Old 16th March 2020, 23:46   #16

re: Working from home? Show us your home office

Here's our rather minimalistic home-office setup.

I split working time between home and office, better half is fully remote except client meetings, so we decided to get a place where we could have some dedicated home-office space.

The dark desk is mine, the white one hers. I get a little cabinet built-in, the full cabinet is all hers and meticulously organized.

Need some electrical clean-up to sort out cables all over the place, pending DIY project.

Working from home? Show us your home office-img_20200316_233908.jpg

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 16th March 2020 at 23:49.
Chetan_Rao is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 00:00   #17

re: Working from home? Show us your home office

This is my current set up with jugaad chair!!

Working from home? Show us your home office-img_20200316_151718.jpg

Last edited by aah78 : 19th March 2020 at 19:49. Reason: Picture inserted in-line.
Latheesh is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 07:56   #18

Re: Working from home? Show us your home office

This is my setup.
1 office laptop.
1 personal laptop
1 personal desktop.

I will upgrade to a dual monitor setup in the upcoming amazon sale.
1 Ton Air Conditioner for the summers.
Team BHP mug for refueling.

Working from home? Show us your home office-20200317_071208.jpg

Working from home? Show us your home office-20200317_074258.jpg

Working from home? Show us your home office-20200317_071555.jpg

Working from home? Show us your home office-20200317_071639.jpg

Working from home? Show us your home office-20200317_075201.jpg

Working from home? Show us your home office-20200317_074457.jpg

Last edited by aah78 : 19th March 2020 at 19:50. Reason: Pictures inserted in-line.
F150 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 08:08   #19

Hahaha. I wish I could work from home. Feeling so envious. But being a doctor no days are off for me. Have to go to the hospital every day including sundays. Phew.
knrn is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 08:52   #20

I cannot believe how neat & tidy everyone's home workplace is! Admit it, you cleaned it up just for the photo, didn't you?
comfortablynumb is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 09:00   #21

Originally Posted by F150 View Post
This is my setup.
1 office laptop.
1 personal laptop
1 personal desktop.

I will upgrade to a dual monitor setup in the upcoming amazon sale.
1 Ton Air Conditioner for the summers.
Team BHP mug for refueling.
What's the antenna like thing next to the mug and speaker?
Old 17th March 2020, 09:03   #22

In a lighter vein (not to be taken in seriousness)

This "Working From Home" is going to to make lot of folks realize how pathetic their current broadband plans are and this in turn is going to make many folks upgrade to the gigabyte plans that most ISPs provide.

Another fall out, some folks may get a bit more "healthy" (in the Indian sense).

And the worst fall out -
Divorce rates in China have risen significantly because 'couples are spending too much time together at home' during coronavirus self-isolation, according to register offices across the country.

Over 300 couples have scheduled appointments to get a divorce since February 24, said Lu Shijun, the manager of a marriage registry in Dazhou, Sichuan Province of south-western China.
Source: Daily Mail UK

So to all the good folks, kindly upgrade your broadband plans, subscribe to more OTT platforms, self quarantine and do not forget to take care of your health and marriages.

More power to you.
As for me, my industry makes me stay at home every time I complete my short contracts.

Off Topic - I am jealous of many of the home offices our fellow members have. Kudos on the cleanliness & order I notice on most work stations.

Last edited by Ithaca : 17th March 2020 at 09:05.
Ithaca is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 09:06   #23

Originally Posted by comfortablynumb View Post
I cannot believe how neat & tidy everyone's home workplace is! Admit it, you cleaned it up just for the photo, didn't you?
I did not

Ok. Here's my home office setup. The left side is mine - the right side is my son's study table.

I'm sharing my office screen, so I can make do with my old laptop and an old 17" monitor.

Working from home? Show us your home office-img_20200317_081942.jpg

Priority was to get the keyboard and mouse at the perfect height, so that I don't have any health issues in future

Working from home? Show us your home office-img_20200317_081948.jpg

Notice the shelf on the table? It's the speaker rack off an old Contessa.

