Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Bicycles

Old 6th July 2019, 13:28   #4246

Re: The Bicycles thread

Originally Posted by Hunter3077 View Post
Bumping up the post. Can someone please recommend some sane and logical options? With respect to the pre owned Merida Reacto 400, time is slipping by.
Thanks and Cheers.

I did not know that BMC was sold in India. Can you post photos?

I used to think that they were all imports.

A friend uses the SCR 0. Very happy. Another riding buddy bought the wrong size. Miserable. Its a race geometry.

Polygon Strattos is a nice geometry bike. Lots of randonneurs using it. More endurance geometry.

The Merida Reacto is pure race. Aero. Not everyone's cup of tea.

Cheers, Doc

Last edited by ebonho : 6th July 2019 at 13:31.
Old 6th July 2019, 14:37   #4247

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
I did not know that BMC was sold in India. Can you post photos?
Attaching pics of BMC Teammachine ALR01, the same one that I rode and had quite a good experience, Sora groupset though.

The Bicycles thread-img20190701wa0007.jpg

The Bicycles thread-img20190701wa0012.jpg

The Bicycles thread-img20190701wa0008.jpg

The Bicycles thread-img20190701wa0011.jpg

Last edited by aah78 : 26th September 2019 at 21:05. Reason: Quote trimmed.Pictures inserted in-line.
Old 6th July 2019, 18:22   #4248

Any users of Decathlon's Inride 500 trainer over here. It is the cheapest fluid trainer available on market today and I am only looking for a trainer for casual use. Basically, I have a Schwinn Sporterra which I used to use in Chandigarh and hasn't been used since I moved to the mountains in 2015.I need to exercise which doesn't put strain on my knees and hence looking to use the bike instead of spending a lot of money on an elliptical or the likes. At 12k,it has pretty decent reviews and I would probably able to get a demo at the store although not 100% sure of that.
Old 6th July 2019, 19:20   #4249

Attaching pics of BMC Teammachine ALR01, the same one that I rode and had quite a good experience, Sora groupset though.
Looks neat. Though personally I'm not a great fan of these dropped seat stays (same as the Reacto). No reason ... just aesthetically.

In this price range (70-90k) you have a lot of choice. But you must look at the Scott Addict. Probably the most vfm priced carbon bike and the only one in this range from a major manufacturer.

You should be able to get the Tiagra one with discount and hard negotiation in around 80k.

Cheers, Doc
Old 7th July 2019, 07:31   #4250

Looks neat. Though personally I'm not a great fan of these dropped seat stays (same as the Reacto). No reason ... just aesthetically.

In this price range (70-90k) you have a lot of choice. But you must look at the Scott Addict. Probably the most vfm priced carbon bike and the only one in this range from a major manufacturer.

You should be able to get the Tiagra one with discount and hard negotiation in around 80k.

Cheers, Doc
Thank you for the suggestions Doc. I have narrowed down the options to two models.
1. Polygon Strattos S5 with 105 groupset and carbon fork ~ 90k.
2. Giant SCR 0 with Tiagra groupset ~70k.
I should be able to make the purchase within the week.
Thanks and Cheers
Old 7th July 2019, 07:38   #4251

Thank you for the suggestions Doc. I have narrowed down the options to two models.
1. Polygon Strattos S5 with 105 groupset and carbon fork ~ 90k.
2. Giant SCR 0 with Tiagra groupset ~70k.
I should be able to make the purchase within the week.
Thanks and Cheers
Why don't you also take a look at the Merida Scultura. They (the Indian importer is based out of Pune) usually give great discounts to clear inventory from time to time and I have a friend who 2-3 years ago picked up the 105 (with carbon seatpost) for around 75k. It's as much race as the SCR and Strattos are. The latter maybe the least of the three.

Cheers, Doc

P.S. Please also note that the SCR 0 for 70k is very old stock (2016) and is the old Tiagra ...

Last edited by ebonho : 7th July 2019 at 07:52.
Old 7th July 2019, 12:52   #4252

My first time riding on Hyderabad highway.It was epic to say the least.The only scary part was the crazy crosswinds as I was passing by the Jakkur airstrip.
The Bicycles thread-screenshot_201907071250052.png
Old 8th July 2019, 13:18   #4253

Tank and the missile

Doc
Beautiful!

