Team-BHP > Shifting gears

Search this Thread
Old 19th November 2008, 12:11   #76
Senior - BHPian

this is weird.no driving superstitions here.
Only thing I know is that people bow down when crossing some roadside shrine's/church's ,mandir's etc.
Old 19th November 2008, 12:19   #77
Senior - BHPian

Lot of drivers stop their vehicles when a cat crosses their path. They wait for some other vehicle to cross the line and then they drive. When I was a journalist coming home late night in the office car, this superstition used to mean a lot of wasted time - because you don't get too many vehicles in the middle of the night to cross the line for you.
When we were young, this superstition used to be only with black cats. Now any and every cat stalls traffic.
Personally I have zero superstition with or without cars. I have had a few million cats cross my path.

Last edited by Sudipto-S-Team : 19th November 2008 at 12:20.
Old 19th November 2008, 12:21   #78
Senior - BHPian

yeah.that remembers me about vehicles which hit a pig or dog is not worth later.the superstition is ,that such vehicles will be having chances for accidents.
I think ,there is no pigs on the roads anymore though.
Old 19th November 2008, 17:04   #79
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
Even I hated when my German colleagues used to say that on every sneeze. And to think that I had a strange allergy in which I used to sneeze 8-9 times at one go. It was too funny and irritating!

However, thats not a superstition but more of an urban legend. It is said that when you sneeze, your heart comes up to your throat/mouth momentarily. Thats why they say Bless You

I think thats said as a wish that something that one just said stays the way it is. e.g. your hair is so beautiful *touchwood*