Team-BHP - On the Amazon Rainforest Fires

-   Shifting gears (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifting-gears/)
-   -   On the Amazon Rainforest Fires (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifting-gears/212621-amazon-rainforest-fires.html)

Brazil’s Amazon rainforest is burning and the fire can be seen from space. The images were taken with the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS), which lives on NASA’s Aqua satellite.The Amazon rainforest has been ablaze for weeks now. Brazil’s space research center, the National Institute for Space Research, which monitors fire activity with satellites, said the number of fires in Brazil between Jan. 1 and Aug. 20 rose by 84% from the same period in 2018, with more than 70,000 fires detected in Brazil’s Amazon rainforest so far this year — the highest number since records began in 2013.
The Amazon often referred to as the planet's lungs, produces 20% of the oxygen in the Earth's atmosphere. It is considered vital in slowing global warming, and it is home to uncountable species of fauna and flora. Roughly half the size of the United States, it is the largest rainforest on the planet. The smoke from the forest fire has reached all the way to Sao Paulo, more than 1,700 miles away. Images from the city show the sky pitch-black in the middle of the afternoon, the sun blanketed by smoke and ash.
Link: https://www.space.com/amazon-rainfor...ite-views.html

Mods : Kindly repost to the right thread, as I was unable to see anything on this matter or else delete if finding this unnecessary.

While this is sad in terms of the loss of forest cover and wiping out many species from the face of the earth, there seems to be other motives behind this wanton destruction of the Amazon forests.

While campaigning for president last year, Mr. Bolsonaro declared that Brazil’s vast protected lands were an obstacle to economic growth and promised to open them up to commercial exploitation.

There also seems to be vested interests in play here and the president blames Europe for this.

The connection comes through Stephen Schwarzman —a major Trump ally and someone who has donated millions to Senator McConnell — the co-founder and CEO of Blackstone.

Schwarzman and Blackstone own a majority stake in Hidrovias do Brasil — one of two Brazilian companies controlled by the major U.S. investment firm — that have contributed in significant ways to the destruction of the Amazonian rainforest in the country as they expand deforestation to clear land for grain and soybean crops and build highways and shipping terminals.

Mr. Bolsonaro has brushed off international criticism of his positions, arguing that calls to preserve large parts of Brazil are part of a global plot to hamper his country’s development. This month, he accused European leaders of pushing for stronger conservation of the Amazon because they hope to develop it themselves in the future.

and even took a personal turn

What percentage of these would have started with human intervention and what percentage would be natural (wild fire)? Any data on that?
I had watched a TedX video in which the presenter was arguing that regular 'controlled' small fires are required to prevent such large scale fires. But that is not practical in such vast area.

With the fire burning down the forest, so much land is up for grabs, I guess it all translates into dollars, everyone who is someone will want a finger in the pie.

Originally Posted by AltoLXI (Post 4647636)
There also seems to be vested interests in play here and the president blames Europe for this.

This is very sad. I was surprised when the Brazilian president turned down the offer from France (and even blasted Mr. Macron)and now it all seems to make sense.

https://www.spiked-online.com/2019/0...th-of-ecocide/

Here's a different perspective on the hyperbole that we are being subject to. Bolsanaro was right to snub Macron, the latter can't take take of his own countrymen and has deliberately destroyed the living standards of the working class to boost his carbon credentials. Brazil's rainforest belongs to them and only they should get to decide how its maintained or utilized.

Here's another perspective on the Amazon fires - this one says that the claim of Amazon rainforests producing 20% of the oxygen in the atmosphere is wrong.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/michael.../#4f2956785bde

On the Amazon Rainforest Fires-fire.png
[Courtesy: http://queimadas.dgi.inpe.br/queimad...ticas_paises/]

I am not endorsing the views in this article. Just stumbled upon this when I made a Google search with keywords "why Amazon fires are good" :)

There was an article in today's indian express about how the Amazon is more of a carbon sink than an oxygen generator.

No one disputes the sheer importance of the Amazon. Just pointing out a different perspective about the 20% claim.

On a side note:
https://www.ctvnews.ca/world/fire-co...azes-1.4568630

I read an article on national geographic stating that thousands of ranchers who rear cattle for beef, & hence clear forests for grazing purposes, are largely responsible for the uncontrolled fires. But of course, there's no doubt there's a high stakes political game also at play here, involving moneyed politicians, large scale corporations & corporate greed. In the end, it's all about cash.
I believe humanity is paying the price for its never ending quest for self improvement. Environmental awareness has been generated, however we're still not willing to let go of our desire for materialism, this negatively impacting the environment.

Originally Posted by AltoLXI (Post 4647636)
there seems to be other motives behind this wanton destruction of the Amazon forests.

As a child when I read the story in which a woodcutter axes off the branch on which he was sitting, I wondered if we, humans were that foolish.

I guess we are. We are so foolish that we're willing to pollute the very air we breathe, destroy the only home we have, muddle the very water we drink. All just to assert who's going to rule over the hell we're creating in this process.

Jab jungle me aag lagti to un pedo ka hisab ho jata hai to jal jatey hai, saath he usnka bhe hisab ho jaata hai jo kat jaate hai !

An old saying, yet very relevant in every economy. Unethical sourcing of wood is a major revenue mafia similar to blood diamonds and no one wants to get into scrutiny of so much of uncontrolled clearing of forests. Forest fire is the easiest way to account for everything and make the slate clean again. Amazon is no exception, this is true for almost every country.

More so post fire, it is highly unlikely that the buffer area / outskirts may continue to stay within forest cover; the same may be converted for other land use !