Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Bicycles
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 10th September 2018, 17:20   #3856
BHPian

Re: The Bicycles thread

A bicycle is a lightweight machine and moves as a result of manual physical inputs. Unlike a car, where you may take a while to realise that you have been driving with low engine oil levels, but still getting decent performance, with a bicycle, you will immediately know if something is amiss. This is because the human body can generate comparatively less force and you need the best out of the machine to get your optimum performance.

I have been riding for quite a few years now and as the years have gone by, I have come to realise that while components like mainly wheels and to a lesser extent, components like derailleurs play a part, the most cruicial is the frame.

Not only is the material used to build the frame extremely important, but also the size and the geometry of the angles.

In fact, riding for all these years, I realised that most frames are not perfectly suited to my physical dimensions. So, I went ahead and got a frame built by Praveen Prabhakaran of Pune. He used very high quality steel tubes and lugs of my choice. The resultant frame rides so well that I hardly ride my other frames, including a Fuji Carbon frame.

So, to answer your question, the frame is the most important component of the whole bike. Another reason for its importance is, it is the most expensive of all the parts. The other parts all fit onto the frame. So, if the frame is not built out of the best quality materials, or is not perfectly aligned, the result will not be the best. So, one should always buy the best frame one can afford. Parts can be upgraded over time.

I had once, as an experiment purchased an Avon steel frame and built a fixed gear bike with it. It was terrible. The steel was so flexy that I rode it maybe twice and then gave the frame away.