Team-BHP > Shifting gears

Search this Thread
Old 28th August 2019, 16:25   #16
BHPian

Re: My experience of getting fired!

Reading your experience was very difficult for me. I came close to being fired once, and your experience reminded me of that time. It was quite similar to your experience, but the impact was much worse.

I am a technical writer, and one fine day I heard news that the development for project which I was handling was transferred to China, and all employees in the team were asked to leave after serving their notice period. Luckily for me, they informed me two days later that I would not be asked to leave since they did not have anyone in the Chinese team who could write in English.

During those two days (and nights), I lost my sleep and could think only about the housing loan I had taken a couple of months prior to that. I couldn't think of any way to repay the loan. I lived in denial for the first few hours, thinking that things will somehow be okay. I then realized the gravity of the situation and started blaming myself for everything wrong with the world.

That was a huge wake-up call, and I decided to start actively searching for another job. I got lucky and found another job which was better in every sense. Even today, when something goes wrong, I compare that with the time I came close to being laid off, and realize that my life is awesome.

Losing your job can be very stressful, but it will make you a stronger person (or make you feel that way) if you manage to find another job soon enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post
Family support was crucial at this time.

Quote:
Not a single colleague from work helped me with anything; not a referral nor a word of support or encouragement. So much for people that I spent at least a third of my working days with.