Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 7th February 2018, 11:34   #361
Senior - BHPian

Re: IT industry salary survey

Hi,

This maybe a bit OT, but any reviews on this new merger between CSC and HPe named DXC?

Is it worth joining compared to TCS/Accenture?

Heard news about them firing people due to lack of projects lately. I have 10+ years experience and hence wanna play it a bit safe

Kinda urgent. Thanks in advance.

Regards
Soumen
Old 7th February 2018, 12:30   #362
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoumenD View Post

Heard news about them firing people due to lack of projects lately....
Generic piece of advice from hiring experience.

AVOID taking a project-specific offer, unless you're OK with a potential short-term assignment.

Projects get shelves for a variety of reasons, and even having broader relevant skills doesn't always guarantee a resource will get absorbed into the pool.
Old 7th February 2018, 12:50   #363
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chetan_Rao View Post
Projects get shelves for a variety of reasons, and even having broader relevant skills doesn't always guarantee a resource will get absorbed into the pool.
That's not the problem currently. I already know the project I would be joining in and have had a word with the team as well, its an ongoing project.

My doubt is once this is over after around 6 months what then? Usually that's where a company's policies come into play. How long do they usually hold on to resources in free-pool/bench before the next assignment. Usually TCS/Wipro/Infy/Accenture holds on to resources for around 3-4 months atleast before any substantial step. But since DXC is relatively newer(atleast on paper) and not too many friends/acquaintances there hence asked if someone here know about it.
Old 5th March 2018, 16:08   #364
Team-BHP Support

These are the top 10 tech companies to work for in India