Doc, need your inputs.

I have an offer for Triban 520 (not the disk brakes) for 37k.

If you have missed my earlier post; I am a runner, currently nursing an injury, may be out of running for few months. Took up cycling to keep myself moving in a basic Hero Sprint. Over 3 weeks graduated from 15 to 80 kms and finally did my first 100km on 4th week on a borrowed Giant.

I have fallen in love with cycling!

I had planned to invest around 25k. But this Triban 520 is tempting. Please help with other suggestions and views. Before this offer I had almost zeroed on Montra Blues 1.2.
Old 8th July 2019, 17:05   #4254

I own Montra Rock 1.0 which has 26*2.1 MTB block pattern tyres.
Have done close to 1.5K in one year roughly, there is a itch to upgrade components.

Suspension is a big negative on this bike since its Zoom, however suntour basic suspension is expensive, so have to live with this.

Just did Pune-Lonvala, and immediately felt the need to change tyres.
Any suggestions about size, pattern and particular shop in Pune where I can get it done?
Old 8th July 2019, 17:15   #4255

Originally Posted by LoneRidder View Post
Beautiful!
Is it the black and white one with a double ring Sora?

The Bicycles thread-btwin.jpg

If yes, 37K is a cracker of a deal (here the lowest a couple of my friends have got was 40K).

Very good bike. Friend of mine just did the Hyderabad 1000 km BRM on it. Another friend just completed his SR on it.

Cheers, Doc

Last edited by aah78 : 26th September 2019 at 21:10. Reason: Image (re-sized) inserted in-line. Quote trimmed.
Old 8th July 2019, 17:16   #4256

Lot of crazy expensive hi-tech bikes here

Bought a basic BTWIN Riverside 100 couple of days back and rode 8KM straight to home. I was riding bicycle after a gap of almost 20-22 years.
Old 8th July 2019, 17:53   #4257

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
Lot of crazy expensive hi-tech bikes here

Bought a basic BTWIN Riverside 100 couple of days back and rode 8KM straight to home. I was riding bicycle after a gap of almost 20-22 years.
Congratulations. This is how my experience started with a rockrider 16 months ago. Remember telling the salesman I might ride a maximum of 5-10kms a day. But later this became an addiction and within no time was doing 50kms and the itch to upgrade to a roadie started and bought one too. So all the best. See you in a roadie soon.
Old 8th July 2019, 18:34   #4258

Is it the black and white one with a double ring Sora?
Thank you Doc!

Yes it is double ring Sora. If you could help, how is the breaking? During discussion with sales, he revealed that the breaks are not great, specially at downhill, hence they are stopping the model.
Old 8th July 2019, 18:46   #4259

Originally Posted by LoneRidder View Post
Thank you Doc!

Yes it is double ring Sora. If you could help, how is the breaking? During discussion with sales, he revealed that the breaks are not great, specially at downhill, hence they are stopping the model.
Taking the liberty to post in colloquial Hindi ... bacche ki jaan lega kya!

Bhai where in the world is any major manufacturer today giving you even a Claris in 40k, leave alone with a lifetime warranty on frame and fork?

And the standard Decathlon 2 year warranty on everything else, few questions asked? Including their own brand puncture protect tyres.

It's beyond a good deal or a steal to be honest. Just make sure you don't compromise on size.

Never heard anything about brakes from either of my friends. One has over 6000 km on his bike. Nothing good aftermarket shoes won't solve.

The did not stop the model. They get a new range each year.

The Triban 520 was replaced by the excellent RC 520 for 55k. Which is why they are clearing old stock at these ridiculous prices. Even here is Pune there is an L remaining if anyone is interested ....

Cheers, Doc

Last edited by ebonho : 8th July 2019 at 18:50.
Old 10th July 2019, 14:30   #4260

Originally Posted by rdst_1 View Post
Can anyone help me with this. Looking to buy it tomorrow, so any inputs will be appreciated.
Sorry mate, the best I can do is point you to the various online reviews in India and UK sites. From those, I gather that this is a good value product and ca become smart with the add-on kit and you get one year sub to B'Twin Training, which provides virtual routes to cycle on.

Hope this helps.