View Poll Results: Your priority purchases post lockdown?
Car/ Bike/ Scooter 29 5.43%
Electronic gadgets (TV, cellphone, laptop etc) 71 13.30%
Clothes, footwear etc 36 6.74%
Lifestyle products (Home Gym, etc) 19 3.56%
Household items (Refrigerator, Furniture, kitchen items etc) 64 11.99%
Others (please do mention) 74 13.86%
Not planning on buying anything 241 45.13%
Voters: 534. You may not vote on this poll

Old 30th April 2020, 12:40   #106

Re: What's the first thing you'll buy after the lockdown ends?

Originally Posted by KrisTvpm View Post
The very first thing that I'd buy will be a chair *exactly* same as the one I use in my office :-)

Oh, I miss my office (but not the commute) !
We both seem to be sailing in the same boat!
I had a good chair, however I gave it to my sister long before the lockdown.

I already have a couple of herniated discs and thus posture becomes all the more important. So will invest in a good chair right after the lockdown.

I was planning to change my 6 year old ecosport tdci, titanium. However, looking at the current scenario and uncertainty, it's going to be a wait and watch game for me.

The positive side of the lockdown for me atleast is that it has given me a lot of patience to think through things before acting. Not just in terms of buying a new product, but overall.
Post lockdown, I am sure my purchasing habits are going to change for good. Only essential items on purchase list from now on!
ObsessedByFIAT is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th April 2020, 12:44   #107

A hair clipper! Recommendations?
oldshivabull is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th April 2020, 12:52   #108

Few things

- Work Table(s) for both of us
- Office chairs.
- UPS for the router.
- Street-side "schezuan" egg fried rice; one "Chinese" thing I can't resist
Old 30th April 2020, 12:53   #109

I don’t know why there is no mention about garments. Going by social media posts, looks like most of us will not fit into our "Before Corona" shirts and pants

I am really looking forward to buy a comfortable office chair. The unergonomic posture offered by plastic chair is messing up my health. With lot of people doing WFH, I hope government will include the office chairs / workstations under essential item.
Old 30th April 2020, 12:57   #110

Managed to get my Linea scratched first time, in it's 3.5 year ownership period, during the lockdown. Have to get it fixed before all. Some furniture, CC camera after some time.
Old 30th April 2020, 13:04   #111

Well, the idea is to upgrade the GPU in my PC. Unfortunately, couldn't get anything delivered from the regular retailers (PrimeABGB, MD Computers, etc) since the lockdown had started.

I had to get another pair of Hawaiian slippers as well, since my puma's tore. Since Amazon wasn't delivering, I used jugaad to fix them yesterday since my fuzzy slippers aren't really conducive for the summers.

Beyond that, a battery replacement is in the works for my XS and my APC BR1000G.

So since this is all tech and "non-essential" stuff, all of it has gotta wait. I highly doubt a lot of these things will be available even after the 3rd.
Old 30th April 2020, 13:10   #112

This is what my TV currently looks like Its basically held together by scotch tape.

What's the first thing you'll buy after the lockdown ends?-tv.jpeg

It still works but it has served its life's purpose during the lockdown.. Considering the economic conditions, plan to buy a full HD non smart TV and keep continuing to use the Android box I currently use rather than buy a good 4k TV that I was planning. Lets see what is available post lifting of lockdown.

And definitely a battery for the Car after gauging its condition. Its hit its 4 year mark and has got completely discharged due to the lockdown.

Last edited by aniketvu : 30th April 2020 at 13:11.
Old 30th April 2020, 13:13   #113

Voted for Household items (Refrigerator, Furniture, kitchen items etc).

Just a day before the lockdown, I almost placed an order for a bigger refrigerator for my home but refrained from doing it because of the rumors of complete lockdown.

Originally Posted by DigitalOne View Post
Few things
- Street-side "schezuan" egg fried rice; one "Chinese" thing I can't resist
Yeah, all these days I am missing proper bandi style egg friedrice/noodles. I am sure I will go for it. Also, I am a big fan of proper Hyderabadi biryani. Trying to cook at home, but nothing can match the taste of the restaurant cooked one.
vijayshouree is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th April 2020, 13:14   #114

Well the TV conked off, so we are currently having to manage with a very old 21 inch CRT TV. Thank God for that, we really don't know what we would be doing without that CRT TV! So LED TV is high on priority list to buy immediately after lock-down is lifted.

And, if WFH is going to be extended from my office, a nice comfortable chair is second on my list. I suffered a lot by using the plastic chair for more than 9 hours each day during this lock-down.
Old 30th April 2020, 13:46   #115

With a 2 year old tyrannosaurus in the house, one really can't buy anything expensive, here's what I need urgently to plan for the next wave of lockdown:

1. Fevikwik /Araldite / Scotch Tape (lots of packs): For fixing broken toys, spectacles.
2. Fevicol (that big drum): Broken furniture + making toys
3. Cardboards / Chart papers / Wooden strips for making toys at home.
4. Minimum ten hot wheels cars which I'll release in a staggered manner over the year. I've realized that they are the only ones which have life expectancy of more than 2 weeks under normal playing conditions.
5. Crayons, Water colors, coloring books
6. 'Patience' if someone is selling it
NiInJa is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 30th April 2020, 14:42   #116

Voted for Others:

* Need to buy a trimmer. Have realised the value of one.
* Need to buy a new wall socket for the AC unit. Current one in my room burnt and Chennai summer is here.
* Need to buy a few car care products - Wax/Polish/clay bar. Project for any future lockdown.
* A Lazy-boy due to increased OTT platform content consumption.
* Finally if all goes well and no new cases eventually, planning to get a second car purely for the love of driving pleasure. Finalised three from totally different segments and offering different forms of driving experiences. Budget is capped at 1.5 lakhs
* Lastly - Need to eat Non Vegetarian food. It has been 45 days.
Old 30th April 2020, 14:48   #117

Voted for Car/ Bike/ Scooter.

I used to car pool to work prior to lockdown but the current scenario atleast for quite some time seems bleak. Hence, I would be buying a new Scooter to add to my existing Bike (R15 V 2.0) to be my ride partner to work.
Old 30th April 2020, 14:54   #118

I don't think of buying anything soon after the lockdown.

Though I don't see this in any replies above.. I would love to make arrangements/ buy ticket, for bringing my college going kid back home from Canada.
Have been contacting the Indian Consulate and they said they would be trying to do their best for bringing all kids back as soon as possible.

Hoping and praying for the well being of all.
bajica is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th April 2020, 14:58   #119

I badly need a streaming device for my TV, never felt the need for TV to be connected more than during the lockdown! So probably Chromecast is going to be the first purchase!!
Old 30th April 2020, 15:15   #120

Originally Posted by oldshivabull View Post
A hair clipper! Recommendations?
WAHL - Especially the one with Li-Ion battery for travels. Works while plugged in too. Serving me nicely for last 5 years. Keeps my receding hairline in good shape, but never a replacement for a real hair dresser/barber.
Sedate is offline   (1) Thanks