Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 3rd February 2008, 17:11   #1
BHPian

Are ICEs dangerous?

Im a two wheel driver. I generally hear music on my ipod through IEMs (EP-630s) when driving. The other day, my mom asked me not to put on those earphones while driving as they would impair the ability to hear vehicles. Personally, I don't put the volume too high..just enough to block the general road noises but loud enough to block horn sounds.

This got me thinking. Untill that moment, i did not think much about it. Do those loud ICE systems make a huge hearing handicap while driving? Obiviously the IEMs theoretically are more sound blocking than the genral car cabin, Im guessing that the difference might be small. So, are ICEs dangerous?
Old 3rd February 2008, 17:29   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

Quote:
chvvkumar : Personally, I don't put the volume too high..just enough to block the general road noises but loud enough to block horn sounds.
The volume is immaterial. You are (& every one is ) far more distracted than you think you are.

The noise factor is something we have to live with. It's the characteristic of the driving/commute environment, and of which we are a part when we are on the road.

By trying to remove the noise, you will be disconnected from what's happening around you - and you may not be able to react to a dangerous situation that you would have been alerted of by the sounds.

Imagine a situation where some one was blaring his horn trying to warn you of something. Both of you being in different vehicles, his horn may be the best / only means of warning of you. If you cannot hear him, and you dont check / react to what he's tyring to tell you - what would happen ? (Ref my first point).

As a two wheeler rider, you need to take more precautions than the driver of a car.