Old 17th May 2019, 06:28   #2191

Re: The Property / Real Estate Thread

Yes, Vastu is like some unpopular cars like Skoda in India, not everyone has a probem but it is just that you come across more people who have problems. I don't dispute your theory of having a big plot, but sticking to the basics is more important than a plot size.
Old 26th May 2019, 16:47   #2192

All - Does anyone have a contact of a good real estate broker at Bangalore, JP Nagar side ? I am trying to sell my 3 BHK property at JP Nagar (10 years old ) and the usual websites llike magic bricks, 99acres etc..havent yielded a lot of enquiries.

Will appreciate any help on this. Thanks.
Old 27th July 2019, 22:24   #2193
M35

Any first-hand experience with or in Purva Eternity at Kakkanad, Kerala? Looking to buy a 3BHK apartment out there
Old 28th July 2019, 10:46   #2194

Can someone tell how is the current market scenario for >2 cr independent houses or sites in Bangalore? .
Old 28th July 2019, 12:00   #2195

Originally Posted by jkrishnakj View Post
All - Does anyone have a contact of a good real estate broker at Bangalore, JP Nagar side ? I am trying to sell my 3 BHK property at JP Nagar (10 years old ) and the usual websites llike magic bricks, 99acres etc..havent yielded a lot of enquiries.

The online portals are rip-offs, best is to find a good broker who specialises in that area.

Originally Posted by adithya.kp View Post
Can someone tell how is the current market scenario for >2 cr independent houses or sites in Bangalore? .
It all depends on location, brand/ reputation of builder and the design/quality of the structure. Good properties in the city centre get taken pretty fast. Around the Sarjapur/Whitefield area, supply is greater than demand.

Last edited by ajmat : 28th July 2019 at 12:04.
Old 28th July 2019, 12:48   #2196

Thanks. But I am not talking about apartments. But individual houses/old demolishable houses within the city limits. ( > 2r range). Its very difficult to find a decent property there. Even if you find something, the asking price will be way higher than the market value. ( I mean the market price only. Not guidance value). The sellers are ready to wait for years. Anybody has had experience selling/buying these kind of properties?. Please share your experience.

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post

It all depends on location, brand/ reputation of builder and the design/quality of the structure. Good properties in the city centre get taken pretty fast. Around the Sarjapur/Whitefield area, supply is greater than demand.
Old 28th July 2019, 13:30   #2197

Originally Posted by adithya.kp View Post
Thanks. But I am not talking about apartments. But individual houses/old demolishable houses within the city limits. ( > 2r range). Its very difficult to find a decent property there. Even if you find something, the asking price will be way higher than the market value. ( I mean the market price only. Not guidance value). The sellers are ready to wait for years. Anybody has had experience selling/buying these kind of properties?. Please share your experience.
I was talking about land.

Investment buyers are few and far in between.

I sold a property last year in Whitefield, if you call it city limits, well located, near an upcoming Metro station, but it had a B Khata and payment had to be above board. Price was a little below the guidance value for this.

Asking prices are always pie in the sky. All depends on the need to sell. A good seller, will do their research and have a realistic price in mind.
Old 12th August 2019, 15:42   #2198

Originally Posted by jkrishnakj View Post
I've been facing a similar situation for my plot of land in Uttarakhand (1 nalli = 2160 sq.ft) for the past few years. The usual websites that you have mentioned yielded nothing. The plot is very appealing as it overlooks Naukuchiatal lake and the prospective buyers so far have been effusive in their appreciation - but matters have not progressed much further! In fact (as I've mentioned earlier in this thread) I came close to being swindled a couple of times!

So despite having all documents in order, I have now come to believe that buying/selling land is like marriage - it will happen only when the pre-ordained time is right!
Old 12th August 2019, 17:11   #2199

How much is registration & stamp duty charges in Kerala? If a land is to be transferred from one person to another, how much will be the charges?
Old 9th September 2019, 10:17   #2200

Is buying a 15 year old flat worth it if there are no leaks or cracks. The flat is fully furnished and is more spacious than the newer ones. How much depreciation should be considered per year on an average?

Would it be possible to sell it 5-10 years down the line? TIA!
Old 9th September 2019, 10:50   #2201

Originally Posted by theredliner View Post
Is buying a 15 year old flat worth it if there are no leaks or cracks.
Why not?

How much depreciation should be considered per year on an average?
Who do you mean "depreciation" here? Real estate usually appreciates with time - so if it's a good place - it will cost more than what it cost 15 years back. For example, in suburbs of Bombay, a flat costing 20-25 lakhs brand new 15 years back would be resold for around 1.25 crores today.

Depends where it is - 3 most important things in real estate are location, location and location.
Old 9th September 2019, 11:53   #2202

Is buying a 15 year old flat worth it if there are no leaks or cracks. The flat is fully furnished and is more spacious than the newer ones. How much depreciation should be considered per year on an average?

It is a flat not a car expect appreciation not depreciation.

In Bangalore should be 2.5X to3x of the original at the minimum.

Don't get influenced by talks of RCC structure has age of 80 years or flats depreciate and land appreciate kind of nonsense which Times property guide churns out every week. They are sponsored by builders so the whole thrust is to lure buyer away from secondary sale to builder.

BTW technically concrete continues to cure and gain strength infinitely ( asymptotic curve) so unless there are some unfilled cracks allowing water to corrode steel there is no technical logic behind this 80years or 100 years, Roman concrete is intact after 2000 years and modern Portland cement is definitely better then mixture of lime + volcanic ash and albumin.

Last edited by amitk26 : 9th September 2019 at 11:57.
Old 10th September 2019, 11:12   #2203

Thanks for the reponses!

Originally Posted by carboy View Post
Who do you mean "depreciation" here? Real estate usually appreciates with time - so if it's a good place - it will cost more than what it cost 15 years back.
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
It is a flat not a car expect appreciation not depreciation.
By depreciation, I meant the rate that is generally reduced considering the age as compared to new properties/ the prevailing rate in the area, not depreciation on original purchase price .
I have seen this happening in some cases. Might not happen in Bombay or in the prime localities of other cities as the demand >> supply.

Originally Posted by carboy View Post
Depends where it is - 3 most important things in real estate are location, location and location.
Location is good, but not the quite far from the city centre.

Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Don't get influenced by talks of RCC structure has age of 80 years or flats depreciate and land appreciate kind of nonsense which Times property guide churns out every week. They are sponsored by builders so the whole thrust is to lure buyer away from secondary sale to builder...
I'll keep that in mind. Only concern is the difficulty of resale with people getting influenced by these ads and shying away from the purchase once the property crosses 20 years.

Your posts do provide me enough confidence. I'll get back in case I have more queries.

Last edited by theredliner : 10th September 2019 at 11:14.
Old 30th October 2019, 10:06   #2204

Has anyone used (and is/was happy with) services of a property management company in Noida/Delhi? Could you share their contact?

I have earlier used Homeshikari for my Bangalore home and was quite happy with their services, but they do not have a presence in NCR region.

Would prefer to put the Noida house on rent for now and possibly look into selling it off in a year or more.
Old 30th October 2019, 13:19   #2205

Please list names of some good ready to move in 3BHK projects in Delhi/NCR from reputed builders.