Old 4th May 2008, 12:53   #121

The craze for showcasing wealth is a typical desi mentality. I have seen one small IT company head in Kerala driving around in a limo a few years back, at the first sign of dollars! Another one was the private air plane which was owned by a leading jeweller in Kerala, which eventually "found its ground" in a lake in Bangalore . Having a few crores in hand is enough for them to take these extreme steps.

Guys from Gods own country will testify many such cases, even though in a fractional scale of the mighty Ambanis.
Old 5th May 2008, 01:32   #122

^^
How is any display of wealth desi mentality? are we always going to be stuck in the Gandhian dream of India being a collection of villages? I'm sure you wouldn't be so negative if this same house was built in New York or Dubai by a foreigner.
The man built his empire through hard work and dedication, and that "Insane display of wealth" servers as an incentive to the rest of us. This the the very socialist attitude that has held us back.
Having said that, i'm not a big fan of the house's design! I was hoping for something a lot more laid back and luxurious....
Old 9th May 2008, 19:23   #123

I had the opportunity to visit this property today. The grandeur of the plans is simply mind boggling. Leaves one speechless and feeling very insignificant.
Old 9th May 2008, 21:50   #124

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
I had the opportunity to visit this property today. The grandeur of the plans is simply mind boggling. Leaves one speechless and feeling very insignificant.
Dont tell me that you are gonna supply them with Illusions for IHE.

B&T - please share the experience !
Old 9th May 2008, 23:20   #125

We all never lose an oppurtunity to criticize the rich when they build a huge house, buy a long car or a plane, But what if somebody asks us why are people spending money on modifying their cars, having drag races, rallies or even TBHP drives?. Why dont we cut away with all that and donate that money to charity and use cars to commute from A to B?.

The answer maybe that everybody here is donating something already so we can do what we do, I think the same way the rich might be donating something which we might not know.

Our forum cannot be too politically correct. I sure do not want to be .
Old 11th July 2008, 18:33   #126

Now it's Mallya too

Speculation that Vijay Mallya is pllaning to build himself a multi story apartment like Mukesh Ambani's Antilla.

He is pllaning a designer skyscraper apartment in his 4 acre ancestral property on Vital Mallaya road, Bangalore.

Souce: Mallya planning Ambani-type highrise?-Bangalore-Cities-The Times of India
Old 19th September 2008, 15:33   #127

Heres pictures of Antilla. Mukesh Ambani's New pad. And a few pics of mumbai city from the opposite building to get an idea of the view Ambani has.

These are the Imperial Towers at Mumbai central. 60 stories Each. Will get pics clicked from here too shortly.
Mukesh Ambanis New House. Insane display of Wealth or sign of India's prosperity?-040920081153.jpg

Mukesh Ambanis New House. Insane display of Wealth or sign of India's prosperity?-040920081157.jpg

You can see a part of om chambers and kemps corner
Mukesh Ambanis New House. Insane display of Wealth or sign of India's prosperity?-040920081159.jpg

Marine Drive
Mukesh Ambanis New House. Insane display of Wealth or sign of India's prosperity?-040920081160.jpg

Mukesh Ambanis New House. Insane display of Wealth or sign of India's prosperity?-040920081155.jpg

Mukesh Ambanis New House. Insane display of Wealth or sign of India's prosperity?-040920081154.jpg
Old 19th September 2008, 16:14   #128

All i know is its good to be rich

I would feel claustrophobic staying in that house. Why did he not build a nice one by the beach 2 storeys max.

Imagine getting up half asleep in the middle of the night and looking down.

Last edited by Spitfire : 19th September 2008 at 16:17.
Old 19th September 2008, 16:33   #129

claustrophobia= fear of small/confined/closed places?
Old 19th September 2008, 16:53   #130

All that i see in those pictures is smog .

I dunno if he will build another 4k crore house anywhere else, If given the choice I'd certainly have chosen a cleaner/greener place to live and enjoy my wealth and happiness.

ps: mods please delete the above. Apologize for the double post.didn't realize i had pressed OK before trying to edit.

Last edited by absynthguzzler : 19th September 2008 at 16:56.
Old 19th September 2008, 17:01   #131

Well what matters in the end is whether a person is happy or not with his/her life. Money can never buy you happiness. If Mukesh Ambani is happy after building a 4K Home, good for him.

The definition of being Happy is different for each and everyone of us. Ofcourse we would all want to be rich, but hey if we are not, it shouldn't matter. Try to be as happy as you can in your current situation!
Old 19th September 2008, 17:10   #132

Originally Posted by Amien View Post
claustrophobia= fear of small/confined/closed places?
I know the meaning, thank you.

I think you didnt get what i was trying to say.
Old 19th September 2008, 17:35   #133

Hard to understand the fun staying in a congested place in a 4k crore house. My idea will be to build a beach house to realy enjoy the money spent. ANd the pics in the inside pages gives me a feeling of looking at a Plush Hotel than a house. I will still prefer my house which gives the feeling of a house and not a hotel.
Guess people cant stay away from flaunting wealth no matter how
Old 19th September 2008, 17:42   #134

Originally Posted by absynthguzzler View Post
OT : all that i see in those pictures is smog .
No its not smog,its monsoon season and its drizzling from past 1 week,
At hard times even a small vada-pao can make you the happiest person in the world
Old 19th September 2008, 17:47   #135

That sure is going to be one awesome place once its done.
Yea he could gotten him self a beach house. But you never know some people dont like beach houses.

I dont see the point of getting up at a 4k crore house and the view you have is the concrete jungle. I mean the view dead straight ahead is simply awesome. Its got miles and miles of sea ahead but thats only on a clear day.

@ Ramie, umm that is smog. 100% pure smog.

Last edited by danlalan : 19th September 2008 at 17:49.