Old 16th September 2004, 15:13   #1

hey guys,
one of my friends wants to buy a used sports bike but his budget is only 3lakhs plz let me know if he can get nything in tat range.
Old 16th September 2004, 15:24   #2

3 lakhs....hmmm. Well, you can definatley get "something". If you're talking full faired machjines, then you could get early model CBR 600 Hurricanes. There was a guy in Pune selling a GSX750 Katana for about this much, however there is a bit of work to be done to it - clutch, fork seals etc.

However, whatever you buy in this price range, you can expect to put some more money into it sooner or later as its very rare to find a good, clean bike for this money.

A better bet may be a CBR400, however good ones go for 3.5 here too.

Looking for a good bike in India is really a long process, UNLESS you have a lot of money and can buy almost new bikes.

Good luck!

Rt
Old 16th September 2004, 16:48   #3

i sold my cbr600fx for 5.5 lakhs. it was sold again for 2.5 as it was crashed. pretty badly i was told.
3 lakhs is pretty less for a good bike which hasn't been crashed. i wouldn't recommend anything older than 99.
Old 16th September 2004, 16:51   #4

i still have the contact details of theperson in bombay whom i bought my bike from. PM me if you want it.
Old 16th September 2004, 21:46   #5

libre sito, there are few bikes in Hyd for sale but the sad part is they don't fall into your friend's budget range. Anyway if your friend is planning to invest some more then may be i can help him out.

The following bikes were for sale a month ago.
1. CBR 600 may be 1997-1999 model - Price 4.70 (the ad is also in autocar india).
2. Another CBR 600 somewhere between 1996-1998 - Price 4 lacs+ (don't know the exact price).

Some other bikes are also for sale but they are above 5 lacs.

Anyway tell your friend to do a through check up of the bike before purchasing. And as Rtech mentioned its "really a long process".

Dan.
Old 16th September 2004, 23:47   #6

The price range in Mumbai ( actual selling price , not the prices quoted by dealers)

1. Yamaha R6 2002 model ----6 to 6.5 laks
2. Yamaha R1 2004 model ----9 to 9.5 laks
3. HONda CBR 600F4 ---1999-2000 ----5 laks
4. CBR 400 90---95 model ---2.00 lak
5. Ducati 998/9----2001/2----not more than 7 laks.Indians dont prefer Ducati so much., the bike is also not so comfy and the dry cluctch is preety hard.

there is a Ducati 999 (bike number is also 999) for sale in Mumbai
dont know the owner though, but I think its for sale.

6. CBR 1000cc Fireblade 2002----7 laks, currently for sale in bombay(black/yellow combo)
7. Hayabusa 2001-2003 models ----7 laks to 8.5 laks

The reason for the prices being so high is that , u dont find them in bulk.
So ppl demand whatever they feel like.

IMO , within 3 Laks , u can definately get a good but old GSX750, 400RR,

U can also go in for a naked bike , they would be slightly cheaper.
Coz , there arent many ppl who would like to have a sports bike without all that colorful fairings.
Honda Hornett can be a consideration , u can find a good used one , it would definatetly comfortably fit in yr budget.

If yr friend doesent mind 2 strokes, then he can get a NSR 150, 180, 250 for less than 2 laks

R
Dipen
Old 17th September 2004, 21:16   #7

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (dipen @ Sep. 16 2004,22:17)]4. CBR 400 * 90---95 *model *---2.00 lak
Hey Dipen are you sure about that pricing man!

Cause about 3 months back there was this ad about a CBR 400 - 1992/94 model for 3.5 lakhs in Pune and a friend of mine (from Hyd) was interested in the bike. So he contacted the owner but unfortunately the bike was already sold. After a long conversation the owner of the bike told my friend that the bike was actually sold for 3.25 lakhs.

I agree this is a rare case and the person who bought the bike surely paid more than its actual value.