Working from home? Show us your home office-img_20200317_082024.jpg
samaspire is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 09:36   #24

Originally Posted by comfortablynumb View Post
He He

What's the antenna like thing next to the mug and speaker?
It is the AC Wifi receiver of my desktop.
https://www.amazon.in/PCE-AC55BT-Wir...tronics&sr=1-1

Originally Posted by Ithaca View Post
So to all the good folks, kindly upgrade your broadband plans, subscribe to more OTT platforms, self quarantine and do not forget to take care of your health and marriages.

Off Topic - I am jealous of many of the home offices our fellow members have. Kudos on the cleanliness & order I notice on most work stations.
Agree. My connection seems to be holding up good,as of now. With the closure of gym, I haven't been able to workout since 2 weeks. I am sure I will gain some weight. I am on planned WFH till the end of this month as per the org guidelines.

I think people should also invest in a good chair with ample back/lumbar support.

Name:  Sp3.PNG
Views: 7405
Size:  26.9 KB

Last edited by aah78 : 19th March 2020 at 23:52. Reason: Picture inserted in-line.
F150 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 10:07   #25

Don't have a dedicated home office setup, just use the dining table. But this might be a good opportunity to start figuring out one, since this situation looks like it will go on for a while.

Lots to be grateful for. For people like us, these restrictions are easy to bear. Feel for those people whose businesses are directly affected by this situation. One friend has had to close his business because it depended mainly on people coming there in groups and doing team activities. Another friend in Australia is also in a tough situation as his company organizes outdoor group activities and all those have been cancelled till mid-April.

Must say am looking at my company in a different light now. Am grateful management acted fast and mandated working from home much before most companies. They even cancelled our biggest annual customer event in the US, incurring certain immediate and future losses, much before it became obvious that it would be necessary to do so and before the government made it mandatory to do so.
am1m is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 10:27   #26

Originally Posted by am1m View Post
Don't have a dedicated home office setup, just use the dining table.
Gents, watch out for back pain after a week or two. Even if you have a proper desk and chair, it is very likely that your chair is not as supportive as the one at your office.

Your options:

1) If you think this WFH situation will drag on, buy a comfortable office chair.
2) If you don't want to spend money on a new chair, stick with your old chair - but take a walk and do some stretches every hour or so.

Last edited by SmartCat : 17th March 2020 at 10:29.
SmartCat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 11:40   #27

This is mine. Have the mac mini as personal system and the laptop is official.

Working from home? Show us your home office-img_20200317_113253-1.jpg
Vid6639 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 13:26   #28

Here is mine.
Working from home? Show us your home office-pic.jpg
Originally Posted by bluevolt View Post
This is an old picture, so ignore that age old MTNL 1MBPS connection router, it has been replaced with 200MBPS airtel optic fibre about 15 months back
Did you say old picture? See this picture of May'2001 (Yes, 19 years old). I am using the same table if you notice. It has heard enough elephant's trumpet like sound of dial up internet of those days.

Working from home? Show us your home office-5.jpg
mukeshgoel is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 17th March 2020, 14:13   #29

Originally Posted by Rachit.K.Dogra View Post
Is this a custom made setup? I mean the wardrobe and the study table was custom made?

I really like this setup. For a small bedroom which is the case with most apartments these days, this is quite a nice way to squeeze your study table.

Thank for sharing.

Rachit
Yes it was my idea and was executed by the carpenter. I can share dimensions if you are interested.
Old 17th March 2020, 14:53   #30

This is one wall of my bedroom converted to a home office. Having spoilt by the dual-screen setup at the office, I might get a second monitor if the current wfh situation is extended for a longer period.

Working from home? Show us your home office-homeoffice_20200317.jpg
Jaguar is offline   (4) Thanks