Old 17th May 2020, 23:53   #61

Re: ‘Replace China’: India looks to lure over 1,000 US businesses

Originally Posted by sram View Post
The sad reality here is they are assembled in India, that means every part is imported from China and gets Assembled in India.
I agree with your point that they are assembled here. Most parts are imported from Vietnam if my memory serves me right, not China. Correct me if I am wrong.

The point I have been trying to stress on is that you have to start somewhere in the manufacturing process. Samsung started the world's largest mobile phone manufacturing (assembling, as you put it) unit in Noida. They have been churning out phones since a couple of years from that plant.

Now in January 2020, Samsung announced they will be setting up a display manufacturing unit in India. If all goes well and they see value in India, they may gradually shift production of chip sets and other parts to India as well.

Slowly and steadily what this will do apart from generating employment is, it will create an ecosystem that will have the know how, tooling, processes, of manufacturing a Mobile Phone from scratch. It is a long drawn process and takes time.

Similarly, if such things are followed in other verticals it will result in massive manufacturing prowess for our country.

Originally Posted by ashokrajagopal View Post
Well, your post had self reliance spelt all over, and you were explaining how we became self reliant, I had to ask.
I have no other doubt except the question of how you connect that concept to the way mobile phones, chips are being sold in India.

Xiomi has highest market share in India. All brands together Chinese phones hold more than 50% of Indian market. What kind of replacing China is it if we assemble it here ?
Good Luck to you, Sir! Re-read my posts for better clarity of thought.

Originally Posted by hothatchaway View Post
I personally did not understand the big fuss being created about overseas companies manufacturing here. Many currently do despite the decade old hurdles, which haven't gone away. And suspending labour laws is certainly not the incentive most credible companies look for. We need genuine reforms instead.
The US wants to move manufacturing of its companies out of China. All the other countries want a slice of the pie moving away from China. India is one of the many interested and trying to bring them here. This is what the fuss is about.

I think the PM's address of self-reliance was because we were left to our own devices to fight this pandemic. Every country was trying to hoard whatever they had as nobody was able to predict what the future holds. We did not even have proper PPE's for our Coronawarriors, even the testing kits were being imported. There must have been numerous supply chain gaps and deficiencies that must have come to light. Hence his thrust towards a self reliant India.

As for the labour laws, I am not aware of the fine print but have been made aware by someone learned that most corporations fear labour unions.

Corporations are capitalist. Labour unions are socialist. They don't mix well.
nasa_hubble is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th May 2020, 06:32   #62

Originally Posted by nasa_hubble View Post

Good Luck to you, Sir! Re-read my posts for better clarity of thought.
You can choose not to answer how you define self reliance without IP, and somehow replacing China by manufacturing Chinese phones.
ashokrajagopal is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th May 2020, 09:22   #63

German footwear brand Von Wellx shifts production from China to India
By ANI | Last Updated at May 16 2020

https://wap.business-standard.com/ar...1600455_1.html

Excerpts
Casa Everz Gmbh, owner of healthy footwear brand Von Wellx, has decided to shift its entire production from China to India, demonstrating a start to the government's recent plans to bring foreign companies into the country.

The production will now happen at Agra in Uttar Pradesh in collaboration with Iatric Industries Pvt Ltd.

Von Wellx is a pioneer of healthy footwear with benefits like relieving feet, knees and back pain, protection of joints and muscles against shocks, and correct posture.

The brand is sold in over 80 countries and has over 100 million customers across the globe. It was launched in India in 2019 and is available at over 500 top retail locations and online.

"We are very happy to see that investment from Casa Everz Gmbh, which will be giving employment to so many people, is coming to India from China and especially to Uttar Pradesh," said state Minister for Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSMEs) Uday Bahan Singh.

