Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Bicycles

Old 4th December 2020, 10:38   #1

KTM cycles coming to India; To be priced from Rs. 30,000

KTM cycles will now be sold in India. According to a media report, the premium cycles will be priced in the range of Rs. 30,000 and Rs. 10 lakh.

KTM cycles coming to India; To be priced from Rs. 30,000-ktm-cycles.jpg

KTM has partnered with AlphaVector to distribute its premium cycles in the country. The company has its presence in over 350 Indian cities.

According to Sachin Chopra, Co-Founder and CEO, AlphaVector, the premium cycle segment is witnessing growth in India, especially in metro cities. The company expects markets of Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai, Pune and Hyderabad to account for 75% of the demand.

KTM has a large portfolio of premium cycles. The company offers everything from Kids bikes to Road cycles, MTBs, Off-road bikes and even electric bikes.

TusharK is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 13:43   #2

Re: KTM cycles coming to India; To be priced from Rs. 30,000

Here I am waiting for them to launch a supermoto and instead they give us bicycles
IshaanIan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 14:52   #3

Interesting, seems to be priced a bit high, but i am in market for a cycle, and this can be the one, if they have some unisex one.
AtheK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 15:17   #4

10L sounds about right but I think I will wait till Karnataka announces a new law to charge 20% road tax on cycles.
androdev is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 16:36   #5

Whaaaaat?! 10 lacs for a consumer bicycle?! This is fruity nuts!!

Meanwhile, in the other thread, people were complaining that a 650 CC motorcycle of considerable renown, with three modes of traction control, is overpriced at 8.8 lacs

Last edited by mohansrides : 4th December 2020 at 16:39.
mohansrides is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th December 2020, 17:06   #6

Great way to make profit from KTM's brand image among the youth. Can see lot of kids showing interest on this one. Hope the 30k model isn't too bare basic.
Old 4th December 2020, 20:36   #7

Interesting. They will likely be imported (from KTM Taiwan?), just like many other foreign bicycle brands in India, in which case it definitely won't be a VFM offering like their made-in-India motorbikes. I mean the import duty is alone ~50%.

But I secretly hope they launch a range that matches Decathlon pricing.
Old 5th December 2020, 10:38   #8

anyone wants to buy one of these? Sure costs more or less the same!

https://shop3.porsche.com/usa/sport/bike/

Starts from 6400 USD only!

I think "I have a Porsche cycle" sounds better than "I have a KTM cycle"; the first one will make people look at you funny and the second one will make them assume you have a motorbike!
N33raj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th December 2020, 11:36   #9

Pro-level road bikes ($10,000+) are expensive for a few reasons:
1. Carbon fiber frames weigh less than 900 grams ($4000 - 8000)
2. Carbon fiber wheels with ceramic bearings weigh between 800 - 1500 grams and are very aerodynamic ($2000 - 3000)
3. Drivetrains are electric (SRAM Red e-tap is even wireless, Shimano Di2 while not wireless is considered the gold standard) (~$2,000)

Add in pedals ($100 - 200), a saddle ($100 - 200), power meter ($1000+) and your kit: helmet ($100 - 200), jersey ($100 - 200), shorts ($200 - 300), shoes ($200 - 500), sunglasses ($100 - 500) and you're easily spending $15,000+ on a complete top end kit.

Needless to say, there is a crazy amount of engineering that goes into designing these bikes: How to minimize weight, coefficient of aerodynamic drag, while ensuring high structural integrity, and a compliant ride quality.

Think of these road bikes as the equivalent of Formula 1 or MotoGP in terms of pinnacle of engineering.

Me wants this: https://www.racycles.com/bikes/road/...tap-bike-18689 - Presently accepting donations

you add in a car brand and you're looking at nuts money, like this: https://www.racycles.com/bikes/road/...ion-bike-21659

Road bikes are a complex world: You have TT bikes, endurance road bikes, aero road bikes. Combine this with an endless world of components and gear and the desires are infinite. It's not unheard of to have amateur cyclists spend well over $25,000 on bikes and kit every couple of years...

P.S. Customs for importing a complete bike into India is a criminal 30%, while it's 20% for components :(

Last edited by mango_pal : 5th December 2020 at 11:45.
mango_pal is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 6th December 2020, 11:48   #10

Originally Posted by mango_pal View Post
Needless to say, there is a crazy amount of engineering that goes into designing these bikes: How to minimize weight, coefficient of aerodynamic drag, while ensuring high structural integrity, and a compliant ride quality.

Think of these road bikes as the equivalent of Formula 1 or MotoGP in terms of pinnacle of engineering
It's not until you seriously get into the sport that you realise why these things cost so much. It's very difficult to convince people otherwise.

A Turkish fellow rider - he's back in Turkey now due to the Covid outbreak, had a KTM road bike here in Mumbai. It was quite a machine.

Me wants this: https://www.racycles.com/bikes/road/...tap-bike-18689 - Presently accepting donations
I am a big fan of the F12 myself. Don't think I'll be able to afford one anytime soon though.
Aditya is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th December 2020, 12:01   #11

Originally Posted by Aditya View Post
It's not until you seriously get into the sport that you realise why these things cost so much. It's very difficult to convince people otherwise.

A Turkish fellow rider - he's back in Turkey now due to the Covid outbreak, had a KTM road bike here in Mumbai. It was quite a machine.

I am a big fan of the F12 myself. Don't think I'll be able to afford one anytime soon though.
We're both talking about Ozi the Beast here. Small world

Cheers, Doc
ebonho is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 6th December 2020, 12:17   #12

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
We're both talking about Ozi the Beast here. Small world

Cheers, Doc
Absolutely. What a rider he is!
Aditya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2020, 14:52   #13

Originally Posted by N33raj View Post
anyone wants to buy one of these? Sure costs more or less the same!

https://shop3.porsche.com/usa/sport/bike/

Starts from 6400 USD only!

I think "I have a Porsche cycle" sounds better than "I have a KTM cycle"; the first one will make people look at you funny and the second one will make them assume you have a motorbike!
Rather: I ride a Porsche!