But as far as i know the CBR 400s cost anywhere between 2.70 to 3.20 lakhs depending on the condition.

For example :the not so famous "VFR 400" (a 1994 model) was sold for 2.60 lakhs (which is also a flop model). So defenitely the CBR 400s will be above that range.

Now don't get me wrong Dipen, but i have'nt heard of a CBR 400 (90-95) model go for 2 lakhs. If there is any please let me know as i'll be the first to purchase it (that is after seeing the condition).

Dan.
Old 17th September 2004, 23:01   #8

You are totally right DAN no CBR 400 for 2 laks. Not a chance. if there is one dipen please inform me also as I have 2 buyers.
Old 18th September 2004, 02:46   #9

the last CBR400 I rode, which had its suspension in bits, was being sold for 2.7!! No way you can get a cbr 400 for 2 lakhs.

unfortunately!

rt
Old 18th September 2004, 11:34   #10

looks like I have made a mistake in the pricing of 400 looking at the above posts.

But yes, I have seen a 400 for 2 laks( actually the delaer quoted 2.25, but I thought after nego , it would be 2.00), dont know the model though, but it was definately not a RR, looked like a preety old model.
the condition on the exterior seemed like it needed a paint job , engine sound seemed neat.
tyres needed a replacement , dunno abt the suspension , etc
will get more details and keep all posted.
also what the dealer told me is that the owner is from Thane, Bbay.

No offense to any1 specially dan and rtech and Bikersg as all of u have owned nice sports bikes.
But simply fail to understand that when a 99-2000 model 600 can be had for 5 laks, how can one pay 3.00 to 3.25 for a 400 that too 8 years old.

neways , can any1 tell abt any NSR 150,180 or 250 for sale , and how much exactly would it cost, but I do assume , it would not be astronomical.

CBR 1000cc Fireblade 2002 maufacture, 2003 import----7 laks, currently for sale in bombay(black/yellow combo)...............this bike is for sale at BAchhoo motors , tardeo , mumbai.
Old 18th September 2004, 14:21   #11

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (dipen @ Sep. 18 2004,10:04)]neways , can any1 tell abt any NSR 150,180 or 250 for sale , and how much exactly would it cost, but I do assume , it would not be astronomical.
Well, not too sure whether any of them are for sale but i can give you some details about the NSR 150 which i previously owned.
The honda NSR 150 SP i had was a thai version.

The disadvantage about this bike is the slow acceleration. But after you cross the 6000 mark the acceleration increases tremendously and you can feel the change. You may be surprised but the top speed recorded by professionals on the NSR 150 SP was 180 kmph (seems too much for a 150. isn't it?). Another limitation is that it is a two stroke and hence emits white-blue smoke (one of the reasons why i sold it). And there are many more advantages and limitations.

Anyway, the price of the NSR 150 SP may range somewhere close to 1 lakh. Not too sure about the 250.

Frankly speaking it is not practical to go in for such a bike in India, unless you sacrifice power and performance for good looks with a high price (which i did ).

Dan.
Old 18th September 2004, 14:39   #12

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (dipen @ Sep. 18 2004,10:04)]But simply fail to understand that when a 99-2000 model 600 can be had for 5 laks, how can one pay 3.00 to 3.25 for a 400 that too 8 years old.
I guess Rtech can answer that better than me.
Old 18th September 2004, 14:41   #13

Hey Libre sito, no reply from you man!
I can do some more research in Hyd on these bikes i.e., if your friend is really interested.

Old 18th September 2004, 15:30   #14

hey dan wasnt there a nsr 150 in hyd?? was that your's?? it was up for sale many months back
Old 18th September 2004, 18:47   #15

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (aadix @ Sep. 18 2004,14:00)]hey dan wasnt there a nsr 150 in hyd?? was that your's?? it was up for sale many months back
Yup that's right addix.
But the ad was put up by the guy who exchanged his CBR 400 for my NSR 150.