Mr. Ashish Jain, Director and CEO of Iatric Industries, said the collaboration will help create over 10,000 direct and indirect jobs.
V.Narayan is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 18th May 2020, 09:58   #64

Time to bring in a reality check about what will eventually happen:

Following a phone call between Indonesian President Joko Widodo and his US counterpart Donald Trump, Indonesia gets ready to host US companies relocating from China:

Indonesia to host companies relocating from China following call from Trump

Last edited by AMG Power : 18th May 2020 at 10:24.
Old 18th May 2020, 11:14   #65

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
Normally they say old men get pessimistic about the 'good old days'. But at least on Team BHP, on matters of economics, I find the young members pessimistic about the country, its economy and the their future.
I may be entirely wrong here but I have seen in some psychology articles there is a phenomenon called as "Concept Creep" - the more things get better, the definition of what is good/better gets expanded, and people become dissatisfied if the expectations are not met.

Honestly, I have not seen this written about in terms of economy , but it might explain the pessimism, not only in team-bhp but also in general(think Bernie Sanders followers ).
DigitalOne is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th May 2020, 20:35   #66

Originally Posted by DigitalOne View Post
I may be entirely wrong here but I have seen in some psychology articles there is a phenomenon called as "Concept Creep" - the more things get better, the definition of what is good/better gets expanded, and people become dissatisfied if the expectations are not met.

Honestly, I have not seen this written about in terms of economy , but it might explain the pessimism, not only in team-bhp but also in general(think Bernie Sanders followers ).
There must also be something about the 'need to crib/complain'. Often when things are on the verge of improvement or have improved, there are people who will only look at the negative aspects. They will even find creative reasons to find faults and complain. In politics one might be motivated to complain in order to avoid giving credit to an opposing view/faction. Very famously Jack Welch complained about the Obama administration when the unemployment dropped below the critical 8% mark on the eve of Barrack Obama's election in 2012. Similarly since Modi is a polarizing figure, he may face unwarranted criticism even when he may have achieved something good.
smooth indian is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th May 2020, 23:21   #67

Originally Posted by Tucker48 View Post

Indian govt changed the law so that it can't be taken advantage of. And the changed law is that one retailer can't sell more than 50% of its goods to one marketplace(because that's the best the govt can do otherwise the law will become a deterrent to business).
And why is this a concern of the govt? I can understand protecting consumers from monopolies. That will arise when a marketplace has 80% share of a market.

If a small manufacturer is able to sell 80% of his produce through a particular marketplace, why should the government (or anyone for that matter) bother?
Old 19th May 2020, 01:10   #68

Originally Posted by chinkara View Post
And why is this a concern of the govt? I can understand protecting consumers from monopolies. That will arise when a marketplace has 80% share of a market.

If a small manufacturer is able to sell 80% of his produce through a particular marketplace, why should the government (or anyone for that matter) bother?
Just to correct myself itself, the changed law stated that any ecom company cannot sell on its platform through any subsidiary which I already mentioned in my post. But also any seller can't have more than 25%(earlier I said 50%) on one particular ecom platform.

Why? As I already said before, these marketplaces had their interests in atleast one of their sellers of their platform like cloudtail for Amazon and WS retail for Flipkart. After changing the law, these marketplaces sold off their stakes in these companies, although Amazon still owns 24% shares of cloudtail.

Back in 2015-16, WS retail was selling 80% of the total value of products sold on Flipkart. Cloudtail was selling around 9k crore of goods on Amazon in 2018.

How is it fair for other sellers if I sell my own products on my marketplace. I will always know which are the best selling products from small sellers and will sell exactly those products on priority listing and probably at a cheaper price as well but for how long these marketplaces will keep on bearing losses.

Laws are meant to be changed for good, the companies will always cry foul if the laws changed are to their disadvantage. The question is do we need growth at the cost of crony capitalism?

A small seller selling even 100% of his goods on one platform shouldn't bother anyone and the changed law is to protect small sellers. Probably they should have changed the law in terms of total revenue.
Old 19th May 2020, 07:14   #69

Mod Note: Please restrict the debate to how one can make oneself self-reliant.

