors including fatty acid profile, oil characteristics during cooking including smoke point come into play. With India, the decision gets even more complicated because of regional preferences for various oils for various dishes. A lot of people could disagree with me, so to keep it brief, I can tell you this... for any kind of dishes where no heavy cooking, deeping frying is required, get cold pressed olive oil. It is THE global gold standard as far as edible oils are concerned.

For deep frying and specific to Indian dishes; cold pressed mustard, groundnut and sunflower oil should be preferred. Unfortunately, very hard to get these in the form I like, you will have to source raw material and get the crushing done by yourself, too much pain but surely worth it. I, being from North Indian farming family, can't live without ghee in any of my dishes! I know, sounds ridiculous!