Old 15th February 2007, 19:19   #1

Of Valentines Day. And a Vtec.....

So the Old Man of Team-BHP is a sedate cruiser. Whose taste in cars - a beautifully restored Ambassador and a bling Optra 1.8 - reflects his driving style. More looking at a smooth ride and enjoying a sedate ride rather than outright high-revving?

WRONG!!

The Old Man takes my Vtec for a spin last evening, and says that he found his new love. Coincidence that it was on Valentines. Out-gunning a Skoda Octavia and a Ford Ikon, he drove like a man possessed pulling some manouveurs which admittedly, he "wouldnt in the Optra". Hitting the revv limiter a couple of times, Rudra does not even see 4th gear once. Over a 6 km drive. Seeing a side to the old man that I could have never dreamt of (or had a nightmare about) was awesome.........I enjoyed see him like a child and his new toy.

Final words before he left : How much for your Vtec? Mr. Sen - We made you a car guy!

A picture that he took after his first Vtec experience:

Old 15th February 2007, 19:25   #2

Seeing a side to the old man that I could have never dreamt of (or had a nightmare about) was awesome.........I enjoyed see him like a child and his new toy.
Mr. Sen - We made you a car guy!
Errr...I heard of what he did with Sam's Lancer sometime back so I had no doubts about his driving inclinations.

I also know that KSRTC (KArnataka, not Kerala) drivers are scared of a certain black Amby...so much for docile old men.

Last edited by Steeroid : 15th February 2007 at 19:37.
Old 15th February 2007, 19:35   #3

ol man does it again..
Old 15th February 2007, 19:35   #4

Nice angle. And see how the front grille as well as the red house at the back are all in focus? My photos never come out that way, except under a bright sun. I wonder how he does it. What's the secret, Rudra, not just a steady hand. There is definitely more to it.
Old 15th February 2007, 19:39   #5

Well done GTO!! Welcome to the VTEC appreciator's club Rudra, nice to know you enjoyed driving her!

Now when do we get to see a review of Rudra's own VTEC ?
Old 15th February 2007, 20:41   #6

And another one gone, and another one gone
Another one bites the dust
Hey, I'm gonna get you too
Another one bites the dust!!

Thats what GTO is trying to say
Old 15th February 2007, 20:51   #7

Hehe yeah...another one bitten by the Vtec bug

Rudra sir, now you know why I drive that way

I hope I dont get to hear about my driving style from you for a real long time from now!!!
Old 15th February 2007, 21:22   #8

"keep on keep it on".
eagerly waiting for rudra sir's report on his ' an evening with a vtech '

there seems to be a propaganda throught out the thread to prove you are an old man, its time to show all you are young at heart.

Last edited by kkr2k2 : 15th February 2007 at 21:24.
Old 15th February 2007, 21:50   #9

I think the only right thing to do now is to maneouvre a step ahead and gift the dear gent the Vtec. All part of the Valentine Day's special.
Old 15th February 2007, 21:51   #10

Does this mean Rudra has never driven Ajmat's VTEC?

GTO, should have given him the Merc, would have been interesting to see whether he too over-revved in 2nd everytime like me.

prabuddhadg: Higher F-Stops would give the depth of field you need. That angle is possible because of his 20mm lens.
Old 16th February 2007, 08:59   #11

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Does this mean Rudra has never driven Ajmat's VTEC?
He has...to the extent of wanting to buy it from me but never for a long run since the revamp.
Old 16th February 2007, 09:19   #12

The OHC Vtec is in on its last legs & the fan club seems to be growing all the time. i think we should address this problem to Honda.
Old 16th February 2007, 09:45   #13

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
i think we should address this problem to Honda.
They will say they already have a replacement. Its called the Honda Civic. :P
Old 16th February 2007, 10:21   #14

and a nice photo shoot as well.......
Old 16th February 2007, 12:53   #15

Originally Posted by sajo View Post
They will say they already have a replacement. Its called the Honda Civic. :P
Nahi yaar Sajo I wish it was *sigh* but the Civic is missing the zest & the x-factor that the VTEC has, which is why the VTEC such high praise from drivers. No replacement is there as of now.