We can debate policies and approaches rather than hidden political motives.
ampere is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2020, 10:17   #70

The biggest difference between Chinese and Indian workforce lies in the dedication. While neither is dedicated to work -
Chinese are made to work like slaves sic. -> BAD
Indians are made to stop work by their Labour Unions -> WORSE.
No foreign entrant organisation shall be successful, unless the menace of Labour Union is removed. Even the Maruti, with handsome salary package had strike, followed by vandalism in which one of their Manager was killed.
Old 19th May 2020, 11:42   #71

Originally Posted by Amrik Singh View Post
The biggest difference between Chinese and Indian workforce lies in the dedication. While neither is dedicated to work -
Chinese are made to work like slaves sic. -> BAD
Indians are made to stop work by their Labour Unions -> WORSE.
No foreign entrant organisation shall be successful, unless the menace of Labour Union is removed. Even the Maruti, with handsome salary package had strike, followed by vandalism in which one of their Manager was killed.
No commercial entity is immune to the effect of organised representation. Think about auto unions, Airline unions, or even sports unions. Ultimately, what works for the economy, works for the labor class. The key lies in firing up the economy, stimulating demand.
fhdowntheline is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2020, 12:01   #72

Originally Posted by fhdowntheline View Post
No commercial entity is immune to the effect of organised representation. Think about auto unions, Airline unions, or even sports unions. Ultimately, what works for the economy, works for the labor class. The key lies in firing up the economy, stimulating demand.
At times, strong action is required against striking force. For example, in India, Banking sector pays good salary package to its employees. Yet, going to strike is their annual ritual. If some of them are dissatisfied, from their working conditions, they may move out / step aside / resign and pave way for others. There are hundreds and thousands aspirants willing to take up their jobs.
Amrik Singh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2020, 16:22   #73

Originally Posted by Amrik Singh View Post
At times, strong action is required against striking force. For example, in India, Banking sector pays good salary package to its employees. Yet, going to strike is their annual ritual. If some of them are dissatisfied, from their working conditions, they may move out / step aside / resign and pave way for others. There are hundreds and thousands aspirants willing to take up their jobs.
Those hundreds of thousands of aspirants will end up doing the same thing as the current employees do. This is not about individual aspiration. What you call as "working conditions" is a very complex issue especially for public sector banks which largely work on the directives of babus in the ministry who do not have a clue of what banking means. Thats a topic that deserves its own thread.
My larger point is, government needs to create the necessary framework and let the industries compete in a level playing field.
fhdowntheline is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th May 2020, 16:33   #74

Meanwhile in India.

Maruti Suzuki writes off Rs 125 crore on obsolete BS-IV cars.
Several other companies are also expected to disclose their write-offs of BS-IV inventory in the coming weeks. (Source : Moneycontrol.com)

https://www.team-bhp.com/news/maruti...h-rs-125-crore
Old 19th May 2020, 16:56   #75

When the corona virus had just started to spread, people had projected that there would be a requirement for lakhs of ventilators. India lacked the ability to manufacture ventilators in the country. Mr. Anand Mahindra had proposed that M&M will manufacture ventilators for use during the pandemic. A lot of folks were pessimistic about Mahindra manufacturing ventilators.

Today Dr. Jagdish J Hiremath wrote the following on Twitter:

Just out of Prototype testing of Mahindra's ventilator.

Fantastic effort in such a short time. This ventilator can become the bulwark for protecting our high end ventilators. It has ICU design philosophy & can be used by anyone with little training ideal vent for T H & PHCs

‘Replace China’: India looks to lure over 1,000 US businesses-eyxokzu4ai_nlc.jpg

‘Replace China’: India looks to lure over 1,000 US businesses-eyxomzrueaeesbb.jpg

‘Replace China’: India looks to lure over 1,000 US businesses-eyxooiqu8aid36n.jpg

‘Replace China’: India looks to lure over 1,000 US businesses-eyxop0bvaac8k_l.jpg

Source:https://twitter.com/Kaalateetham/sta...70654697926658

This has been specifically developed for COVID emergency use and has the basic features of a ventilator. The fancy features can be added on later. Many of you will be able to identify the parts from the existing Mahindra and Jawa parts bin.

This is the benefit of having an ecosystem in place from which you can spin-off new products using the existing technology, during emergencies.

Would one consider this as a step towards being self-reliant?

Who Dares Wins.
nasa_hubble is offline   (3) Thanks